We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was enjoyable”
Review of Itara Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Itara Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 15, 2014

Me n my partner stayed at Itara Apartments for 2 night over the weekend for the first home game (cowboys vs raiders). I found it quite enjoyable. The apartments were big n spacious, fully self-contained which was great but only stay 2 nights so we ate out, the apartments is close to everything (restaurants, shopping centre and cant forgot the stadium) the staff were so friendly. Thanks for having us. Cant wait to book here again for the next home game

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xmonty47x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaun S, Manager at Itara Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2014

Thank you for such a great review xmonty47x. It was fantastic to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I will pass on your kind words to the staff. Look forward to welcoming you again for the next Cowboys home game.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (204)
There are newer reviews for Itara Apartments
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

172 - 178 of 204 reviews

Reviewed March 13, 2014

We have stayed at the Itara Apartments a few times now and will continue to stay there when in Townsville. Enjoy the great service from reception and staff. Security is great, scenery beautiful and location to all amenities is so convenient. Highly recommend staying at the Itara Apartments.

Room Tip: All rooms are great and have stayed in one, two and three bedroom apartments. I do prefer the higher...
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelly G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaun S, Manager at Itara Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2014

Thank you for the fantastic review Kelly. I will be sure to pass on your kind words to the our staff. It's great to hear from one of our many regulars. We look forward to welcoming you on your next stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2014

We recently had the pleasure of getting away from the rat race in Brisbane and visit Townsville to catch up with family and recharge the batteries a little. Our family was on the west side of town so we decided to stay at Itara Riverways Appartments. We were central to where we needed to go, there was shopping and restaurants nearby so need to drive the car all the time. The apartment was clean, well furnished and had lovely river views. Truly an enjoyable experience.

Room Tip: I would take any room all seemed to have a view of the river.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GordonHooker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaun S, Manager at Itara Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2014

Thank you for the wonderful review Gordon. We appreciate the kind words and are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2014

We were there for 15 nights and our unit had everything we needed plus the bonus of a great view across Ross River. We could cook our own meals, take a short walk to restaurants across the road or stroll down to the Willows shopping centre. Having a washing machine and dryer was great for keeping laundry up to date and we DID have a jug for cold water in the fridge. The whole experience was pleasant and relaxing and the staff were courteous and helpful.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GloryD44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaun S, Manager at Itara Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2014

Thank you for a wonderful review GloryD44. We appreciate the fact that you have acknowledged our apartment facilities and surrounding restaurants. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you on your next stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2014

We stayed for two nights in these apartments as we needed to be close to family. The apartment we stayed in was very spacious and quite modern inside. The secure car parking is a big bonus. Our room overlooked the Ross River and was located in block 5. The only downside was there is some construction going on next to this block and workmen started banging at 6.30 which woke us up. The apartments are located at the Riverway complex so there are picnic areas, bbq's , walking paths along the river , two pool areas and a small cafe close by. From the apartments it is a quick stroll to Willows shopping centre and the Reading movie theatre.The patents had a small kitchenette which we did not use but it looked like everything you would need to cook was there. The only item I think was missing was a jug to keep cold water in the fridge in.

Room Tip: Ask for an apartment further away from the construction area
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jaykay5049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaun S, Manager at Itara Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2014

Thank you for providing such a great review Jaykay5049. We appreciate the fact that you have highlighted our property and room facilities. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

We had to get accommodation quickly and close to the Townsville Hospital and Itara Apartments were a very pleasant surprise. Right from the moment we booked in the management and staff could not have been more helpful, the units are very clean with excellent views and facilities, and importantly, secure underground parking. The Apartments have their own in ground pool, but as we had two small children, the adjacent playgrounds, paths and lagoon pool were very handy. This is where we will be staying every time from now on we are in Townsville. Thank you Shaun, family and staff, your commitment to your clients is second to none.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Damandmags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaun S, Manager at Itara Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2013

Dear Damandmags

Thank you for such a wonderful review. It was fantastic to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I appreciated that you acknowledged the efforts of our staff - I will be sure to pass on your kinds words to them. Thank you also for providing a summary of our property facilities. We look forward to welcoming you again on your next stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013

Itara/Jacana Apartments offered terrific facilities for the 150 members of our group that travelled from Melbourne to Townsville in December. With large rooms, split king beds and everything that you could ask for in self contained living, the apartments were perfect for our large group. The immediate access to the lagoon pool and recreational facilities made the stay most comfortable and the close proximity to shopping and restaurants was fantastic.

Finally, the group booking process and hospitality of our stay was made ever so easy by Shaun and Melanie.

Room Tip: The river views are superb and the size of the two bedroom apartments is incredible.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaun S, Manager at Itara Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2013

Hi Nick, thank you for your fantastic review!!
Your whole group, both adults and athletes, were a great bunch of people to accommodate.
You made the check-in process easy and the stay overall went very smoothly. It was good to see that everyone enjoyed their stay and took advantage of the numerous nearby facilities.
With Itara & Jacana Apartments offering 59 rooms and located in the heart of Townsville's sporting precinct, group accommodation is one of our highly valued and loved services, as we accept groups of all sizes and for any length of stay.
You were the first people to stay in the Jacana property too!
It was a pleasure to be able to meet all of you and assist with your accommodation needs, we couldn't have asked for a more fabulous group! We are glad to hear that your trip was a success and everyone was happy with their accommodation. We look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Townsville hotels
5.0 mi away
Mercure Townsville
Mercure Townsville
#10 of 41 in Townsville
908 reviews
7.2 mi away
Grand Hotel and Apartments Townsville
7.3 mi away
Quest Townsville
Quest Townsville
#1 of 41 in Townsville
452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
The Ville Resort-Casino
The Ville Resort-Casino
#8 of 41 in Townsville
781 reviews
7.0 mi away
Madison Plaza Townsville
Madison Plaza Townsville
#12 of 41 in Townsville
572 reviews
7.1 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Townsville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Itara Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Itara Apartments

Address: 1 - 15 Sporting Dr, Townsville, Queensland 4817, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Townsville
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 41 Specialty Lodging in Townsville
Price Range: $98 - $133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Itara Apartments 4.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Itara Apartments consist of 52 fully self-contained 1, 2 and 3 Bedroom Apartments all with stunning views of the majestic Ross River. Located in the heart of Townsville's Ross River precinct, Itara Apartments is perfect for any traveller. Whether you're a corporate executive looking for long term accommodation or if you are after a fun family holiday in the QLD sun or you have a sporting team, we offer fully self-contained apartments and units that suit any style and budget. Itara Apartments is the perfect holiday accommodation for any length of stay, and a convenient location near a large Restaurant and Entertainment Quarter, Willows Shopping Centre, 1300Smiles Stadium (formerly Dairy Farmers Stadium - home of the North Queensland Cowboys), James Cook University, Townsville Hospital and Lavarack Army Barracks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Itara Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing