We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (624)
Filter reviews
624 results
Traveler rating
262
259
75
19
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
262
259
75
19
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews palmer street magnetic island washing machine quiet end studio apartment full size fridge short walk industrial area self contained cooking facilities nice room top floor great place to stay bed was very comfortable quiet location business trip restaurants and bars
Filter
Updating list...
236 - 241 of 624 reviews
Reviewed May 26, 2016 via mobile

Stayed on 6th floor room was very specious but dirty. Aircon was filthy and toilet seat was yellow. Comfortable bed and nice view. Specious for family with kids as you have little kitchen to help your stay. Super friendly staff that went out of the way to help you. Great location close to town centre.

Stayed: May 2016, traveled on business
Thank Resort372071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksM0nPalmer, Manager at Oaks Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2016

We appreciate your feedback regarding your stay at Oaks M on Palmer.

It is disappointing to read that we had not exceeded your expectations on this occasion. We thank you for the feedback as this will enable us to rectify any issues so that our guests have a most wonderful experience.
It is great to read however that you found the apartment spacious with comfortable beds and fabulous views of the harbour and ocean.

Our friendly staff wish to see you again soon so that we may deliver a better experience and change your impression of our wonderful apartments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2016

I booked this room last minute on what seemed one of the busiest weekends in Townsville (Broncos V Cowboys) game. When we arrived, finding that we had a lovely King bedroom on the 8th level was a surprise! The room was clean, tidy and had a nice view. (not that we cared as availability was scarce). The staff were friendly. Parking free. lots of places to eat very close by and the city was only over the bridge. Will definitely stay again :)

Room Tip: who doesn't love a king bed!
  • Stayed: May 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank melissa c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksM0nPalmer, Manager at Oaks Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2016

Thank you for sharing your review of your recent stay with the Trip advisor community.

Yes the annual Queensland NRL derby between the local North Queensland Cowboys and Brisbane Broncos is always a busy time of year! It is great however that we were able to accommodate you during this time. It's great to read that you enjoyed the apartment and that you found the staff friendly. In a great location along Palmer street there are many options to explore.

We hope you were able to make the most of the busy football weekend. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon! Thank you for choosing Oaks Hotels & Resorts.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2016

Nice room, great view, very central location. Rooms were clean and all staff we encountered were friendly and helpful. Close to bars and restaurants too.
Quiet end of Palmer street. Railway yard next door which wasn't a problem.

  • Stayed: May 2016, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank R65LS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksM0nPalmer, Manager at Oaks Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2016

We appreciate your time to be able to give us a review of your stay at Oaks M on Palmer.

It is excellent to read that you were satisfied with all aspects of your stay. Our beautifully appointed apartments with great views are centrally located as you have mentioned to an array of bars and restaurants. The heritage listed Metropole restaurant onsite also has chargeback to your room facilities for guest convenience.
I am more than pleased to pass on your great feedback of the staff who are committed in providing great customer service.

Thank you for choosing Oaks Hotels & Resorts and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2016

Stayed two nights for work and was pleasantly surprised with the facilities in the room. Small kitchenette which had everything you need - plates and cutlery, cook top, full size fridge and microwave. A good location with easy free parking, friendly check in and the room was clean and bed comfortable. What more do you need!

Stayed: May 2016
Thank BindH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksM0nPalmer, Manager at Oaks Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2016

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us here at Oaks M on Palmer.

I am pleased to read that your accommodation expectations were exceeded during your business trip to Townsville. The apartments are great with everything that you need. We do all the hard work for you so all you have to do is relax and enjoy your time when your're not busy working.

You can also take advantage of great online rates by visiting our Oaks Hotels & Resorts website. Thank you for staying at Oaks M on palmer and we look forward to seeing you again on your next business trip to Townsville.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2016

Booked this hotel through WOTIF however neglected to pay attention to what view the room had (Mountain View). When I realised, I contacted the hotel to see if I could change it. The receptionist I spoke to (Jane) was very helpful and even though I had to pay more then the WOTIF price I managed to get a room overlooking the city and Ocean (If you wish this view ask for the City Scape Room). I also had made a mistake in the booking process, Jane was very helpful in helping me rectify that mistake.

Arriving at the hotel took us a little while in trying to find the right one. There are two Oaks Hotels on the same street...for reference they just so happen to be the first and last hotels on Palmer St. The Oaks M is the last hotel. As you get to the end of the street you will come across a small roundabout, enter the roundabout and take the narrow exit immediately prior to and next to the Metropole Hotel....this leads you to the reception entrance for the hotel

The staff were very friendly and explained everything we need to know which made for a smooth transfer to the room. Lifts can only be used after swiping with your room key...the extra security is nice. We were on the 10th floor with the hotel having 11 Floors, the view overlooked the city and harbour and captured Castle HIll as well.

The positives about the room were:
- Very Clean
- Good size bathroom
- Cooking utensils ie: Toaster, Kettle, Stove and Cutlery
- Air Conditioning
- Washer and Dryer in room
- Linen and accesories changed each day
- Great view
- King Size Bed
- Quiet when Balcony Door Closed
- Open Balcony wth privacy screens

The negatives about the room were:
- Upon entering, the room smelled musty and dank....we found through the 4 days we were here that everytime we left the room for a period of time and having shut the balcony doors...the smell would be there on our return. Suggest the rooms need a good airing...especially prior to guests entering. Might pay to give the AIr Conditioners a service as well.
- Noise level - Unfortunately the City Scape rooms are located directly over the Metropole Hotel, which has on it's roof a very large Air Conditioner/Refridgerator type plant. Can get very noisy at night. You also have some very happy patrons of the Metropole leaving those premises late at night. At the back of the hotel is a major Port Railway line so you will get some noise from that area every so often. Early in the morning you have the Magnetic Island Ferry and Barge blowing their horns as they depart for the Island. So yes it can get noisy if you like to leave the balcony door open for the night fresh air. If you are happy with Air Conditioning all night then the Noise levels are dramatically reduced if the balcony door is shut.

Other then above the room suited our purposes and had all the mod cons required. The hotel is in a great spot where all you have to do is walk down Palmer Street and choose any of the myriad of restaurants to dine at (Palmer St is only 600mts long so not far to walk). It is central to the city itself and to walk to Flinders St is about 1.2klm. The Strand is a bit further at about 2.5klm.

The hotel has a Gym and Pool although we used niether, I instead chose to go for Morning walks around the City and along the Strand. The Pool is located in a strange spot in that it is at the Reception Entrance, there was one table and a couple of chairs and a BBQ. No other seating. Anyone coming into the Hotel can see whoever is using the pool....to be honest, in the 4 days we were here we never saw anyone use it. We tested the water and it was quite chilly. The gym is located on the first floor and has a big window overlooking the Metropole and Ross River, there are about half a dozen pieces of equipment including treadmills.

The staff during our stay were extremely helpful and accomodating...I do have a bit of advice though. During our stay there was only one receptionist (Samantha?) who said hello to us on our return to the hotel, its not a lot but it does give the guests a good feeling with a little acknowledgement that they are in the building....a simple hello goes a long way.

The hotel also provides free WiFi for 30 minutes a day, after that you pay for the time you use. This service was appreciated as it allows you just to pop on and retrieve emials or what not.

Overall we enjoyed our stay and the staff were great to deal with, it is only a few little things as mentioned above that stop me from giving this hotel an excellent review. I would however, recommend this hotel to anyone staying a few days in Townsville.

Room Tip: Rooms on City side are noiser than rooms on Moutain side.
  • Stayed: May 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank scorps_sting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksM0nPalmer, Manager at Oaks Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2016

We very much appreciate your time to give us an extensive review of your recent stay with us at Oaks M on Palmer.

It is excellent to read that you were impressed with the apartment facilities and view from your Cityscape apartment. Our hotel security procedures ensure a safe and relaxing environment for our hotel guests. The location is great on the restaurant precinct of Townsville within walking distance to an abundance of restaurants and bars.
It is a shame that a few little things prohibited yourself from giving us an even better review but this is great feedback for us to excel in our customer service and product.

We look forward to your return visit the next time you visit Townsville. We thank you very much for recommending Oaks M on Palmer and we thank you for choosing Oaks Hotels & Resorts.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews