We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Only place I'll stay in Townsville”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Oaks Gateway on Palmer
Ranked #15 of 41 Hotels in Townsville
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Only place I'll stay in Townsville”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

used to live in Townsville, so I know what other hotels are like and after staying here, whenever I go back to Townsville, I won't be staying anywhere else. I don't know what other reviewers are on about, the staff were seriously some of the best I've seen. The front desk girls were friendly, helpful and always said 'Hi' as we went past and the cleaners came at lunchtime each day to tidy up and make the beds (which we didn't expect, as other apartments we have stayed in weren't serviced daily).

The unit (2 bedroom) was HUGE and we agreed we could quite easily live in it full time. We got a room on the back of the building and at first we were disappointed not to have a view of Flinders Street, but the view was still pretty good and the room probably quieter. The pool was great and so is the location. Palmer Street is the main restaurant strip in the CBD, so you can't get any closer to food (but as others have said, not everything is open on a Sunday) and the bars and clubs are a 5 minute walk across the bridge. If you want to hang around the Strand (beach) during the day, then maybe not an ideal spot, as its a 30min walk, but that's about the only downside.

This place is awesome value for money and I cant recommend it enough.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor, facing Flinders Street. Or a room on the corners of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stuchy81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksGateway, Manager at Oaks Gateway on Palmer, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
It is always fantastic when people enjoy our property. We have developed our reception team and they are an asset to the hotel.

See you next time you are in Townsville!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    174
    51
    22
    12
See reviews for
90
119
18
107
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
94 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013

We got a hotel apartment here for the weekend. We found the room, clean, amply furnished with a great view. A special mention should go to Kara who checked us in. She was friendly, thorough with her check in information ensuring we had no questions to ask at the end, it was really impressive and refreshing and welcoming! Oaks is in a great location with restaurants, museums, tourist attractions and The Strand within walking distance. We really enjoyed our stay there and will definitely stay there again

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HannahRandal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksGateway, Manager at Oaks Gateway on Palmer, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and our hospitality. It is fantastic when I can give specific feedback to staff. Kara was delighted with your comments.

I hope we see you next time you're in Townsville
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CAIRNS
Level Contributor
71 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

A great apartment-style hotel which is clean and comfortable. Whilst the reception staff do try their best to look after guests, it's just not a hotel-style of service that I'm used to....
Unlike other reviews, my 2-bedroom suite was clean, spacious and comfortable.
It's location is great as the main drag, were all of the restaurants are, is literally across the road - would stay again, but don't expect services of a mainstream hotel....!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travellor69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksGateway, Manager at Oaks Gateway on Palmer, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
As serviced apartments, the services provided do differ in some areas to traditional hotels. We believe we offer a wonderful product in our self contained serviced apartments, which allow guests to enjoy a home away from home whether they are here for work or a holiday. I am delighted to hear that you still enjoyed the complex even though it is a little different to what you were expecting. We look forward to seeing you next time you are in Townsville.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

Wow what can I say about this place ! Just amazing the views from the room were spectacular the room itself was clean and spacious for a studio room . If its a hot day you must go and enjoy yourself in there amazing pool with the views of townsville city ! Great value aswell and the location is perfect heaps of resturants and cafes in walking distance !!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travellinggypsy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksGateway, Manager at Oaks Gateway on Palmer, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
It is fantastic to hear that you were so happy with your stay and that you were able to enjoy both the location and facilities on offer at a price that you found to be great value! I hope we will see you again the next time you are in Townsville.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manawatu
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Basic amenities. To far away from restaurants for families might be ok for the business or single person as plenty of bars nearby which are totally unsuitable for children.
Hotel supposively fairly new, carpets and sofas were dirty,bathrooms could do with a good scrub, hotel staff friendly. This hotel is probably more suited to the business person or the young singles that love to go out clubing.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ReidNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksGateway, Manager at Oaks Gateway on Palmer, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
I am very sorry to hear that you did not find our location adjacent to Townsvilles main dining precinct suitable to your needs. I understand, that some of these restaurants are not family orientated, but it is a shame to hear that none of the restaurants were able to meet your requirements.

I am glad to hear, however that you found our staff friendly and I will ensure your comments on the room are passed on to our housekeeping team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Legana
Level Contributor
118 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Our apartment was vey pleasant, on the third floor,with rooms and bed to suit two adult couples and an 18 year old - who was a little unhappy about the sofa bed for yet another night, but she coped. The apartment was clean, well appointed - we cooked our own meal on one of our nights there. It was given a basic service once during our stay. The staff at reception were very friendly and helpful and even allowed us to use the luggage trolley with a small chair on it as a wheel chair to get my Mum from car to room and back to car for trip home when we hadn't been able to locate a proper wheel chair late one night.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KimT11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksGateway, Manager at Oaks Gateway on Palmer, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
I'm delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the team were both friendly and helpful during your stay. I hope we see you again next time you are in Townsville.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mooloolaba
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

location great for a nostalgic trip to Townsville. reception staff very helpful and efficient when the shower drain blocked and the bathroom flooded. they were most apologetic. the two bedroom apartment perfectly fine for 2 couples.

Room Tip: the afternoon sun was very hot on our north facing balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksGateway, Manager at Oaks Gateway on Palmer, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
It is a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, despite the issue with the blocked drain. Your patience and assistance were greatly appreciated by the reception team when clearing the drain. I hope to see you again next time you are in Townsville.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Townsville hotels
0.1 mi away
Quest Townsville
Quest Townsville
#1 of 41 in Townsville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
0.4 mi away
Oaks M on Palmer
Oaks M on Palmer
#9 of 41 in Townsville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
0.0 mi away
Grand Hotel and Apartments Townsville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Townsville
0.8 mi away
The Ville Resort-Casino
The Ville Resort-Casino
#8 of 41 in Townsville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 733 reviews
0.4 mi away
City Oasis Inn
City Oasis Inn
#7 of 41 in Townsville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oaks Gateway on Palmer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks Gateway on Palmer

Property: Oaks Gateway on Palmer
Address: 2 Dibbs St, Townsville, Queensland 4810, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Townsville
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Townsville
#7 Business Hotel in Townsville
#10 Family Hotel in Townsville
#12 Luxury Hotel in Townsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Oaks Gateway on Palmer 4.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oaks Gateway on Palmer is Townsville's next generation in resort-style accommodation. Located five minutes walk from the CBD & a two minute drive to the Strand,the hotel has a range of restaurants & cafes on its doorstop on cosmopolitan Palmer Street. Offering FREE secure parking, FREE GYM,FREE FOXTEL & FREE WIFI, Oaks Gateway on Palmer boasts spacious hotel, one & two bedroom apartments and is a perfect choice for families, couples or the business traveller. All accommodation options offer sleek modern decor and spectacular river,and hinterland views. Apartment features include full kitchen and laundry facilities, separate lounge and dining area, work desk & balcony. We have restaurant chargeback facilities to the very popular Ribs & Rumps (onsite) as well as the eliquant Jam Corner Restaurant straight across from our hotel. To cater for that special function or meeting we also have our very own Conference Venue located on the same street (Metropole Conference & Events) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Oaks Gateway on Palmer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oaks Gateway On Palmer Hotel Townsville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing