We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved it and we'll be back”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Rowes Bay Beachfront Holiday Park
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“We loved it and we'll be back”
Reviewed August 15, 2011

Receptionist and younger shop assistant very friendly and efficient. Park very well maintained. Caravan sites very roomy and constructed so one has reasonable privacy. Recently stayed at Port Douglas & Cairns in Big 4, which were great, however, the Amenity block (ladies) in this park is far superior. The shower cubicles are huge and the water runs into the drain without leaking out into the dressing area which is also a great size. The park is across the road from the ocean with gorgeous views. It is only a short walk to The Strand, Townsville's foreshore, with surf clubs, water park and great restaurants. It is a 5 minute drive to the Ferry Terminal ($5 parking 24 hours) and we took the Ferry to Magnetic Island ($14.50pp Seniors) where we had a FANTASTIC day. An All Day Bus Pass on the Island costs $6.50pp. There is a good choice of places with beautiful views to relax and have a fantastic lunch. Townsville is a beautiful city with great shopping in the CBD and lots of night life for the young and young at heart.

Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank vansydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    101
    33
    9
    8
See reviews for
94
142
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2011

We spent one night here. It was clean and by the beach. The beach, though, was a bit on the dirty side. The caravan park was big and had many permanent residents. The facilities were well-maintained. The lots were a bit close together. We did not use the kitchens. Nothing wrong with it, but we did not need to stay another night there.

www.riderbymyside.com

Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank riderbymyside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2011

My sister had a studio room which was brand new and so lovely compared with others she stayed in on the Sunshine Coast. Great value for a couple. We were placed near to her with our camper and asked to move nearer the front (instead of out the back with 'all the permanents') where we could see the beach (the reason we came here) and we were given several other choices so great service there. This did mean we were nearer the older block of bathrooms. They were sufficient but could do with some improvement (fittings etc).

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CosmicCowgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margaret River, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2010

After a very long sleepless flight arriving at Rowes Bay CP we were exhausted and looking forward to checking into our beachfront villa as booked and paid for some 1 month earlier.
On approaching reception, lady was on the phone to what was obviously a private call - I was waiting 4 minutes without any acknowledgment of any kind - no eye contact - nothing.
Keen to settle in and rest I was told the beachfront villa was not available. Even tho this is what I booked and paid for there was no 'guarantee' that I would get it ....... of course I was not told that at time of booking via email. Reception said they had to juggle bookings !! Not good enough - too exhausted to argue further we settled into our villa, 1 back from beachfront right next door to the service entry of laundry etc. Whilst we made the most of our stay our first experience was not pleasant and would only recommend staying if you got what you paid for. The park itself is neat and clean and well laid out. The lounge in the room had grubby stains, taps dripped, bed comfortable and was private from other accommodation. Fortunately everyone else in Townsville we encountered were pleasant.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank keento
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2010

Townsville would have to be one of most underated towns in Qld and Rowes Bay Caravan Park is great. Located opposite the beach although no swimming because of stingers it is a fantastic location. Great fishing right near at the mouth of the creek saw a few Barra bagged and we got a lovely Blue Salmon. The park itself is very clean and well looked after a pity they seem to be going down the same line as a lot of Caravan Parks these days and locating their cabins in the best positions and caravans seem to being pushed to the back. Toilets at the front are a little old but the rear ones are fantastic. The Park and Townsville are definetly worth a week or more. They don't offer any storage which is a shame as Magnetic Island is another fantastic spot and it would have been nice to leave the van their will we visited. The only negative is they did have one grumpy lady at reception, guys need to have a happy smiling face on board to greet your PAYING customers, she was a real grouch and din't have much tolerance for non english speaking cuatomers. But all in all a wonderful spot.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mercuryprinciple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Townsville hotels
2.3 mi away
The Ville Resort-Casino
The Ville Resort-Casino
#8 of 41 in Townsville
751 reviews
1.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Robert Towns
Comfort Inn Robert Towns
#22 of 41 in Townsville
83 reviews
2.0 mi away
Mercure Townsville
Mercure Townsville
#9 of 41 in Townsville
887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Quest Townsville
Quest Townsville
#1 of 41 in Townsville
420 reviews
2.2 mi away
Grand Hotel and Apartments Townsville
2.0 mi away
Chifley Plaza Townsville
Chifley Plaza Townsville
#11 of 41 in Townsville
551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rowes Bay Beachfront Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rowes Bay Beachfront Holiday Park

Property: Rowes Bay Beachfront Holiday Park
Address: 46 Heatleys Pde | Belgian Gardens, Townsville, Queensland 4810, Australia (Formerly Rowes Bay Caravan Park)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Townsville
Amenities:
Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 41 Specialty Lodging in Townsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rowes Bay Beachfront Holiday Park 3.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rowes Bay Beachfront Holiday Park (formerly Rowes Bay Caravan Park) truly has the premier location in Townsville, offering a beautiful beachfront outlook with picturesque views of Magnetic Island. Only a short distance from the popular Strand or the city centre, we offer all your caravan, camping and accommodation needs in spectacular Tropical North Queensland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Rowes Bay Beachfront Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing