We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location but parking????”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Comfort Inn Robert Towns
Ranked #23 of 41 Hotels in Townsville
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Our room was comfortable, clean and everything worked. It is very close to the city and an easy walk to town. parking however is a big issue when busy. When we arrived (4.30pm) we couldn't park on site as there was a function and cars were occupying many spaces.. Eventually we got a park. On the second night however, it was full and myself and at least 6 other guests were out on the street. There is simply not enough car parks and no way you can reserve one. Apart from that though it was quite good.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Des D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (91)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 91 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2013

My stay at this motel was over 3 days. Very handy central city location, so I could explore the waterfront just a few blocks away. The complex is elevated, so the views over the city and away from street noise was a bonus. Friendly hosts and rooms in top condition.

Room Tip: Upper level has better view, lower level direct access to vehicle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Basketeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights on our way through to Magnetic Island. It was pretty basic, motel style accommodation, but our room was a decent size, modern enough, and well-maintained. We came on the overnight train from Brisbane, so it was an early morning check-in. We received a lovely welcome, a basic overview of the local attractions, and were even moved to a different room so that we could get settled straight away. The location isn't right in the middle of everything, but is close enough to walk to most places, and just across the road from Castle Hill. The shower was decent, and the bed nice and comfy. It would have been nice to have a balcony or nice big window to get some natural air movement, but the air-con worked pretty well.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zanzibar138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

We spent 3 nights here after initially intending to only stay 1 night. We discovered Townsville had quite a lot to offer and see and spent 2 full days exploring it. Could have stayed longer! The staff, particularly Anne at reception, were exceptional and more than happy to accommodate our needs. It was lovely to come back from a days sightseeing and relax in the bar then have dinner right there in the restaurant. Both these looked like they'd just been reburbished as the decor was beautiful. We felt like we were visiting a new restaurant every night without the effort of having to do so. Rooms were clean, comfortable and well appointed. Would definitely stay there again and can highly recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vivien M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

We had the pleasure of staying at the Robert Towns Motel on 6th May 2013. I was greeted at reception by a very friendly Anne who went out of her way to make myself and my partner and our puppy Indi feel very welcome. The room was spacious, clean and well appointed.
The room had a kitchen sink and microwave and utensils which was an added surprise.
The swimming pool was very clean and inviting and a great place to sit and have a drink in the afternoon.
ALthought the pet rooms are more expensive due extra cleaning costs I do not have a problem paying as anyone who travels with a pet in Australia knows "Pet Friendly" often does not truly mean friendly . Whereas Robert Towns is definetly Pet Friendly. Would highly recommend for Pet Owners and others , great location as well .

Room Tip: Away from the main road if you are a light sleeper
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kaz6529
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travelclan, Owner at Comfort Inn Robert Towns, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2013

Glad your stay with us was a positive one. There are other rooms away from the street, but they were already taken, so we thought we'd upgrade you to one with kitchenette facilities.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for one night having travelled up along the cost from Brisbane to Cairns. It was very reasonable and the reception we got was very welcoming. We liked the fact that the Catholic Cathedral was across the road. The lady on reception was extremely courtious and friendly and gave us directions down to the beach etc. The only problem I had with Comfort Inn was that it had a swimming pool that was full of flies and I could not swim in it. I would recommend Comfort Inn to anyone passing throught Townsville.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lesley2987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travelclan, Owner at Comfort Inn Robert Towns, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2013

Hi, thank you for your most favourable review, but I apologise about the pool. After you left, we called in the pool man, who found that the pool filter had burnt out. It is now on the road to recovery to look like the photo on our website!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

The rooms were very clean and tidy and reasonably priced.
Location is fantastic to get to restaurants by foot.
Service was excellent, welcoming, nothing was a drama.
We left a few items behind by mistake, after ringing, the staff went out of there way to locate and return to us by mail. Very impressed and happily recommend to those looking for accommodation close to the city centre.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nic404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travelclan, Owner at Comfort Inn Robert Towns, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2013

Thank you for that feed back! Look forward to seeing you down this way again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Townsville hotels
0.2 mi away
Madison Plaza Townsville
Madison Plaza Townsville
#15 of 41 in Townsville
596 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Townsville
0.5 mi away
Townsville Central Hotel
Townsville Central Hotel
#19 of 41 in Townsville
503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
The Ville Resort-Casino
The Ville Resort-Casino
#11 of 41 in Townsville
804 reviews
0.1 mi away
City Oasis Inn
City Oasis Inn
#6 of 41 in Townsville
317 reviews
0.8 mi away
Allure Hotel & Apartments
Allure Hotel & Apartments
#17 of 41 in Townsville
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Robert Towns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Robert Towns

Address: 261 Stanley St, Townsville, Queensland 4810, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Townsville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Townsville
#13 Luxury Hotel in Townsville
Price Range: $58 - $90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Comfort Inn Robert Towns 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel is continually being refurbished to suit the corporate and leisure market and is situated in the CBD area. Easy walk to government offices, supermarket, banks, fashion shops and 5 cinema complex. 10 min walk to the Strand and its attractions. We are a small motel offering a warm friendly welcome. There is offstreet parking. Unwind at our bar and lounge or enjoy a super meal in the restaurant. Nth Qld Cowboys league club nearby, also V8 track. 13m pool to cool off in, plus kids' wading pool. Castle Hill walking tracks and our small gym, provide you with a unique way of keeping fit. For your security, each room is fitted with a dead bolt, security door viewer and smoke detector. We do have a small conference room with all facilities and our restaurant seats up to 50 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn Robert Towns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Townsville
Townsville Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing