We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great, comfortable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Oaks Gateway on Palmer
Ranked #16 of 41 Hotels in Townsville
Queensland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great, comfortable stay”
Reviewed January 15, 2010

Stayed with my family including 2 young kids during a trip between Brisbane/Cairns. Accommodation was excellent, new, spacious and good value for money. Staff were friendly and helpful. The pool was awesome and the kids loved it. Overall a very comfortable stay with nice views and close to evrything you need.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LWrecker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    174
    52
    22
    12
See reviews for
90
119
18
108
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2010

As usual, my recent stay at an Oaks apartment hotel met all of the criteria.

The 1 bedroom apartment was substantially equipped with the necessities including stereo and dvd player (which was originally connected incorrectly, but we fixed).

The only two complaints I would have about this most recent stay would be the lack of fresh towels left by the service staff (3 night stay and no clean towles) and the opening hours of the pool (closes at 7pm which is quite early for a hotel).

However, overall a great place to stay when in Towsnville and close to some lovely restaurants.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eimaj007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2009

Have now stayed twice at gateway on palmer and once at hotel m I would say gateway is the better of the two. I have found the staff at gateway more friendly and willing to go the extra step to help. I like that Gateway is a more spacious layout with a pool that can be used, unlike Hotel M's waterfeature (pool). The only thing that Gateway needs is a restaurant onsight and it would be complete, but they have an arrangement with the Australian Hotel for lunch and dinner just across the road. One thing i would recommend is pay about $15 extra to stay in a 1 bedroom apartment it's twice the size of the hotel room and has a kitchen and laundry. Thanks to Gateway for making our christmas perfect we will be back again.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rubies09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
113 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2009

The hotel is located in a good area and is great value for both business and holiday trips. There are plenty of places to dine, as well as two convenient supermarkets if you want to make use of the full kitchen. The kitchen was of good size, with the appliances and utensils all fairly new.

A few gripes were that my TV did not work consistently, but there was little time to use it. As mentioned in other posts, the price of internet is pretty steep, and you only get 100MB before your connection gets slowed down, otherwise you can opt to pay additional fees. There is not much of a gym however the pool is a good size. If you want to go for a run, there are plenty of options in the nearby Strand area. Plenty of FREE parking is available in the basement levels.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jetsetter_AU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, ks
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2009

We very much enjoyed staying at the Oaks. But we discovered AFTER we arrived and had stayed for a night, that because we had reserved our room through the internet with a discounted rate, we did not get our room cleaned. This would have been nice to know! On the bright side, the location was wonderful - lots of great restaurants, nice hotel otherwise.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cjwood88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
160 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2009

Yes the hotel is nice, it's well located and clean. the AC didn't work in my room but it was a nice night so I left the windows open. The front desk is not very friendly. but all the issues were minor except, however charging almost $30 a day for internet is extortion and frankly unjustified.I understand that some hotels do charge for internet, but this is just a silly amount of money. I was there for work, but still I could not justify those costs especially when I know I'm being gouged.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aussie_trekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Townsville hotels
0.0 mi away
Grand Hotel and Apartments Townsville
0.1 mi away
Quest Townsville
Quest Townsville
#1 of 41 in Townsville
400 reviews
0.4 mi away
Oaks M on Palmer
Oaks M on Palmer
#10 of 41 in Townsville
457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Townsville
0.8 mi away
The Ville Resort-Casino
The Ville Resort-Casino
#7 of 41 in Townsville
739 reviews
2.3 mi away
Mercure Townsville
Mercure Townsville
#9 of 41 in Townsville
876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oaks Gateway on Palmer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks Gateway on Palmer

Property: Oaks Gateway on Palmer
Address: 2 Dibbs St, Townsville, Queensland 4810, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Townsville
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Townsville
#7 Business Hotel in Townsville
#10 Family Hotel in Townsville
#12 Luxury Hotel in Townsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Oaks Gateway on Palmer 4.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oaks Gateway on Palmer is Townsville's next generation in resort-style accommodation. Located five minutes walk from the CBD & a two minute drive to the Strand,the hotel has a range of restaurants & cafes on its doorstop on cosmopolitan Palmer Street. Offering FREE secure parking, FREE GYM,FREE FOXTEL & FREE WIFI, Oaks Gateway on Palmer boasts spacious hotel, one & two bedroom apartments and is a perfect choice for families, couples or the business traveller. All accommodation options offer sleek modern decor and spectacular river,and hinterland views. Apartment features include full kitchen and laundry facilities, separate lounge and dining area, work desk & balcony. We have restaurant chargeback facilities to the very popular Ribs & Rumps (onsite) as well as the eliquant Jam Corner Restaurant straight across from our hotel. To cater for that special function or meeting we also have our very own Conference Venue located on the same street (Metropole Conference & Events) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Oaks Gateway on Palmer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oaks Gateway On Palmer Hotel Townsville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing