We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“bloody good value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Banjo Paterson Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Banjo Paterson Motor Inn
Ranked #25 of 41 Hotels in Townsville
carins,AU
1 review
“bloody good value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

i stayed at banjo paterson motor inn and i think it is very good value for money the room were A1
the food is perfect and you couldn't ask for nicer people than Louie & Chrissy so all the people that gave the place a bad wrap need to find something better to do instead of running people down just stop and have a look in your own back yard and besides there are a heap of other places to stay in town

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bushtire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    17
    6
    1
    3
See reviews for
12
9
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cairns, Queensland, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

I checked into the Banjo Paterson Motor Inn put my bags in the room, then went out. Came back that afternoon the owners were sitting in the car park drinking with music blaring extremely loud! I had a room upstairs could hear everything. The room was not very good value for money paid 95 the bathroom was not clean, no fan in the room only aircon that faced the door no air circulation around the bed. I checked out that night asked for my money back and checked into another place down the road. Wont be recommending to anyone i know!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Reveiw_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bowen
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

we stayed here and found every thing most satisfactory, from chrissy and lou to rooms (some one has put a lot of work into the cleanliness). would definately stay again. would even just go for a meal, very good . thank you guys. keep up good work will be back for sure.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank christine h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atherton, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

my stay at the banjo paterson motor inn was very enjoyable.chrissy&lou are very nice&friendly.nothing was to much to them.the bar&the meal was excellent.they have only a short time so give them a chance.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Invercargill, Southland, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

We stayed 5 nights in this motel and enjoyed the time there. The owners have only recently taken over the property and already doing some great things with it. The units are clean and tidy and are being renovated as time permits. I understand the cleaning of some of the units where pretty rough under the previous management. This is certainly not the case now. Keeping in mind the motel is 3 star, the overall condition is very good. The owners are friendly and approachable. The attached restaurant is an added bonus and provides very good meals. We will certainly stay again next time we are in Townsville.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timaru
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

We stayed a night at this motel & were charged $100 aud for rooms that were extremely dirty. The bathroom doors were black with fingermarks & the whole place was grotty.

The air condioners must have come out of the ark & were so noisy that you could not sleep - the firdges were also extremely noisy. There is new management in the motels so lets hope they do something to clean the place up. They have a cheek charging so much.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kiwi836
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winton
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

We arrived a few days after the new managers / owners had taken over. Rooms are older style, but were very clean and well presented. We booked late and had one of the upstairs rooms facing the road which had quite a lot of road noise during the day, but my parents stayed in one of the ground floor rooms towards the back of the motel and said that it was considerably quiter. Overall it was good value for money.

Room Tip: Try and get a ground floor room towards the back of the motel lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank westqld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Townsville hotels
2.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Robert Towns
Comfort Inn Robert Towns
#18 of 41 in Townsville
4.0 of 5 stars 68 reviews
7.2 mi away
Sunbird Motel
Sunbird Motel
#24 of 41 in Townsville
4.5 of 5 stars 20 reviews
0.2 mi away
Spanish Lace Motor Inn
Spanish Lace Motor Inn
#31 of 41 in Townsville
5.0 of 5 stars 6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Raintree Motel
Raintree Motel
#21 of 41 in Townsville
4.0 of 5 stars 54 reviews
0.4 mi away
Colonial Rose Motel
Colonial Rose Motel
#17 of 41 in Townsville
4.5 of 5 stars 41 reviews
0.1 mi away
Coolabah Motel
Coolabah Motel
#37 of 41 in Townsville
3.0 of 5 stars 21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banjo Paterson Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banjo Paterson Motor Inn

Property: Banjo Paterson Motor Inn
Address: 72-74 Bowen Rd, Townsville, Queensland 4812, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Townsville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 41 Hotels in Townsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Banjo Paterson Motor Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay where the Country Meets the City. Central to all Hospitals and Patient Travel Subsidy Approved - PTSS. 5 minutes from Fairfield Waters Precinct and Cluden Park. Contractor Packages available. Onsite Restaurant and Bar with home cooked meals. Rooms available in Queen, Double, Family or Twin share. Located on Bowen Road, close to Sporting Facilities, Hospitals, Race track, Golf Course, Major Shopping Centres and Parks. Bus stop is a short walking distance to get to The Cowboys Games, or V8 Supercars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Banjo Paterson Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing