We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and staff make a difference”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Oaks Gateway on Palmer
Ranked #12 of 41 Hotels in Townsville
Reviewed June 26, 2014

This hotel is on the 'eating strip' so is a great place to stay. Rooms are well equipped and some have views. I had a problem with not having any hot water but this was fixed quickly. Eliza at the front desk was very helpful and booking in was quickest I've had for a while. Will stay again.

Room Tip: Away from the street may be quieter, I heard the morning motorbikes quite early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DMCC3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksGateway, Manager at Oaks Gateway on Palmer, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2014

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I will ensure Eliza receives your feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back next time you are in Townsville.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (450)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

296 - 302 of 450 reviews

Reviewed June 22, 2014

Myself and a number of international travellers came to Townsville for a recent wedding, many of us opted to stay here at the Oaks.
I was impressed with the property, large sized apartments, and the two bedroom was even better, and especially good value for money.

Pool was underwhelming, the infinity pool view wasn't spectacular, and 'heated' spa translates to 'a bit warmer than the pool'.

Location is pretty convenient and reasonably central in Townsville. Not sure why but our room wasn't serviced at all despite staying three nights. My friends arrived later (occupying the second room in our apartment), despite me having left his name at the front desk with his key the person on the desk took a very long time to figure out what was going on (since I wasn't in my room and they couldn't call my international number).

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DanBaxstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksGateway, Manager at Oaks Gateway on Palmer, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2014

Hi Dan,

I'm glad you enjoyed your recent stay with us. Many people find our room particularly suitable to family gatherings due to the size of the apartments.

Sadly the heater has recently been having some problems. We have since had a technician in to correct these issues.

Usually are rooms are serviced daily, however your accommodation was booked on a promotional rate which did not include daily servicing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2014

Great place to stay,we arrived earlier than 2 oclock check in,but room was ready which was great.
Front desk staff very helpfull and nothing to much trouble for them,room very clean.Location very central to everything would do again when we travel to townsville.

Room Tip: great location
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 12Heather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksGateway, Manager at Oaks Gateway on Palmer, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2014

I am delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. While check in is guaranteed from 2pm we will always grant access to rooms earlier provided the room is ready.

We look forward to welcoming you back next time you are in the area

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2014

First impression was good. But didn't notice small step into Bathroom. Banged toe. TV so small not worth having. A/C didn't work, was repaired but stopped again. Went to use socket beside bed looked like it hadn't been cleaned for months so much dust.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbied21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksGateway, Manager at Oaks Gateway on Palmer, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2014

I am sorry you did not have a good first impression of the hotel. While the hotel rooms do have a small TV, the one and two bedroom apartments have larger TV's.

Unfortunately we were unable to fix the air conditioning during your stay and have since had this attended to by a qualified electrician.

While I understand that moving rooms is inconvenient, I hope you enjoyed the remainder of your stay, once you were moved to a 1 bedroom apartment.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2014 via mobile

We have stayed here previously & had rooms on the front. This time our room was at the back. The view out to Mt Stewart is great but don't look down as the vents from the neighbouring restaurant is right below. The noise is ok but the smell of meat csn be off putting. We will stay here again but definitely not at the back.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank tracey r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksGateway, Manager at Oaks Gateway on Palmer, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2014

Hi Tracey,

I'm glad you enjoy staying with us. We look forward to welcoming you back. Please make sure you note your request to stay on the front side of the building at the time you make your reservation so that we can do our best to accommodate this for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2014

Very clean, good value for money and close to some excellent restaurants. Room size was adequate and facilities of reasonable standard. Staff were helpful when approached for advice and respected of privacy.

Room Tip: Ask for the higher floors as many restaurants in the street below
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Barry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksGateway, Manager at Oaks Gateway on Palmer, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2014

I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your recent stay with us and that we were able to assist you when required. We look forward to welcoming you back next time you are in Townsville

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2014

Large, clean and comfortable apartment overlooking the river. Good location within walking distance to the shops and ferry terminal. Parking available underground but you do have to drive round to find a parking space that is allocated to the hotel.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
Thank Moofe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksGateway, Manager at Oaks Gateway on Palmer, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to let us know you enjoyed your recent stay. Our guests, those here for both business or pleasure, have often commented that they find our location very helpful.

We are currently working with the Body Corporate to arrange a better system in the car park which will make it easier for guests to find a car park. We hope to see a resolution to this by the end of this year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Townsville hotels
0.4 mi away
Oaks M on Palmer
Oaks M on Palmer
#6 of 41 in Townsville
521 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Ville Resort-Casino
The Ville Resort-Casino
#10 of 41 in Townsville
821 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quest Townsville
Quest Townsville
#1 of 41 in Townsville
506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Grand Hotel and Apartments Townsville
0.1 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Townsville
2.3 mi away
Mercure Townsville
Mercure Townsville
#7 of 41 in Townsville
955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oaks Gateway on Palmer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks Gateway on Palmer

Address: 2 Dibbs St, Townsville, Queensland 4810, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Townsville
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Townsville
#7 Business Hotel in Townsville
#7 Luxury Hotel in Townsville
#8 Family Hotel in Townsville
Price Range: $92 - $156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Oaks Gateway on Palmer 4.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oaks Gateway on Palmer is Townsville's next generation in resort-style accommodation. Located five minutes walk from the CBD & a two minute drive to the Strand,the hotel has a range of restaurants & cafes on its doorstop on cosmopolitan Palmer Street. Offering FREE secure parking, FREE GYM,FREE FOXTEL & FREE WIFI, Oaks Gateway on Palmer boasts spacious hotel, one & two bedroom apartments and is a perfect choice for families, couples or the business traveller. All accommodation options offer sleek modern decor and spectacular river,and hinterland views. Apartment features include full kitchen and laundry facilities, separate lounge and dining area, work desk & balcony. We have restaurant chargeback facilities to the very popular Ribs & Rumps (onsite) as well as the eliquant Jam Corner Restaurant straight across from our hotel. To cater for that special function or meeting we also have our very own Conference Venue located on the same street (Metropole Conference & Events) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Oaks Hotels and Resorts, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Oaks Gateway on Palmer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oaks Gateway On Palmer Hotel Townsville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing