We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Group accomodation”
Review of Itara Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Itara Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Recently traveled with our basketball team of 16 all amnaged to stay in 2 x 3 bedroom apartments and 1 x 2 bedroom apartment wich broght our costs down to less than $50 / head we wher able to cook all our meals and cater for the whole team and actualy came in under budget
Whould have no hesitation inrecomending to any group on a budget

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank S S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaun S, Manager at Itara Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2013

Thank you for your feedback on your groups stay. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay back in 2012 and everything went well. A response system has just come in place so we can now reply to our Guests and even though this was over a year ago, we still wanted to contact you and thank you personally. We look forward to accommodating your teams in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (210)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

201 - 207 of 210 reviews

Reviewed December 23, 2011

Located right next to riverway lagoons, it was a great relief to get to such nice accomodations after a string of long flights. There is Willows Shopping Town at a comfortable 10 minute walk and IGA groceries is 5 minutes away. The place is clean, modern, perfect for a family of 4. There is a secure parking lot and security card access to the entrance of the building. Its a scenic 20 minutes drive from the beach (The Strand) and 10 minutes drive from the JCU campus. The Riverway path snakes along the river and is well maintained, great for walking dogs, going for a run or just a stroll with the family.

Room Tip: Request a room with a good view of the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MDMarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaun S, Manager at Itara Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2013

Thank you for your kind review. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay back in 2011. A response system has just come in place so we can now reply to our Guests and even though this was almost 2 years ago, we still wanted to contact you and thank you personally. Please do not hesitate to contact us if you require accommodation in Townsville in the future, we would love to welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2011

My husband was a long term occupant of these units whilst he was located in Townsville for his work. I would visit him often during this time.

The apartments are located on the riverway which is a lovely new area of Townsville. There is a very large open public pool next door (with lifesavers), and across the road from large shopping centre. Next door is also the Art Centre which has some great shows.

The apartments are clean, well appointed, tidy. We couldn't comment on the rate as we negotiated a special long term rate. The apartments are 20 minutes from centre of Townsville. Secure parking and separate storage area (good if you are travelling with gear in trailers etc). Lots of kitchen utensils / crockery etc.

Bed in the apartment could be replaced and the linen was getting a little old.

On site manager if required.

Lou

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Lou_and_Paul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaun S, Manager at Itara Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2013

Thank you for your detailed feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your stay back in 2011. A response system has just come in place so we can reply to our Guests and even though this was almost two years ago, we still wanted to contact you and thank you personally. It is good to hear that you took advantage of the close amenities and the location was very convenient. We hope to see you both in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2011

We had a two night stay in these apartments recently, for a cowboys footy game. it was great, the 2bedroom apt was excellent, the mangers were lovely, and it's position is great.
I can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank platty20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaun S, Manager at Itara Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2013

Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay back in 2011. A response system has just come in place so we can reply to our Guests and even though this was from over two years ago, we still wanted to contact you and thank you personally. We hope to welcome you back in the next footy season, or even sooner.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2011

One of the best places I have ever stayed! Don't think twice about staying here!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Daviesic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaun S, Manager at Itara Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2013

Thank you for your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your stay back in 2011. A response system has just come in place so we can reply to our Guests and even though this was from over two years ago, we still wanted to contact you and thank you personally. We hope to see you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2010

We stayed for 5 days at Itara and were more than pleased with the location, the outlook, and the sheer value for money we received. The apartments are located in a lovely park setting, lagoon type swimming (life-saver supervised) right next door, barbeques and picnic tables under shady trees, and the Ross River with its myriad wildlife right there.
We booked a one bedroom apartment, and were pleasantly surprised to be given a two bedroom apartment. Very spacious, plenty of kitchen utensils and table ware, clean and comfortable. The balcony overlooking the river was a great place to sit out and relax.
We were greeted by the complex manager, who was most personable and helpful. When we sought to extend our stay, she was most obliging and welcomed the extra people through circumstances we had to accomodate.
The bathroom appointments were excellent, except for having no exhaust fans which was surprising for apartments of this calibre. There could also be a better selection of toiletries, which were quite meagre.
The bedrooms size was quite adequate, the beds most comfortable. Perhaps the bedrooms could have done with a full length mirror. Wardrobe space and fittings were excellent.
The kitchen was most workable, though again a meagre selection of tea/coffee etc. This becomes less of an issue with the 2 large shopping complexes just across the way, together with a great selection of food outlets. The kitchen also has all booklets, instructions to the appliances, and were readily available in a drawer.
Most surprising was the absence of a telephone, though a connection point, plus computer connection points were there. Though with most people these days having a mobile phone, that is becoming less of an issue.
The full size laundry with washer, dryer, and tub, was a bonus.
All in all, we were more than pleased with our stay at Itara.

Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
4  Thank Ronrel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaun S, Manager at Itara Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2014

We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and found our facilities more than accommodating. At Itara & Jacana we are fortunate to have such wonderful natural surrounding and facilities all within walking distance. We do our very best to provide sufficiently for our guests and ensure your stay is as comfortable as possible. Itara apartments do not have exhaust fans however have air vents in each bathroom. Our new apartments in Jacana are all equipped with exhaust fans in each bathroom and laundry. The selection of toiletries provided are a starting pack and upon request we can provide more. Upon your next stay with us, please do not hesitate to contact Reception or speak to the nearest Staff Member regarding any concerns you may have with your room, as you already know our staff are very personable and are eager to help you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2010

The reason I named this review ''The Other Side" is because the location of these holiday apartments shows you a diffferent side to Townsville due to their location. If you want beachfront and the action of the central city this location is not for you and you will need a car. The apartments are located in the 'Riverway' region of Townsville, right on the Ross River, there are many lovely walks, open parkland and a fabulous selection of swimming pools at your door step. In fact there is a small performing Arts Centre as well as an outdoor sporting venue. We had booked online with Q resorts for an excellent rate for a one bedroom apartment, we were allocated a very 2 bedroom apartment on arrival, the apartment was well designed and extremely spacious with a huge open plan living area, a myriad of glass with lovely views of the river. A full kitchen with all the appliances but the cooking utensils ie: pots and pans were well worn, looked very second hand, one frying pan with a loose handle and one pot...
I would question maintenance in general as several items needed attention, nothing dramatic but regular inspections would help.l
Plenty of glassware and dishes, one small two seater couch and a chair provided, large flat screen TV but no cable channels... ample seating for two but a family would be required to sit on the floor or a chair from the dining setting. Both bathrooms were well appointed and enough closet space to satisy any ardent shopper. Then there were the beds, how sad, cheap slat beds (supposedly queen size?) that were most uncomfortable and really cheap, such a let down when the actual product is so lovely.
The apartments are unserviced and really do require some sort of information folder as there is nothing in the apartment to tell you even how to operate the oven or what time is checkout, plus no phones, all a bit strange really and unprofessional Q Resorts, you need to lift your game. The onsite manager was extremely pleasant to deal with and most helpful, undercover parking is free and has elevator access to all floors making it easy to come and go. There are a couple of good Shopping Malls within easy walking distance, and a choice of all the usual Fast Food Chains very closeby.
We would stay again if the rate was right, but when booking definitely check on the bed status...

Stayed: July 2010, traveled on business
5  Thank allan_don
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Townsville hotels
7.5 mi away
Allure Hotel & Apartments
Allure Hotel & Apartments
#17 of 41 in Townsville
265 reviews
6.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Robert Towns
Comfort Inn Robert Towns
#23 of 41 in Townsville
91 reviews
7.4 mi away
Park Regis Anchorage
Park Regis Anchorage
#5 of 41 in Townsville
525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Grand Hotel and Apartments Townsville
7.9 mi away
The Ville Resort-Casino
The Ville Resort-Casino
#11 of 41 in Townsville
804 reviews
7.6 mi away
Oaks M on Palmer
Oaks M on Palmer
#10 of 41 in Townsville
497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Itara Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Itara Apartments

Address: 1 - 15 Sporting Dr, Townsville, Queensland 4817, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Townsville
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Townsville
Price Range: $89 - $143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Itara Apartments 4.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Itara Apartments consist of 52 fully self-contained 1, 2 and 3 Bedroom Apartments all with stunning views of the majestic Ross River. Located in the heart of Townsville's Ross River precinct, Itara Apartments is perfect for any traveller. Whether you're a corporate executive looking for long term accommodation or if you are after a fun family holiday in the QLD sun or you have a sporting team, we offer fully self-contained apartments and units that suit any style and budget. Itara Apartments is the perfect holiday accommodation for any length of stay, and a convenient location near a large Restaurant and Entertainment Quarter, Willows Shopping Centre, 1300Smiles Stadium (formerly Dairy Farmers Stadium - home of the North Queensland Cowboys), James Cook University, Townsville Hospital and Lavarack Army Barracks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Itara Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing