We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average fish and chip shop cuisine”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Fish Inn Rockpool

Fish Inn Rockpool
Ranked #108 of 366 Restaurants in Townsville
Price range: $6 - $32
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Kids, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
147 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Average fish and chip shop cuisine”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

We were met by wait staff on arival, furnished with menus and seated which I thought was a nice touch. The customer then is required to place their order at the counter, but it is delivered to the table when ready.There are lovely views across the bay from most tables. I ordered a seafood basket and my wife had crumbed calamari rings.Mine was a generous serving, with a good sized portion of fish. Unfortunately it wasn't mackerel as stated on the menu, but shark and a bit overcooked. The calamari on both our plates was a bit gluey due to uncooked batter being trapped inside the flattened "rings". The chips had the taste of stale oil. It's really just an average fish and chip shop in a prime location and prices to match.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Geoff W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    120
    116
    66
    63
    78
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Regular Visitor”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

The Rockpool Seafood Cafe Bar turns plain fish and chips into a gourmet meal. The fish is always fresh and tasty, chips crispy but free of oil. The salads are refreshing and appetising. It is a regular stopover for us with friends and family.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Morag R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great spot, average food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

This place has great views of the rockpool & the ocean however unless you're lucky enough to snag a table outside you only have a view of the water through the closed windows. They've got bistro type food & the service is average. I had the seafood basket which was overcooked crumbed or battered seafood & my chips were soggy. Wouldn't go back in a hurry.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank EuroChic70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
“Great Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

Fresh Seafood, absolutely beautiful. Reasonable price. Prawn and avocado salad was great. Best I've ever tasted. Staff were very helpful and professional. Highly recommend for a good feed.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Holiday377
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lethbridge, Canada
Level Contributor
149 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Quick and tasty.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

Wasn't too fancy inside, but the service was quick, and it was reasonably priced. Two of us had Mackerel, Squid & Fries, one had the Big Breakfast, and one had the Prawn & Avocado Salad. All of the meals were very good, but I think the Prawn & Avocado Salad was the best. They charge extra for Ketchup and Tartar Sauce. Lovely location overlooking the rockpool swimming area. We thought we had missed the restaurant, as it wasn't very well signed.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Donnahawker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fish Inn Rockpool also viewed

 
North Ward, Townsville
Townsville, Queensland
 

Been to Fish Inn Rockpool? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing