We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Several overnight stays at Hotel Allen” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Allen

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Allen
Ranked #40 of 42 Hotels in Townsville
Home Hill, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Several overnight stays at Hotel Allen”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

We stayed overnight at Hotel Allen during the recent school holidays with other members of our family. Three each to a room at a cost of $80 per night. This included a fantastic buffet breakfast. We also had dinner there and really enjoyed it. The staff on reception, and in the bistro and bar all very helpful and friendly. There is off street parking which is a real bonus. Have stayed there previously and will again. A bit dated, but everything you want is there.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wayne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tammarra K, Accommodation Receptionist at Hotel Allen, responded to this review, March 22, 2016
Hi Wayne,
Thank you so much for your positive feedback, it is greatly appreciated. We are so happy that you enjoy your visits to our Hotel and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    12
    15
    5
    7
See reviews for
9
10
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
palm Island
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

Amazing value for money! Excellent price. Comfortable and clean and Quiet. Breakfast included for the price and a buffet breakfast on weekends comes highly recommended. They now have brand new children's double bunk with wide comfy mattresses in selected rooms. Not self catering, but small fridge and tea and coffee provided. BI-LO, Strand waterpark and eateries close by, a hidden gem. Swimming pool with shade. Pub on site, but never rowdy or noisy, and tucked out of sight. Suitable accommodation for families. Staff very friendly and helpful. Children love the computer playroom adjoining dining area, with screen so parents can see children are safe. Well thought out. We look forward to returning soon!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank utwade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

Booked online drove past and thought what have we done. Was presently surprised. Still an old place but pool area very nice and clean. Food was great, included breaky nice surprise n very tastey. Would definitely stay again

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jamieka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

We arrived a little late and the staff were very friendly checking us in. For $70, the 3 of us fit in very comfortably. We even got complimentary breakfast, so it was very good value for money. Unfortunately dinner finishes at 9pm so we just missed out on the $14.95 steak special (Thursday).

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tyson B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

I booked this hotel on line. Last bed available in Townsville due to the races and the footy being on. For the price I wasn't expecting much and when I saw it from the outside I was a bit nervous, its old and tired! But I was surprised. If you are after some generic hotel room then this is not for you but if you are wanting a clean place to spend the night, a great location at an affordable price then this place is for you. Didn't eat there so not sure about the food!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Natasha C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrara, Australia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

Just spend 12 days at The Allen , the rooms are old but clean the air on was realy great , loved the showers and it was amazingly quit. The food in the bistro was realy good and plenty of it , I realy enjoyed my stay and there was nothing to complain about at all. It is not luxurie but nice and friendly and the staff is very helpfull.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Highwaywoman13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Douglas, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

Walking along the strand ...and came across the Hotel Allen ...and saw the breakfast menu outside ...so decided to give it a try ....wished I never did ...ordered the breakfast with the lot, bacon, sausage, eggs, tomotoes, baked beans. hash brown ....(still looking for that hash brown) and thick toast ....(and still looking for thick) $14.95 ....made another mistake and ordered a coffee (long black) don't think she had heard of that one ....and when I saw a staff member leave and shortley return with a takeaway coffee, knew then I was in for a treat ....food very average ...overdone eggs, ...they do offer free coffee from a pot ...maybe should have !!!!
and they offer free juice from a jug .....and when I saw a lond black hair leave the jug to my glass ....I quickly disgarded that ....so no wont be back .......

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Steve F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Townsville hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Townsville hotels
0.7 mi away
Chifley Plaza Townsville
Chifley Plaza Townsville
#15 of 42 in Townsville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 486 reviews
0.2 mi away
Waters Edge The Strand
Waters Edge The Strand
#1 of 2 in North Ward
4.0 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
0.9 mi away
Park Regis Anchorage
Park Regis Anchorage
#4 of 42 in Townsville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Robert Towns
Comfort Inn Robert Towns
#18 of 42 in Townsville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
0.8 mi away
Townsville Central Hotel
Townsville Central Hotel
#23 of 42 in Townsville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ridgemont Executive Motel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Allen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Allen

Property: Hotel Allen
Address: Corner Eyre and Gregory Sts, Townsville, Queensland 4810, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Townsville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 42 Hotels in Townsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Allen 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Allen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing