We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent meals”
Review of The Vale Hotel

The Vale Hotel
Ranked #271 of 380 Restaurants in Townsville
Price range: $12 - $32
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Reservations
Description: The Vale Hotel and Graziers Steakhouse has developed a reputation in North Queensland for serving the perfect, superbly tender, aged 100% Australian steaks. Select your cut from the chilled cabinet and have it char-grilled by Grazier trained master chefs. We serve our steaks in the grass roots fashion with Caesar salad, chips and a choice of sauces. After 28 years serving first-class meals, the Grazier Steakhouse underwent a complete revamp. In late 2012 we reopened a beautiful new Steakhouse with a renewed focus on delivering the perfectly cooked prime steaks. For the non-meat eaters, our range of fresh seafood, salads and herb crumbed schnitzels will not disappoint.
Brisbane Queensland
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Excellent meals”
Reviewed April 17, 2013

'Seasational' chicken on the menu is as big as any steak on offer at the hotel. Second time I have been to this venue and second time I have enjoyed the same meal. Topping of prawns and sauces to die for. You will never walk away hungry and the value is excellent. Peter (Chapel Hill, Brisbane)

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PJS1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    17
    7
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Queensland
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Disgusting service - hope we just went there on a bad night”
Reviewed April 17, 2013

We went on a Friday night and both inside and the outdoor area were packed so we were expecting to wait for a little while for a our meals. Even though we knew there was going to be a bit of a wait, I believe that it is good customer service that if there is a wait of an hour or more, they should say something when you order - it won't change the outcome but it shows respect for the customer, and that the restaurant values the patronage.

When our meals came out, the chilli seafood parpadelle and schnitzel were fine (nothing to rave about but nothing to pick at), but the 2 steaks were both very overdone and obviously below the 400 grams that was stated on the menu. If you are going to display the various cooking methods at the order counter, then you should take enough pride in your cooking to ensure that it comes out as promised.

When we were served, again there was no mention of thanking the customer for waiting patiently; it was almost a case of expecting us to be grateful that our meals only took 1 hour 15 rather than 2 hours. To make matters a little more unpleasant, one of the sauces that came with a steak was room temperature cold and the chips on both steaks and the schnitzel looked like they'd been sitting on the plate from when the steaks were first taken out of the fridge to cook, as the chips were cold and limp.

A table close to us with a family and 3 kids were more unfortunate than us however, as even though they ordered after us and their meals came out slightly after ours, when they spoke to the head waiter/ restaurant manager about the wait, he was incredibly rude and disrespectful to them. We couldn't hear what the man who was complaining had said to the manager as he kept his voice low, however the waiter/ restaurant manager didn't return the same courtesy and actually caused a scene. I found this absolutely disgusting and it certainly made our minds up to not stick our heads up and say anything negative about our meals.

There were a lot of wait & bar staff milling around, and having previously worked in hospitality, I know that's sometimes hard to keep up with customer demand, however when glasses are piling up, customers are unhappy and waiting for service, wait staff should not be hanging around in plain site chatting and giggling in small groups.


The chefs need to take a bit more pride in what they are sending out and the waitstaff & head waiter/ manager should have a lot more respect for the paying customer especially since the prices are standard steakhouse prices. I had really high hopes for this place being my "local" and for this reason only I will give it another try (definitely NOT on a Friday night though).

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dc_globetrotters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raymond Terrace, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“never again”
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Felt like we were intruding an interruption to staffs conversation. Waited long time food not hot took long time in coming no real flavour disappointing wont return staff not interested

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank deservepampering
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good value family restaurant”
Reviewed February 8, 2013

Not bad at all. Good kids room and food was also fairly good. All in all not a bad place for families.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rick R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good value”
Reviewed December 5, 2012

Five of us enjoyed lunch here. We ordered a variety of meals, four of which excellent. There was a small complaint re the side salads which were a bit tasteless and a bit of a mishmash of flavours. The barramundi was excellent and the Pumpkin salad was delicious. When one diner said they were unhappy with their meal the waitress apologised and then returned to the table with a refund for the meal and offered a complimentary dessert as an apology. Service was friendly and efficient, we enjoyed our meal and will be regulars in future.

Helpful?
1 Thank Noel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Vale Hotel also viewed

 
Townsville, Queensland
Townsville, Queensland
 

Been to The Vale Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing