We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Better than average motel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Billabong Lodge Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Billabong Lodge Motel
Ranked #19 of 41 Hotels in Townsville
Bishops Stortford UK
Level Contributor
139 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Better than average motel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We stayed 2 nights in November and were well satisfied. The hosts, Graeme and Kathy were friendly and helpful throughout the booking process and during our stay.
The room was of a good size and well equipped, and above all pretty quiet and free from road noise. The covered parking slots were welcome given the heat although this did make the room a bit dark in the daytime.
The laundry was free and there was a good open-air drying area. The pool was pretty good for a motel, cleaner than most and even had a spa tub. The only thing was that the water in both the pool and the spa was a bit cool (at least for wimps like me).
It is a bit far out of town - Townsville is after all a sizeable city - and the eating and shopping facilities were about a kilometre away but we enjoyed the walk to and from.
Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cavan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    14
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
15
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
186 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012 via mobile

Upside: Beds were comfortable, large rooms with lounge, digital tv, the hotel itself is very old but they have done things to reburbish the rooms

Downside: Poor water pressure, temperature hard to vary in shower no heater only aircon in room, poor selection of Austar channels.

Overall not a bad place at all especially for a run of the mill motor inn / motel, especially for the price. Friendly owner / Staff

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dan801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

Just a quick stopover for us in Townsville and how pleased were we to have chosen this Motel. We had an updated room and for a motel, every little extra was included with thought and consideration of a tourist's needs. Even the toilet paper was the very best, almost a full kitchen, top marks for comfort, exceptional help from the Manager and the price so modest. Would definitly not hesitate to stay here again for an overnight stop.

Room Tip: Ours was apparently updated so perhaps make sure to ask for this.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Acknowledge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

i needed somewhere to stay while passing through townsville for one night.
i chose the billabong lodge motel from a selection online and made a reservation by phone.
this was simple and everything went smoothly.
my room was large, clean, comfortable, recently refurbished at a guess, and well-equipped.
an extremely comfortable and large bed!

the motel is on a busy road and there is some traffic noise.
i slept with windows open and it wasn't enough to bother me....with windows closed and aircon on, it would have been very quiet.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bandicoot66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TOLGA
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

We travel to Townsville 4-6 times a year for sport, this is one of the best places we have found for cleanliness and value for money! The Billabong Lodge rated well, so I emailed to check room rate, got a response by the next day. Called to make booking and was able to upgrade to a refurbished room with kitchenette for only $135 (for family of 4). We were able to check in early (Thank you). Lovely clean room (I am picky about hotel cleanliness), large room, new large bathroom and the kitchenette have everything you need. Kids loved the pool with the waterslide, no noise from the road.

Immaculately presented grounds, clean, comfortable, affordable rooms with plenty of room. We will be staying here again!!

Room Tip: Refurbished rooms have large new bathrooms, very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TamP11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staverton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

Nice room, good size with a super comfortable bed. Kitchen area. All very clean and well presented. Pool fairly small but more than adequate for a quick dip. No problem with noise from the road. Owners very welcoming and helpful. Would certainly return again.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LancashireLass21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2011

I was only there for one night, but my experience was all a pleasure - from the phone call to pre-book to checking out. I booked a 'refurbished' room which even had a mini kitchen (sink, small refrigerator, kettle, toaster, microwave, and electric frypan, plus cutlery and crockery). Everything was spotlessly clean and in good order, rooms lovely and airy - not too small - but with good blockout curtains by the door. The bed was very comfortable, although next time I'll remember to ask for an extra blanket because I really feel the cold more than most people. The bathroom was nice - good lighting and ventilation - and plenty of lovely hot water in the shower! They went out of their way to be helpful and to ensure my stay was comfortable and pleasant.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ABJC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Townsville hotels
3.1 mi away
City Oasis Inn
City Oasis Inn
#9 of 41 in Townsville
4.5 of 5 stars 262 reviews
2.2 mi away
Mercure Townsville
Mercure Townsville
#8 of 41 in Townsville
4.0 of 5 stars 752 reviews
3.3 mi away
Oaks M on Palmer
Oaks M on Palmer
#6 of 41 in Townsville
4.0 of 5 stars 412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Townsville
0.0 mi away
Cascade Motel In Townsville
Cascade Motel In Townsville
#1 of 41 in Townsville
5.0 of 5 stars 184 reviews
0.7 mi away
Raintree Motel
Raintree Motel
#22 of 41 in Townsville
4.0 of 5 stars 49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Billabong Lodge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Billabong Lodge Motel

Property: Billabong Lodge Motel
Address: 96 Bowen Rd, Townsville, Queensland 4812, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Townsville
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 41 Hotels in Townsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Billabong Lodge Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Billabong Lodge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing