We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice unit,great location if you like to dine.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Oaks Gateway on Palmer

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Oaks Gateway on Palmer
Ranked #12 of 42 Hotels in Townsville
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice unit,great location if you like to dine.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2011

I have stayed here on 2 occasions for work,units are good size and clean, location is good, Palmer street has many dining options all within walking distance.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aussiewally69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks Gateway on Palmer, responded to this review, September 12, 2011
We are very happy to hear that you have enjoyed staying with us a number of times at Gateway on Palmer.

We appreciate you loyalty towards our hotel and hope to welcome you once again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    172
    50
    18
    12
See reviews for
89
117
18
104
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
132 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2011

Perfect location for food, entertainment and CBD. Good size apartment especially when travelling with 2 teenagers, handy kitchen. Views from our 2 br apartment were stunning. Service slightly lacking with food served from pub across the road owned by the hotel (so no salt & pepper) satchels.

Booked directly after joining the oaks club to save 20% off best rate, got a corner apt with amazing views from the balcony. It would be fantastic in the summer with the cool breezes that blow. Reception was excellent.

We had requested 2 single beds in the 2nd bedroom for our children (14 & 11) and found it made up to a king bed. When housekeeping came to remake the beds, the lady was rather rude to the children demanding (not asking) them to move their bags stating they needed all the space in order to fix the room. Regardless, we would stay again due to the value, quality, position and large space.

Room Tip: Join the oaks club
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Under_fifty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks Gateway on Palmer, responded to this review, August 29, 2011
We appreciate your review regarding your stay with us at Oaks Gateway on Palmer. We are glad to hear that you were happy with the apartment and the views. It is also nice to know that you are a MyOaks member so you will receive discounts and other specials available.. We will ensure to pass on your feedback regarding the service received from our housekeeping staff to the Housekeeping Manager. We do hope you will consider staying with us again at Oaks Gateway on Palmer again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2011

We had a one bedroom apartment with an adjoining hotel room and stayed for 3 nights.
Our accommodation was great - comfortable, clean and very up to date.
Location was awesome - Palmer street/Flinders street and the Strand all in walking distance with lots to do.
I liked the location the best and reception the least. Reception did their job, but weren't very friendly.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackson J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
107 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2011

Stayed just one night while visiting Townsville's attractions.

Overall you should be impressed with this property. My room, 511, was a one bedroom corner apartment, spacious and well fitted out. Kitchen was comprehensive, even better than mine at home making it perfect for an extended stay. Access to CBD shopping, Palmer St dining, museums etc is ideal.

Quality inclusions like decent wall-mounted flat screen TV, large bathroom and comfortable sitting area with balcony made for a relaxing experience. Based on offered room rates, value is exceptional. I asked for a late checkout, but they were full, so it's good to see business is coming back.

Looking for 'minuses' I'd say the shower access is a bit poorly designed as the glass door opens out and is in danger of striking the toilet. The towel racks also inhibit easy access and I bumped them with my shoulder - ouch. This could be a limited to rooms in this corner of the building.

Internet access is expensive at $27/day but there are other cheaper wireless options in the street.

Facilities (like dining and conference) are limited in this serviced apartment building, but that is expected for this accommodation category. Included underground secure parking is excellent. Maybe local cafe allows chargeback to room?

I did not enquire about or use gym or spa. The pool looks great though and the other guests enjoyed it.

At time of writing, Northern Queensland is in a bit of a slump following cyclone earlier in the year, so rates are down. Some businesses have shut, so be sure to check beforehand to avoid disappointment. Reef HQ, maritime museum and dive operators were all operating normally and all other infrastructure is back to normal. Military museums have limited hours, so check before you drive out.

Room Tip: Trawl the online sites, great rates are available
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roderick E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2011

I booked a 1 bed spa apartment for3 nights expectng something realy fantasitc. Dont bother with the extra cost! We were taken to level 3, looked into the gym!, no view. The room was tiny with shutters seperating the bedrom and bathroom. Totally unacceptable.Great acoutsics! Changed to a much larger 1 bed apartment with separate bathroom thanfully. Just not what was expected of our chance to go somewhere special.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annemc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballan, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2011

Were in Townsville for a wedding with reception at the Yatch Club so combining a holiday was ideal. We booked 5 nights at the Oaks on Palmer in a 1 bedroom apartment and loved it.
Double balcony overlooked Palmer Street, everything was clean and the apartment very spacious.
Secure carparking underneath was great as we had a hire car most of the time and a rental wedding car overnight to park.
Loved having room in the bathroom and being able to do a load of washing.
Very well equiped kitchen (not that I used it, I was on holiday) but everything was there.
Oaks is right on Palmer St so plenty of wonderful places to eat, we tried many in the 5 days! Short walk over the bridge and you are in the CBD and it's close enough to walk to The Strand.
Couldn't fault the apartment for a longish stay like ours and would definately stay there again.
The price was exceptionally good too. We left there for Peppers on Magnetic Island and the Oaks was by far the superior accommodation and much much cheaper.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2011

Stayed here in a nice modern studio room on upper floors, which had a great view over the river to the city centre. Nice spacious room and great loaction, with heaps of restaurants on your doorstep in Palmer street and easy walk to City centre and the Strand promenade (which is a must for a stunning beachfront walk and cafe hop in Townsville).

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TEAM-GEE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Townsville hotels
0.1 mi away
Quest Townsville
Quest Townsville
#1 of 42 in Townsville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
0.4 mi away
Oaks M on Palmer
Oaks M on Palmer
#9 of 42 in Townsville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
0.0 mi away
Grand Hotel and Apartments Townsville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Townsville
0.4 mi away
City Oasis Inn
City Oasis Inn
#8 of 42 in Townsville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
0.3 mi away
Park Regis Anchorage
Park Regis Anchorage
#4 of 42 in Townsville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oaks Gateway on Palmer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks Gateway on Palmer

Property: Oaks Gateway on Palmer
Address: 2 Dibbs St, Townsville, Queensland 4810, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Townsville
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Townsville
#7 Business Hotel in Townsville
#9 Luxury Hotel in Townsville
#10 Family Hotel in Townsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Oaks Gateway on Palmer 4.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oaks Gateway on Palmer is Townsville's next generation in resort-style accommodation. Located five minutes walk from the CBD & a two minute drive to the Strand,the hotel has a range of restaurants & cafes on its doorstop on cosmopolitan Palmer Street. Offering FREE secure parking, FREE GYM,FREE FOXTEL & FREE WIFI, Oaks Gateway on Palmer boasts spacious hotel, one & two bedroom apartments and is a perfect choice for families, couples or the business traveller. All accommodation options offer sleek modern decor and spectacular river,and hinterland views. Apartment features include full kitchen and laundry facilities, separate lounge and dining area, work desk & balcony. We have restaurant chargeback facilities to the very popular Ribs & Rumps (onsite) as well as the eliquant Jam Corner Restaurant straight across from our hotel. To cater for that special function or meeting we also have our very own Conference Venue located on the same street (Metropole Conference & Events) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Oaks Gateway on Palmer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oaks Gateway On Palmer Hotel Townsville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing