We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming but old accommodation that's stuck in the 50's”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Yongala Lodge by The Strand
Ranked #2 of 17 Townsville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Stayed one night on the way back from diving the yongala. It was decent, the furnishing is really old, everything is sort of outdated like it hasnt been updated since it was built. But overall, clean and well priced. We stayed there because it's close to the strand. Front desk was nice. I would stay here again for the convenience and price. The hotels on Palmer Street/Quarter are much nicer and there are some really good restaurants.

Room Tip: bring your own amenities/toiletries
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cantfindaname10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (100)
There are newer reviews for Yongala Lodge by The Strand
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 100 reviews

Reviewed December 27, 2012

Stayed for 4 days over Christmas. We were pleased to be able to book 3 x 2 bedroom and 2x1 bed self contained flats very close to the strand with all it has to offer but still quiet, perfect for our large family gathering. Staff were really friendly and we enjoyed our stay immensely. Rooms were reasonably priced and spacious. Would definitely stay there again.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank Ljh62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

We sat out on the deck which was relaxing and quiet. Our meals were delicious and fairly large serves. The wine list was good, and the staff were friendly and attentive. We'll be back to try the dessert menu soon!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PoppyBST
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

The staff are beautiful, the rooms are standard.

Don't be afraid of asking for anything as the staff love to help you, keep in mind though that their linens don't include wash cloths so ensure you pack your own face cloth or body sponge - I've stayed a couple of times and this has been the case.

Very close to the Strand and their dining facilities are just yummy too.

Remember that Townsville is tropical and expect a few "nice not scary" bugs etc in your room because that's the way the town rolls.

I love Yongala and will stay there in the future

Room Tip: bottom floor are the larger rooms and great if you're older and not wanting to climb stairs, oth...
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HanFlingo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2012

Firstly we booked this hotel whilst travelling in Australia. On arrival there was no one on reception and was greeted by what i think was the chef. He could not find our booking but assured us it was ok and put us in a deluxe studio. Firstly I would not class it as deluxe, the room was poor and smelt old and damp.

As a previous review states, if you leave an item behind don't expect to get it back. I left my pillow behind. I use this due to neck problems. I contacted the hotel who emailed me back very promptly to say it was in reception. After this they were very slow to email me back and in the end never responded even though i was willing to pay for the item to be sent either in Australia or to the UK depending on when they could send it.

I'm now back in the UK and have had no contact from them.......very poor!

Also don't expect wifi......the response you get is "it doesnt work"

Poor service and poor rooms.

Room Tip: Looks like you need to see if you are getting a refurbished room or not
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank southernsunworshiper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2011

Quaint from the outside with a nice eating area with all the colonial trimmings of ceiling fans, veranda etc.
Rooms are basic, and the staff friendly.
Very disappointed that the reception made no effort to send on a sweater left in the restaurant, despite my assurance to pay sending costs to Sydney when phoning back to see if it has been found.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Matthew L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2011

Chose to stay here due to character, location and the newly refurbished rooms. The rooms are large, freshly renovated, clean and simple. For the tarif we were very happy with our stay - Yongala reflects exactly what you want without splashing out. Most of all loved that is was clean with up-to-date furnishings. All motels should be long rid of the flower print bespreads of the..80's??
Unfortunately had other plans for dinner and did not use the restaurant or bar...next time! :-)

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank out2sea8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Townsville hotels
0.5 mi away
Madison Plaza Townsville
Madison Plaza Townsville
#12 of 41 in Townsville
572 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Townsville
0.4 mi away
Waters Edge The Strand
Waters Edge The Strand
#2 of 2 in North Ward
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel and Apartments Townsville
0.5 mi away
Quest Townsville
Quest Townsville
#1 of 41 in Townsville
452 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Ville Resort-Casino
The Ville Resort-Casino
#8 of 41 in Townsville
780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yongala Lodge by The Strand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yongala Lodge by The Strand

Address: 11 Fryer St | North Ward, Townsville, Queensland 4810, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Townsville
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Townsville
Price Range: $66 - $111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Yongala Lodge by The Strand 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Yongala Lodge is situated just metres from Townsville's Strand - the city's most well known and well loved icon. Built in 1884. Guests have a choice of self-contained units or motel style accommodation, with all modern facilities to ensure you have a comfortable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Yongala Lodge by The Strand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing