We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Reasonable price, great pool, great location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Comfort Inn Robert Towns

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Comfort Inn Robert Towns
Ranked #17 of 41 Hotels in Townsville
Certificate of Excellence
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Reasonable price, great pool, great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

Stayed here while doing some work in the building opposite. The pool opposite work was great. The fully stocked minibar at reasonable prices was good. The staff were helpful and always sorted you out with directions. That coupled with the great price. I would stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MogFrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    27
    14
    3
    2
See reviews for
14
25
4
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

We had a family room which was just big enough for two adults and two 11yo's. Room was clean, microwave, sink eating utensils and plates and small table and chairs more than adequate for our short stay of 6 days. We were able to walk two blocks into the city for cafes and a Woolies a short walk of two block to get whatever you needed. I walked to the Strand each morning for a stroll and even to the sporting venues (tennis courts and sporting ovals at Townsville Grammar). Pool area was great for laps for the kids to get out some energy - many tables and chairs for the BBQ area. Unfortunately during our stay a very noisy and inconsiderate sporting group arrived and took over this area very early each morning 6:00am and until 9pm at night. Seeing our room was right next door we copped a bit of noise. Perhaps ask for a room away from the pool for this reason. All staff very pleasant and accommodating! Laundry facilities cheap and quick. Restaurant was very nice and reasonably priced. For those travelling with older children maybe two rooms or book an apartment eslewhere. As it was busy every car space was taken each evening. Great find for us.

Room Tip: Away from the pool area and downstairs - easy for luggage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jays4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

A big thank you to Amanda & Ann and all the wonderful staff - it truly is a pleasure staying in such a lovely motel - service is second to none and always with a smile always made to feel welcome - like coming home..
I would recommend this motel to any one staying away from home..

Thank you for everything

Kirsty

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Kirsty P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2012

The room is large and clean, eay car park, swimming pool and very nice people at the reception

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DanaeBenelux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level Contributor
63 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2012

We booked the Comfort Inn Roberts Town over the internet at our previous accommodation (Kookas BnB, Cairns) through Quickbeds which was nice and simple with good reviews. Having stayed at comfort inns previous, we had no problems with the value of the accommodation we have received. We were greeted by a lovely receptionist that actually recognised our accents (Her husband was from our town back home?!) So we got chatting very easily about the area back home and the area in and around Roberts Town, Townsville. We were given a map of places to eat and we found our way around with ease. The hotel room was a nice room in fairness with a well stocked mini bar (food and drink) and A/C. The bed was nice and comfortable with the room having more than enough space for the two of us plus 2 suitcases. However, after getting settled we found a small army of ants patrolling up and down our hotel room walls, floor and ceiling. Our suspicious rose higher when there was a dedicated insect spray in the room which pointed to them having previous issues with insects or ants. Nipped down to reception to find that it wasn’t manned after 9pm and a board was displayed behind the door with a name and mobile telephone number on to contact a member of staff. We dealt with the ants ourselves as it was late at night and extremely tired due to the amount of driving we had done that day. When we raised the issue with reception the next morning the receptionist informed us that it was a known problem and they couldn’t do anything about it as ‘Ants are everywhere in Queensland’. Having already stopping in a BnB north of Townsville (Cairns) we did not have ANY issues with Ants at all, (Our host dealt with these instantly by a small discreet ant station) Although the receptionist (not the same as when arriving) did mention that they would need to put a few more drops in the ant station. We understand the abundance of nature in Queensland but it’s quite apparent that if you’re willing to put that little more effort in to stopping the ants getting in, guests will appreciate it and return without any issues next time.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank UKBiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2012

Stayed one night arrived at the motel around 8pm and was treated well at reception. the rooms are a bit tired and dated but in fairness it is what you expect in this type of motel. the surprise was the food, I had a chicken and prawn dish and my colleague had the eye fillet both were very well cooked and exceptional value for money. The breakfast in the morning was very basic, most things were straight out of the packet but again the price they charge well reflects what you receive. overall a reasonable motel for business travel but don't pick it for a romantic weekend

Room Tip: Try to keep as far away from the pool area as the noise does travel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2012

We recently stayed at this motel and had such a lovely stay. The restaurant was excellent and i had one of the best steaks ive ever eaten! It is very close to everything and was only a 15 minute walk to the Strand. The front desk staff were very helpful in giving me directions to many places around town. We will definetley be back.

Room Tip: our room on the top floor was very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KnR83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Townsville hotels
0.1 mi away
City Oasis Inn
City Oasis Inn
#8 of 41 in Townsville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel and Apartments Townsville
0.3 mi away
Chifley Plaza Townsville
Chifley Plaza Townsville
#16 of 41 in Townsville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Townsville
0.7 mi away
Waters Edge The Strand
Waters Edge The Strand
#13 of 41 in Townsville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
0.5 mi away
Oaks Gateway on Palmer
Oaks Gateway on Palmer
#12 of 41 in Townsville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Robert Towns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Robert Towns

Property: Comfort Inn Robert Towns
Address: 261 Stanley St, Townsville, Queensland 4810, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Townsville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Townsville
#13 Luxury Hotel in Townsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Comfort Inn Robert Towns 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel is continually being refurbished to suit the corporate and leisure market and is situated in the CBD area. Easy walk to government offices, supermarket, banks, fashion shops and 5 cinema complex. 10 min walk to the Strand and its attractions. We are a small motel offering a warm friendly welcome. There is offstreet parking. Unwind at our bar and lounge or enjoy a super meal in the restaurant. Nth Qld Cowboys league club nearby, also V8 track. 13m pool to cool off in, plus kids' wading pool. Castle Hill walking tracks and our small gym, provide you with a unique way of keeping fit. For your security, each room is fitted with a dead bolt, security door viewer and smoke detector. We do have a small conference room with all facilities and our restaurant seats up to 50 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Comfort Inn Robert Towns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Townsville
Townsville Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing