We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Over priced motel.” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Castle Crest Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Castle Crest Motel
Ranked #3 of 42 Hotels in Townsville
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Over priced motel.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

This motel is well over priced, I understand I stayed there during the v8 supercars event but that still does not explain how over priced this run down room was at just over $240 per night is was disgusting . The owner gave us a wifi password but could not tell us what wifi to use and when asked just got a smart as# answer. Make your own choice but I will never stay again at this motel, when booked was told we were in a queen and single room that turned out to be a double and single! Overall very disappointed in this and felt ripped off!

Room Tip: Try bottom floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nathan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    10
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
27
31
8
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

I have stayed at this Motel a number of times and since Denise and Ian took it over 18 or more months ago it has improved so much that I would not bother looking elsewhere in Townsville. The rooms are spacious and very clean with nice decor and many have kitchenette facilities. On arrival your hosts provice "real" fresh milk for your coffe together with that "great to see you" welcome.
I dined at the restaurant and could not fault the rib-eye steak, cooked perfectly and with Denise ("The Goddess of Wine) making the perfect selection topped off an enjoyable and relaxed dinner. The wine and beer prices are also very modest.
Breakfast arrived in the room right on time, piping hot and delicious (in fact more than I could eat).
Thanks Denise and Ian, I will be back.
Brian O. Adelaide

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tobyoats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Babinda, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

Our Castle Lodge Motel experience was really wonderful...we were running a half hour late from the estimated check in time and our hostess called us to check if we were ok; because there had been some lightning and thunder and it was cyclone season...That in itself I thought was really lovely; then upon arriving, she noticed we had our kiddies in the car and said to follow her to the room and we'll leave the paperwork for the morning...when we got to the room, she'd already turned on all the lights for us and had the aircon going so that it would be cool for our arrival...They anticipated our needs, their manner was exceptionally warm and friendly, 5 star serivce in my book!

The room and bathroom was pristine and modern, and all appliances worked perfectly. I loved the colour scheme of our room, red, grey and white...very chic, and the painting was a lovely touch ^_^. The pool was cosy and just the perfect size for our family of 4 :) the kids wanted another swim but we were due to leave at 10am the next morning so I enquired what the fee was for late check-out. The Hostess said "Don't worry about it, have a swim and relax in the morning, leave when you feel your ready..." I mean, how lovely is that?

Now we've stayed at places ranging from absolute, cockroach ridden dumps, to 5 star resorts, and none of the 5 star resorts we've ever been to could compete with this cosy little motel for kindness, warm and friendly manner, value for money and capacity to anticipate our needs before we even knew we had them!

If you're looking for a clean, cosy, comfortable, surprisingly modern, cost effective motel run by 2 amazingly friendly and gracious hosts...Look no further! It really did feel like home, and it's definitley our "go-to" for our trips to Townsville :)

Room Tip: The family rooms are quite spacious for a family with 2 young children of 2 and 5yrs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gladys D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2011

We had to stay overnight in Townsville to catch an early morning flight. Location was perfect - five to ten minutes by taxi in busy early traffic. Hosts were extremely friendly and went out of their way to ensure everything was just right. The room was spotless and smelled fresh. The bathroom was modern and sparkling - toiletries were really nice. Tea and coffee facilities well stocked and appreciated. We had the evening meal in the restaurant and was ample, well presented and delicious - again service excellent. Breakfast on time in the restaurant - presented hot and tea and coffee beautifully presented in individual plunger pots. All the little things added to a particularly pleasant stay.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Vernons52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Townsville hotels
1.5 mi away
Quest Townsville
Quest Townsville
#1 of 42 in Townsville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
1.1 mi away
City Oasis Inn
City Oasis Inn
#8 of 42 in Townsville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
1.5 mi away
Grand Hotel and Apartments Townsville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The Ville Resort-Casino
The Ville Resort-Casino
#7 of 42 in Townsville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 710 reviews
1.6 mi away
Park Regis Anchorage
Park Regis Anchorage
#4 of 42 in Townsville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Townsville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Crest Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Crest Motel

Property: Castle Crest Motel
Address: 2 Rose Street North Ward, Townsville, Queensland 4810, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Townsville
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Townsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Castle Crest Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Castle Crest Motel is a fully refurbished self-rated 4 star motel, with exceptionally well fitted out rooms, from motel style rooms to self-contained 2 room studio. Castle Crest Motel is the closest motel to the Townsville airport and only minutes to the city centre. The Strand, Rock pool, Casino, Ferry terminal, Sports reserve and eating districts are all easterly accessible from the motel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Castle Crest Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Townsville
Townsville Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing