We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2 Cockroaches seen running around the resturant!”
Review of Hotel Allen

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Allen
Ranked #39 of 41 Hotels in Townsville
Reviewed April 22, 2012

We had lunch here, the food was ok and well priced but we found two cockroaches scuttering through the resturant! They had a meat raffle for the local surf club which was good, as we won it!
If you want a pub feed give the Seaview or Watermark a try, better location but more expensive.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank MRyanPhotography
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (52)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

49 - 52 of 52 reviews

Reviewed November 8, 2011

Terrible cheap nasty pub, i for 5 minutes and left. The manager was rude and the rooms smelly. Horrible.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank goodwork2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

I needed a place to stay for 1 night in Townsville and was lucky to find a room available at The Allen as it was the last weekend of the motor racing. The Allen was the only hotel with a room available within my price range. My room was clean and comfortable but very outdated. I probably wouldn't stay much more than 1 night as there's very little storage space in the room. Only 2 small sets of drawers and no hanging space at all. While the TV was tiny and had no remote, it did come with Austar channels and there was a table, 2 chairs and an electric kettle/tea and coffee station. The room price included a free breakfast which was a nice surprise.
The real draw of The Allen is it's location and facilities. It's only a short stroll to The Strand and plenty of lovely shops and restaurants. We had breakfast and lunch at The Allen's restaurant because breakfast was free and they had a great range of $10 meals as well. The pool area looks nice and the staff were all lovely. We arrived after reception had closed and the gentleman that checked us in after hours walked us right to the door.
All in all a good spot for a stopover or maybe even a weekend away.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank rissa0383
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank camses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Townsville hotels
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Robert Towns
Comfort Inn Robert Towns
#24 of 41 in Townsville
93 reviews
0.7 mi away
Madison Plaza Townsville
Madison Plaza Townsville
#13 of 41 in Townsville
601 reviews
0.2 mi away
Waters Edge The Strand
Waters Edge The Strand
#2 of 2 in North Ward
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Grand Hotel and Apartments Townsville
0.7 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Townsville
0.2 mi away
The Strand Motel
The Strand Motel
#33 of 41 in Townsville
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Allen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Allen

Address: Corner Eyre and Gregory Sts, Townsville, Queensland 4810, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Townsville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 41 Hotels in Townsville
Price Range: $49 - $64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Allen 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Allen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing