We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Trendy and Comfy”
Review of Oaks M on Palmer

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Oaks M on Palmer
Ranked #11 of 41 Hotels in Townsville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 15, 2010

Booked a studio at short notice and very glad we did. The roooms are really lovely, quite small but beautifully furnished and eqipped, even a small dishwasher! View over the water was lovely and there's even a small pool. Staff were very efficient and professional.There are numerous restaurants just a short stroll along the street whcih are also quite trendy. The rest of Twonsville is so-so but it's a good place to stop if you're travelling up or down the coast.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jacqui C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (487)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

458 - 464 of 487 reviews

Reviewed February 2, 2010

Stayed for for 3 nights during bad weather. Townsville a bit rubbish - i'd avoid it if possible. If you want to go, choose this place.
Nice rooms, very clean kitchenette with 2 hob rings. Comfortable bed and sofa in room. Washing machien and dryer in cupboard. Bathroom with shower only. Very trendy. 15mins walk into the main 'town' (if you want to go!) and about 15-20 min walk to a supermarket.
Couldn't fault the Hotel M. Staff were very helpful and friendly.
Good stop off here for Magnetic Island - if you are getting into the area late on at night. Its about $10 in a taxi to the ferry terminal for the Sunferry so it's a good place to stop.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LPass16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2010

We had just one night here and although Townsville isn't the epicentre of Queensland, this apartment hotel was excellent value. We had a studio room which was modern, clean, bright and really comfortable. Would recommend to anyone travelling through and wanting self-catering facilities at the upper end of the market for budget prices.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kmrej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2009

We found the room clean , modern and with all the facilities we needed to recharge after 10 days in Australia.

The only thing was the attached restaurant didnt do Breakfast so they recommended Bistro 6 about 400 metres down the road. Do not go there !!! , we ordered some cereal and a full breakfast, the cereal came fairly quickly, but, the breakfast never arrived , after an hour I paid for the cereal and suggested to the manager that the breakfast never was going to arrive was it. He gave a very meek apology. I dont know whether it was because we are Brits or what but the service was poor even by Aussie standards

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scranl00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
An Agoda Traveler
Reviewed December 8, 2009

  • Stayed: December 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Agoda Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed November 22, 2009

Apartments were a fantastic location to stay. Could not fault the staff or accomodation. Highly recommended. BUT, Do not drink at the Metropole pub next door, The staff are less than friendly and take a lot of time to attend your most simple requests.
The chef cannot cook a steak "medium to well" to save his life. We had to send it back TWICE, after that we just gave up and left. The salad was rocket leaves and a sprinkling of alfalfa sprouts. Table 51 down the road was great. Quick service and friendly. Food how you want it cooked. Also, in Townsville mall, "Hoges on the Mall" is a fantastic, value for money food outlet, with courteous friendly staff. Eat there for a quality breakfast (eggs with hollandase sauce and for dinner, a beautiful vegetarian crepe.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GeorgeAndMaryCC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2009

My husband and i recently stayed for 2 nights. The room was clean, modern (but quite narrow) with all you could want in a room with lcd tv ,dvd player(but no dvd's to rent as you had to go to a local video shop to hire dvd's) fridge, dishwasher and a washer and dryer in the room. Also very comfy couch which is a real bonus nowdays. The bathroom is very compact with no bath which would be a problem if traveling with children . We were told all rooms have king size beds but check before you book. As others have said the pool is a complete waste, as no one swims in it as it is right next to the reception area and is overlook buy the backpackers hotel next door. It is a bit of a walk down to the restraunt end of palmer street and in the hot months would be quite a effort. There is no room service or inhouse movies and a limited cable stations to watch

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kaza1262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Townsville hotels
0.6 mi away
The Ville Resort-Casino
The Ville Resort-Casino
#10 of 41 in Townsville
798 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel and Apartments Townsville
0.4 mi away
Oaks Gateway on Palmer
Oaks Gateway on Palmer
#12 of 41 in Townsville
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Quest Townsville
Quest Townsville
#2 of 41 in Townsville
482 reviews
2.7 mi away
Mercure Townsville
Mercure Townsville
#9 of 41 in Townsville
934 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Townsville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oaks M on Palmer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks M on Palmer

Address: 81 Palmer St, Townsville, Queensland 4810, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Townsville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Townsville
#6 Family Hotel in Townsville
#6 Luxury Hotel in Townsville
#7 Romantic Hotel in Townsville
Price Range: $87 - $154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Oaks M on Palmer 4.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
M on Palmer is a 4 1/2 star self catering property located on cosmopolitan Palmer Street. The hotel is surrounded by lovely a dining precinct with a vast array of restaurants, cafes, city night life and Jupiters Casino. Oaks M on Palmer Townsville features 11 floors of modern, fully self contained studio apartment accommodation complete with washers and dryers - which is ideal for the business and leisure travellers alike. The Metropole Hotel (located on site) is a true Queensland icon which has been reopened and offers conference rooms as well as dining facilities for breakfast, lunch and dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Oaks M on Palmer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
m Hotel Townsville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing