We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and welcoming... Felt like a family run site”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Big 4 Woodlands Holiday Park Townsville
Ranked #24 of 41 Hotels in Townsville
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We stayed at this park in October 2012 when it was under relief management. Although it was a little out of town for us as we didn't have a vehicle, the staff here were very helpful and welcoming. Woolworths was easily accessible by foot or by bus. We are backpackers therefore we didn't have everything we needed for comfort as we couldn't carry it, but Rick (a groundsman) really went out of his way to help us by choosing the best location for our tent, providing us with a table and chairs and even very kindly gave us a lift back to Townsville train station. The relief managers Kevin and his wife were extremely helpful and friendly towards us, and made our stay at Townsville worthwhile. Many thanks to you all. Lee and Francesca

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Cescalee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (90)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

79 - 85 of 90 reviews

Reviewed October 10, 2012 via mobile

38pn in low season for a grass site wiyh power and water. You can only can get a slab with ensuite which is 45pn. Noisy as it is next to bruce highway and trainline. Unflexible staff. Not worth it. Not even for a night

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
6  Thank roundofoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

After a long 2 day haul to Townsville to visit relatives we were welcomed by a happy and friendly staff member who booked us in and then took us around to our camp site. The shower block was immaculate and so were the grounds. The faciilities for kids were amazing, great big pool, an excellent play ground and my kids favorite, the jumping pillow. My husband and I used it more than the kids I think! Woolies is just a km down the road, which we walked to several times with all 3 of our kids. We used the BBQ facilities nearly every night, which were immaculately clean each day we used them. The staff helped us book some touristy trips, and recommended places to go and see while we were there as well as where the best local fishing spots are. We will DEFINATELY be back to stay here, Can't recommend it enough for families especially with the family friendly staff, it was a great holiday.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank drbaehendo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

We booked a cabin 2 months in advance to be close to friends staying at the same time. We called a couple of days before the booking to see if we could stay an extra night only to be told we didn't even have a booking! Then they told us that we booked the wrong month, however is was them that booked the wrong month. They claim they called 4 times to tell us yet we did not receive the calls. They were kind enough to spend 2 minutes on what if and told us "there is accomadation available in Townsville but WE would have to organise it". We've now spent hours, the day before we start holidays trying to find accomadation. I would stay well away.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Service
4  Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
big4woodlands, Manager at Big 4 Woodlands Holiday Park Townsville, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2012

Our business is tourist accommodation, and have quite a strict procedure when booking in our guests. Part of that procudure is to repeat and confirm the dates the guest has requested during our phone conversation. It is the responsibility of the guest to make sure his dates are correct. We also require the first night's accommodation paid as deposit. When the credit card declined, we tried to contact this client on the mobile phone number he supplied. No response from him. We also keep notes on file when this sort of thing happens - 6 phone calls to this client over a 5 day period.

We also held over the room for this guest on the nights we had the booking in our system (and turned away other guests looking for accommodation)- no one turned up. With this in mind and the fact that the credit card declined, one could only presume that the booking was not required.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

When arrived, had to wait 5 mins to check in because reception was on a personal call to a friend, Filthy bathroom facilities, poor planning, allowed a bus load of french tourists take over the entire amenities, had to queue up to use and when finally got in it was covered in mud, the mop was also full of mud, and when i turned on the taps had to shower my small children in cold water because the hot water ran out. Has a horrible sewer stench floating over the park every now and then. So far from everything. Claims you can walk to woolworths, sure, if you have a spare 1/2 hour to walk there. Then 1/2 hour to walk back. Worst park I have stayed at. Doesn't deserve the big 4 title.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank KharaK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
big4woodlands, Manager at Big 4 Woodlands Holiday Park Townsville, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2012

I would like to remind our guest that this is a tourist park, and all nationalities and age groups are welcome here. The group you mentioned were well behaved, well mannered and well supervised. Yes, the bathrooms did get a little untidy from wet grass, however the bathrooms, amentities, camp kitchens etc are meticulously cleaned every day. We receive many positive comments from our guests on the cleanliness of our facilities. As to the comment regarding walking to the shopping centre, we advise all guests if they ask that the centre is 1klm from the park - within walking distance to many people - the choice is yours. As to the 'personal call', our office policy is that no personals are made during business hours. In saying that, we have many, many regular guests that feel like family to us who make phone bookings. When a guest askes us how we are, and how our family is, we respond. Our policy is to make everyone feel welcome whether they are in person or on the phone.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

We only got to stay here for one night on a North Queensland road trip in a rented motorhome. We had a powered van site with an ensuite and it was fantastic. The park and ensuite were spotless and beautifully maintained.

The facilities for the kids (jumping pillow etc) were great and they didn't want to leave!!

Park is right on the highway and we were worried it might be noisy roadwise but we didn't find it to be a problem.

Lovely pool and BBQ facilities also.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank harrox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2012

We stopped there during our trip to the North of Australia, and asked for some assistance with our campervan. They were not even answering if were not staying at the camping. And when I asked if I would have got assistance staying there and paying for the night, they were not even assuring that. They wanted us to pay first and then, maybe, we would have got assistance. Well, it is obvious we moved forward to the next camping, but it is the worse experience (and the only one) we had in a camping in Australia.
The price for the night was reasonable, average with everyone else, and the camping seemed ok, although the location, right on the highway, did not seem the best.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank lucabran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Townsville hotels
9.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Robert Towns
Comfort Inn Robert Towns
#23 of 41 in Townsville
89 reviews
8.2 mi away
Mercure Townsville
Mercure Townsville
#9 of 41 in Townsville
934 reviews
5.6 mi away
Coral Coast Tourist Park Townsville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Seagulls Resort
Seagulls Resort
#28 of 41 in Townsville
166 reviews
9.7 mi away
Banjo Paterson Motor Inn
Banjo Paterson Motor Inn
#31 of 41 in Townsville
52 reviews
9.7 mi away
Summit Motel
Summit Motel
#17 of 41 in Townsville
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big 4 Woodlands Holiday Park Townsville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big 4 Woodlands Holiday Park Townsville

Address: 548 Bruce Hwy | Deeragun, Townsville, Queensland 4818, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Townsville
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 41 Hotels in Townsville
Price Range: $86 - $89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have plenty of room at this great Caravan and holiday park . With single room cabins and 2 bedroom cabins we can cater for everyone. Our sites are large, roomy and easy to get into. Some even have their own ensuite. Best of all we have a waterpark, resort pool with slides, mini golf ,jumping pillow, playground and camp kitchens and BBQ's ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Big 4 Woodlands Holiday Park Townsville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing