We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Inn Robert Towns
Ranked #22 of 41 Hotels in Townsville
wollongong nsw, australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“value for money”
Reviewed February 7, 2012

at first we thought this motel was a bit out of the way but once we discovered just where we were it was only a short walk to almost everything. owners were more than helpful, breakfast in the dining room was adequate, rooms clean & well kept, pool so nice & relaxing, would stay again when in townsville.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bercartormar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    35
    16
    3
    3
See reviews for
15
28
7
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2011

I have stayed at the Robert Towns several times now.
The rooms are always clean and comfortable and the hosts always make you welcome, and treat you as a friend.
If you want a quiet hotel in Townsville at a reasonable rate, then I would thoroughly recommend you try it.

Room Tip: Any of the upstairs rooms will be a little quieter, but as it is not on a busy road, it will not mak...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2011

My wife and I recently stayed here once again when travelling to Townsville. The rooms are always clean and of a good size. You can walk to town and the Strand. We were going to the Cowboys home game so it is easy to walk to the Cowboys Leagues Club and catch the bus to the ground. Like all motels you rely on the other occupants to do the right thing and keep the noise down. This visit a group came back to their rooms very late and decided to talk in the carpark. You are paying for a 4 star motel and that's what you get. We will stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ianpurr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed July 30, 2011

I stayed there while I had business I'n Townsville the room was so nice and clean and tidy and I tell you what the staff now you couldn't find a more helpful Bunch of people always so helpful. The young girl on the desk was amazing with helping me make my way around town-and so friendly and very polite. Now the food I didn't even try any were else I'n town as the meals and the service was also amazing... Great place to stay and I won't even bother looking any were else next time I'm I'n Townsville. And buy the way to the one of the other reviews who go's on holiday sits I'n the gym how bout live a little... Great stay

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron868686
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2011

Ok if you are on a budget, not really my thing. An old motor inn, parking was easy outside unit, but I think this place would be better as a building site. Small noisy rooms you can hear every car as it zooms up the hill outside.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jsnothome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2011

This was the first time that I have had to stay in a motel during a work trip. The travel arrangements were made by the company I work for and not myself. In actual fact this was the first time I had ever stayed in a motel.

I understand that there is a market for this type of accommodation but I'm not sure if it's the business traveler market. I am unable from experience to compare this motel to any other motels, and I think it would be unfair to try and compare this motel with other business hotels that I have stayed in, so I've tried to stick to the basics. With this in mind I have compiled my review.

One night stay in room 37, standard queen room.

In my opinion the motel is ok, central location and genuinely good staff. Various facilities, including an onsite restaurant.

The motel design is typical of an older style motel, rectangular complex with the carpark in the middle, all rooms have direct access to the carpark, and as far as I could see all rooms, windows and doors, faced the carpark.

The room was clean and a decent size. Everything was in working order, the TV, the lights, the shower, the air con, the door lock etc..

I found the bedding including the pillows to be too soft for me, this hindered sleep quality but in addition to this my sleep was interrupted throughout the night because of noise coming from outside my room, people talking and cars arriving and leaving from the carpark.

The bathroom was a decent size, but the mirror was positioned very low, I'm 180cm tall and I found the mirror much too low. I had to almost place my elbows on the basin just to get low enough to see myself in the mirror.

The windows did not have net curtains, only thick curtains that blocked out all light, when opened there was no privacy. Dificult to allow some natural sun light into the room in the morning.

The ironing board cover was very lose fitting, it would not stay in place and was heavily stained, this became a point of frustration for me as I tried to iron my collared shirt.

The "fitness centre" was ok, not great. The equipment consisted of one swiss ball, one rowing machine, one bike, one cross trainer and some weights. Enough equipment for a workout, if desperate to have one.

The staff were genuinely friendly and helpful. It is the friendly candid nature of the staff that I remember the most and in my opinion it is probably the biggest asset this motel has.

It is not the type of accommodation that I would recommend to business associates or family and friends. It just did not provide the sleep quailty that I believe is essential. I also believe that other hotels in the area may represent better value, even if you do have pay a little bit extra.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pablo_M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leicester
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2010

Good clean room - excellent breakfast and very helpful friendly staff

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tudorfour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Townsville hotels
0.3 mi away
Chifley Plaza Townsville
Chifley Plaza Townsville
#11 of 41 in Townsville
551 reviews
2.0 mi away
Mercure Townsville
Mercure Townsville
#9 of 41 in Townsville
887 reviews
0.0 mi away
City Oasis Inn
City Oasis Inn
#7 of 41 in Townsville
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Clarion Hotel Townsville
Clarion Hotel Townsville
#12 of 41 in Townsville
85 reviews
0.7 mi away
Park Regis Anchorage
Park Regis Anchorage
#5 of 41 in Townsville
479 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Townsville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Robert Towns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Robert Towns

Property: Comfort Inn Robert Towns
Address: 261 Stanley St, Townsville, Queensland 4810, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Townsville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Townsville
#13 Luxury Hotel in Townsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Comfort Inn Robert Towns 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel is continually being refurbished to suit the corporate and leisure market and is situated in the CBD area. Easy walk to government offices, supermarket, banks, fashion shops and 5 cinema complex. 10 min walk to the Strand and its attractions. We are a small motel offering a warm friendly welcome. There is offstreet parking. Unwind at our bar and lounge or enjoy a super meal in the restaurant. Nth Qld Cowboys league club nearby, also V8 track. 13m pool to cool off in, plus kids' wading pool. Castle Hill walking tracks and our small gym, provide you with a unique way of keeping fit. For your security, each room is fitted with a dead bolt, security door viewer and smoke detector. We do have a small conference room with all facilities and our restaurant seats up to 50 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn Robert Towns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Townsville
Townsville Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing