We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All good - great room, great service!”
Review of Oaks M on Palmer

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Oaks M on Palmer
Ranked #11 of 41 Hotels in Townsville
Certificate of Excellence
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“All good - great room, great service!”
Reviewed July 5, 2010

This place is lovely! Very new, rooms had everything you could want including kitchen in studio. Great space to store your luggage and nice comfy bed. Service from staff was friendly and efficient. There is a nice hotel in front, which we spent some time in meeting and talking to locals, it also did good meals. Hotel M is at the far end of Palmer St but it is only a short stroll to bars and restaurants. There is also a bus stop a coule of metres up the road for the circut bus.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PurpleM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

463 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    200
    61
    14
    6
See reviews for
34
179
33
159
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
australia
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2010

Really impressed with the rooms- i stayed in a studio room. It had a kitchenette- it is more for self-catering than room service, etc. Nice and new. Not great views from my room. It was about 15min walk from Flinders street where the main shopping strip is. About 10 mins from some restaurants on Palmer st. Not too bad, but I walked everywhere, and the walking added up after a while!
Main problem was the pool- right next door to reception, in the shade, not heated. It was FREEZING! It looked like iot was more for show than for actual use. The gym was pretty good.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank monozygote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longreach, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2010

As someone who travels a lot for work, I was not too sure about Hotel M when I made the booking, as it was not quite in the centre of the city - however I thought I would give it a go as the price was good.

Hotel M was clean and bright, friendly staff was a pleasant surprise as I had been on one of the flights in which the words 'delay, delay, delay' are used - so a friendly welcome won my heart as a starting point.

Hotel M is very new, all nice and clean and with modern fixtures. While my room was not as large as I had hoped, it turned out that it was very effective for the 4 days I was going to be spending in it. I was at one end of the building (which I like because I have less shared walls for noise) and did not have any interesting views, but that was ok with me.
The bathroom was clean and newish, however poor lighting if you’re a male who has to shave and the water pressure in the shower was just hopeless. I took off the shower head, but still no better pressure! I am not sure why places do this. As people end up in the showers for three times as long, and I personally am not myself if I don’t have a good shower in the mornings.

The bed was a king and very comfortable. A small kitchen area was all I needed for my stay, but it looked like you could have cooked a 4 course meal if you wanted to.
While the walk is some distance to the city, many would find it too far and in summer, it would be to hot to walk that distance unless you wanted to turn up covered in sweat.
Hotel M is in a nice quiet area, with easy access to some nice places to eat. I believe it had a small gym and pool, but as these options don't interest me - I did not really check them out.

I would stay at Hotel M again!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2010

Very happy with the choice, ok so it's not right in the centre of town but it isn't really that far to walk and it is a pleasant walk.
Rooms are incredibly clean and well appointed, cooking facilities, dishwasher, washing machine etc.
Very good value

  • Stayed May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2010

We stayed for one night travelling up from Airlie Beach to Cairns and loved the hotel. We were upgraded to a suite which was huge and had waterfront views. The room iteself was spotlessly clean and very modern. Yes, there is only a small pool (next to reception) and yes the hotel is at the very bottom of Palmer Street (but this means it's quiet especially on a Sat night!) but we got a bargain last minute price online and I would definitely stay here again.

Word of warning re: Palmer Street, very expensive but maybe it's just the poor exchange rate!

We loved Townsville, it's a young, vibrant city. If you can, go for a wander along the Strand and stop at Juliets for breakfast. The views and criossants are so worth it!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JillyLou123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2010

On our recent holiday in Townsville we stayed in a studio at Hotel M on Palmer Street.

Each studio has a king-sized bed, couch and bench with sink, convection microwave, large fridge and dishwasher so you can be self-sufficient if need be. We were lucky enough to stay on the 11th floor, giving us a gorgeous view across Ross Creek and the marina to Magnetic Island.

We found the rooms to be very comfortable, which is probably why we decided to stay four nights instead of the two originally booked. And the location on Palmer Street is wonderful with a myriad of restaurants, bars and cafes to choose from when it's meal time.

We would certainly stay again, finding the location better suited to us than some of the older accommodation available on and around the Strand area.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank templc74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North West QLD
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2010

Going by the reviews we read on here, I was expecting more from Hotel M.

It was very modern and new and clean, flatscreen tv, small balcony. Quite a good sized shower. The rooms are serviced daily.

But...

The rooms were small - obviously we weren't expecting huge judging by the price, but it was very compact.

Yes, technically it's situated on Palmer Street, but it's right down the very end, a fair walk from the main "action" if you will.

Limited carparking, quite small spaces - you could barely fit 2 regular size cars between the concrete pillars.

There is a swimming pool, but it's right next to reception, which some people probably wouldn't use solely because of that.

There's absolutely no signage from the road, we later discovered it has a big neon sign basically at the top of the highrise, which is only really visible from across the river and no help if you're trying to find it.

The shower kept tripping out between hot and cold, we didn't have the mini dishwasher going or anything so not sure why that was.

Minor details, but we most likely won't be staying there again.

One of the best things about it was the Indian restaurant next door - delicious!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SomerLoving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Townsville hotels
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel and Apartments Townsville
0.4 mi away
Oaks Gateway on Palmer
Oaks Gateway on Palmer
#15 of 41 in Townsville
395 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Townsville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Ville Resort-Casino
The Ville Resort-Casino
#8 of 41 in Townsville
763 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quest Townsville
Quest Townsville
#2 of 41 in Townsville
434 reviews
2.7 mi away
Mercure Townsville
Mercure Townsville
#9 of 41 in Townsville
897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oaks M on Palmer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks M on Palmer

Property: Oaks M on Palmer
Address: 81 Palmer St, Townsville, Queensland 4810, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Townsville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Townsville
#6 Family Hotel in Townsville
#7 Luxury Hotel in Townsville
#7 Romantic Hotel in Townsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Oaks M on Palmer 4.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
M on Palmer is a 4 1/2 star self catering property located on cosmopolitan Palmer Street. The hotel is surrounded by lovely a dining precinct with a vast array of restaurants, cafes, city night life and Jupiters Casino. Oaks M on Palmer Townsville features 11 floors of modern, fully self contained studio apartment accommodation complete with washers and dryers - which is ideal for the business and leisure travellers alike. The Metropole Hotel (located on site) is a true Queensland icon which has been reopened and offers conference rooms as well as dining facilities for breakfast, lunch and dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Oaks M on Palmer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
m Hotel Townsville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing