We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wow Factor!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of CIABATTA - CLOSED

CIABATTA
Price range: $9 - $30
Cuisines: Italian, European, Contemporary, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: We are delighted to bring you a taste of modern Europe in the heart of Fairfield Waters, with our lovingly crafted cuisine and sensational woodfired pizzas. It is our hope that when you visit CIABATTA , you will take some time away from the daily hustle and bustle to appreciate the finer things in life - relaxed dining, good company and fine food
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
131 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Wow Factor!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

We made a booking for Ciabatta, based on the tripadvisor ratings. We were horrified to find it located smack bang in the middle of a bunch of fast food chains, but didn't notice once we were inside.

Michael and the staff ensured we were well looked after at all times. This venue has a definite good vibe and it filled up very quickly.

Service was seamless and the food quality and presentation were immaculate. Of all the venues we visited in Townsville, this was the pick of them all.

We will definitely be back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank _Narina_2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

297 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    204
    47
    18
    14
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Highly Overated”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

We chose Ciabatta restaurant in Townsville for a party of 4 as a birthday celebration dinner and were very disappointed.
The restaurant is noisy due to all the hard surfaces which rebound the sound so people have to raise their voices to hold a conversation.
The food presentation is impressive however the quality does not live up to the visual experience.
Our entrees of (shared) pork belly and (shared) Moreton Bay bugs were very good.
Despite the attractive presentation of our mains they were disappointing. The chicken roulade was only OK, 2 of us ordered the Duo of Beef which comprises a tiny pie and a fillet of beef cheek. The pie was hard crusty with a tiny layer of gravy in the bottom and the beef cheek was inedible as every mouthful contained gristle.
After complaining about the poor quality of the meal we were offered complimentary dessert however by this time we were not in the mood for dessert as we had a birthday cake waiting at home.
On checking out we again complained and the waiter called the owner/chef with whom we discussed the problem. After some further discussion they finally agreed to credit us the cost of the 2 Duo of Beef mains.
Unfortunately we cannot agree that Ciabatta is the No.1 restaurant in Townsville.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kiwiroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael S, Manager at CIABATTA, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear Kiwiroo,

Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your dinner at CIABATTA. We know it can get a bit noisy in our restaurant when we are full, we apologize for any inconvenience.

We clearly remember the night you visited us, and also that you mentioned that you work in hospitality too. You know how hurtful subjective reviews can be and unfortunately we cannot honour your review with much credibility because of the following points:

During your main courses you were asked for your satisfaction, nothing was mentioned to us. When we cleared your table all plates were empty, except from 2 little pieces of the steak left on 2 plates. Now, in your review you say you had a Beef Cheek Fillet, which is in fact a Cape Grim Tasmanian Sirloin that naturally has a fat cap on one side. The pie that comes with the dish is actually filled with braised Beef Cheek. We tried to explain this on the night (as we were already suspecting you did not exactly remember what you have ordered). This dish is one of our best selling ones and very, very rarely we encounter issues about it. We also offered various compensations as our main objective is to resolve problems in the restaurant, so that problems are not taken home. This is why we finally agreed to discount the meals.

Dear Kiwiroo, please be assured that we still treat your feedback with importance, and we hope you will visit us again so we can proof to you why we are number 1 on TripAdvisor for more than 8 months now!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
townsville
2 reviews
“excellent food but too much waiting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

I went twice to eat and each time food was exellent! the service is very good, but both times we had to wait 45 minutes and 1:15 for my starter, and 5 minutesafter we had the main! it's so bad, it spoil everything! but I repeat food and service are exellent!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MouneTownsville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael S, Manager at CIABATTA, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear MouneTownsville,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are happy to hear you enjoy the food and service at CIABATTA. We try to monitor waiting times closely, and we are normally able to achieve better as generally outlined by other contributors.

We are very sorry that we did not meet your expectations twice, but rest assured that we have addressed this issue with all our staff. We hope you will give us another chance in the near future to proof that we can do better!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Absolutely wonderful food in an out-of-the-way location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

A special thanks to Michael who ensured we were thoroughly looked after and also made fantastic food, wine, and dessert recommendations based on our tastes and preferences.
Both the lamb brains and the pork belly were among the best I've had.
My only tiny let down was the wine selection was rather on the small side but that was easily forgotten once the food arrived.
Will definitely be visiting again when we are next in Townsville.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Matt S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Queensland, Australia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing dining in an unexpected place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

I have personally overlooked this restaurant many times due to it being located amongst fast food chains and a night owl; however it is clearly the black sheep of the complex.

The food was fresh tasting, creative and beautifully presented. the price was just right in my opinion, surprisingly affordable for the level of food on offer. The signature oysters and selection of cocktails were the highlight of the night, along with the amazing service and warm atmosphere. If you are in Townsville for the night or are a local looking for a nice night out with your partner I would not go past this place. we were waited on with a very high level of attention without being overly present, along with their impressive knowledge of the ingredients and expert suggestions made this a night to remember.

The only downfall is the lack of a restroom on site and the unfortunate luck of being within eyesight of the Mc Donalds, though from what we were told they are currently installing a bathroom for the convince of the customer.

In short, incredible food, amazing service and admirable level of customer service. Please go try this place.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jesse D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed CIABATTA also viewed

Townsville, Queensland
Townsville, Queensland
 
Townsville, Queensland
Townsville, Queensland
 
Townsville, Queensland
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing