We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great friendly place, great location”
Review of The Strand Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Strand Motel
Ranked #34 of 41 Hotels in Townsville
Rockhampton
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great friendly place, great location”
Reviewed May 7, 2014

Me and two friends scored this gem on our trip to Townsville for a festival and some diving. It is not 5 star living but the owners are uber friendly, location could not be any better and the price for the three of us was very reasonable. Places to eat and drink are very close by as well as all the necessary amenities. We will be definitely staying there again on return to Townsville

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    25
    10
    3
    7
See reviews for
12
28
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Macleay Island, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
201 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2014

Don't be fooled by the outside of this place.....the rooms are fresh and the position to die for!
Right on the strand with a popular hotel close by, plenty of places to eat, a supermarket, doctors, dentists and within walking didstance to town, this place is tops.
I have stayed here many times and will always stay when I'm in Townsville.
You can't go wrong!!

Room Tip: If you can get the top floor room on the east side of the building, you will have the sea breeze and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank bergerski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston North, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed February 19, 2014

Stayed here for a few nights in Dec '13 for family occasion, great location, friendly, helpful owners,. Reminded us of holidays when we were kids at the bach at Foxton Beach NZ. Planning another holiday next year will definitely be coming back to stay at The Strand.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicky C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Island
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Would recommend this accommodation if you are not into flash and expensive motels. The Strand is clean and tidy, great bed. Very helpful owner who offers you a unit upstairs with a view or downstairs. This place is in a great location, shops and eating places just a very short walk away.
Beach is just across the road. The price is also great. Would stay again and would recommend.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank abdnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

I stayed 5 nights here. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay. The owner was the most friendly, helpful and accommodating host I've ever met. The rooms were exceptionally clean, the beds very comfortable and the location is brilliant. I will definitely be staying here next time I'm in Townsville.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RietaSw S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here 1 night. We found it to be Clean, Compact & Conveniently located. Would stay here again. The owner was very friendly and accomodating, offering us a strand view room or a quiet room at the back. Was also helpful with directions when we were leaving

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank lostleprachaun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Landsborough, Queensland, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 26, 2013

We stayed there for 2 nights with our friends from New Zealand it was just like home away from home, off street parking has all you need, yes its old but we loved it. Its close to eateries, grocery stores, & a great park to go for works . The Barbers.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Townsville hotels
0.2 mi away
Waters Edge The Strand
Waters Edge The Strand
#2 of 2 in North Ward
206 reviews
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Robert Towns
Comfort Inn Robert Towns
#22 of 41 in Townsville
88 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Allen
Hotel Allen
#39 of 41 in Townsville
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
City Oasis Inn
City Oasis Inn
#7 of 41 in Townsville
305 reviews
0.2 mi away
Beach House Motel
Beach House Motel
#1 of 2 in North Ward
123 reviews
0.9 mi away
Shoredrive Motel
Shoredrive Motel
#36 of 41 in Townsville
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Strand Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Strand Motel

Property: The Strand Motel
Address: 51 The Strand, Townsville, Queensland 4810, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Townsville
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 41 Hotels in Townsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Strand Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Strand Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing