We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean standard room”
Review of Mercure Townsville

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mercure Townsville
Ranked #9 of 41 Hotels in Townsville
GreenLeadersGold level
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Clean standard room”
Reviewed October 11, 2011

Staff were attentive on arrival and tried to make stay a pleasant one. Room was standard box room with small standard bathroom. Bed was omfortable and money paid gor room equalled low standard expexted. Breakfast was average and you can purchase coffe tht is. Little better than ht served for breakfast. Pool looked lovely although no time to try it. Downside was pool being by restautant which made me think pool customers were looked at and bodies evaluated by restaurant customers. Try to get a to floor room overlooking lake as these rooms appear to be quieter.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

887 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    222
    394
    187
    55
    29
See reviews for
216
280
80
260
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Lockyer Valley
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2011

Found it hard to find even when we phoned and asked staff who told us it was behind McDonalds. Parking was plentiful. Given directions to level one room 255 superior room - had to carry heavy luggage up flight of six stairs. Room was smallish but recently renovated. Clean and airconditioned. Shower pressure was great but wish they had handheld showerhead. New glass screen didnt keep water from flooding bathroom. Bathroom clean but very small (only one person at a time). We were tired so decided to order in room dinner. I had chicken and hubbie had fish which were both very nice. Chocolate dessert to die for. Prices were a bit steep. Breakfast which was included was very nice. Food hot and great selection to choose from (best scrambled egg). Coffee was perculated in flask and flavour nice but bit cold. Read the free newspaper and enjoyed the cool room. Grounds seemed well maintained and pool area looked great for kids (even though we travelled as couple). Bed and pillows comfortable. Would stay again for one night.

Room Tip: Seek out assistance for your luggage if you have to negotiate stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PAMAS4332
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed October 7, 2011

The room was clean and functional. Ideally would like to have a separate bedroom with a new born, but luckily she slept through the night and no one else's sleep was disrupted. Pools and grounds kept my three year old entertained. Staff were exceptional and very accommodating. I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed October 7, 2011

The resort was great with friendly staff and comfortable rooms. Close proximity to Castletown shopping centre and buses made it convenient without a car. Only downside was the Restaurant. We only had one meal - a celebratory dinner. The service was good even though trainee staff were on duty, but the quality of the meal was disappointing. Could also be improved with some changes to menu selection. This was our second visit to this Resort (last some 3 years ago) and we would not hesitate to revisit.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buderim, Queensland
2 reviews
Reviewed October 6, 2011

I stay at this hotel regularly as it is not far from the airport and is also near a large shopping centre. The hotel food is excellent and the rooms are comfortable and quiet. There is also a great swimming pool. If you don't wish to eat at the hotel there are several restaurants and food outlets within walking distance.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank philip49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Townsville hotels
2.2 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Townsville
3.0 mi away
The Ville Resort-Casino
The Ville Resort-Casino
#8 of 41 in Townsville
751 reviews
2.3 mi away
Grand Hotel and Apartments Townsville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Quest Townsville
Quest Townsville
#1 of 41 in Townsville
420 reviews
2.0 mi away
City Oasis Inn
City Oasis Inn
#7 of 41 in Townsville
302 reviews
2.6 mi away
Park Regis Anchorage
Park Regis Anchorage
#5 of 41 in Townsville
479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Townsville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Townsville

Property: Mercure Townsville
Address: 166 Woolcock Street, Townsville, Queensland 4812, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Townsville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Townsville
#6 Luxury Hotel in Townsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Townsville 4*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on 11 lush, resort-style acres just minutes from the centre of Townsville and only two kilometres from the airport, the Mercure Hotel Townsville offers a tranquil, relaxing choice for business and holiday travellers visiting this beautiful gateway to the Great Barrier Reef. From the moment you arrive, you will enjoy a destination like no other hotel in Townsville. The comfort of our accommodation, complemented by warm, personalised guest service, ensures a truly relaxing stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Townsville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Townsville Hotel Townsville
Mercure Hotel Townsville
Accor Hotel Townsville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing