We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Grand hotel in Townsville” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Hotel and Apartments Townsville

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Grand Hotel and Apartments Townsville
Ranked #2 of 42 Hotels in Townsville
Certificate of Excellence
Forestville
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Grand hotel in Townsville”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

Definitely the best hotel I have stayed in Townsville.
The apartment that I had everything I could think of.

The hotel staff provided 5 star service.
Thanks for making my stay memerable not like last time at the Holiday Inn.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank richardk24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy S, General Manager at Grand Hotel and Apartments Townsville, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Hi Richark24,

Thank you for such a great review and taking the time to share your experience with the Trip Advisor community.

We hope to welcome you back again in the future.

Best regards and safe travels

Troy Scott
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    177
    37
    3
    2
See reviews for
61
153
25
115
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coolangatta, Australia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

Room was on level one so it didn't have the greatest view, but the room was clean and comfortable. It's located Right on Palmer St, where there is lots of nice places to eat or drink, so location is fantastic.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mantisalive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy S, General Manager at Grand Hotel and Apartments Townsville, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Hi Mantisalive,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Grand Hotel Townsville with the Trip Advisor family.

I am glad you found the hotel clean and comfortable. I agree, there are so many great restaurants and bars around the hotel, the best part is, for many of these you can charge your account back to your room.

We hope to welcome you back again in the future,
with best.

Troy Scott
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Level Contributor
167 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

This is a very nice hotel with modern facilities, good sized rooms and comfortable beds. The kitchenette enabled us to self cater. There is free outdoor parking or undercover parking for a fee. The little things we were disappointed in included 2 out of the 3 rubbish bins had broken mechanisms and the drying cycle on the washer/dryer (in the room) was faulty. For the price we paid I would expect better. Also be aware there is a surcharge for paying b y credit card.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank station
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy S, General Manager at Grand Hotel and Apartments Townsville, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Hi Station,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Grand Hotel Townsville with the Trip Advisor community. I do apologise for the small items that you have raised that tarnished your stay slightly.

Your feedback is valuable and helps us to ensure we are continually striving to excel. All bins and drying cycles have been inspected and any faults rectified.

Thank you again, safe travels
Troy Scott
General Manager


Thank
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013

We stayed in a one bedroom apartment and were impressed with the size and also the nightly price of the apartment. I wasn't too keen on the dual door entry to our apartment but that's just the way the building was planned I am assuming.
The pool area was nice and it was quiet when we were there so that was a bonus.
The staff were very friendly and helpful and the hotel is in a great location walking distance to most restaurants etc.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barnzie84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy S, General Manager at Grand Hotel and Apartments Townsville, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Hi Barnzie84,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on your recent stay at Grand Hotel Townsville with the Trip Advisor community.

I am glad that you found the staff, location and room size to your liking. Great to hear that you managed to get time for some R&R by the pool; in peace and quiet.

We hope to welcome back to Grand Hotel Townsville on your next journey to North Queensland.

Thank you again and safe travels.
Troy Scott
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

Only a ten minute trip by taxi from the airport, open 24 hours and walking distance to restaurants and pubs. Stayed for two nights king room as a mystery hotel and were impressed with the room and bathroom. Staff were professional and friendly.
I don't recommend the restaurant across the road (Ribs & Rumps) we ate there one night and for the price the food was sub standard. Also we were not impressed with Townsville's casino.
I recommend the Yacht club, only a 3 minute walk away. Also The Cactus Saloon is great for a drink up at their rooftop bar.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Crackalakin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy S, General Manager at Grand Hotel and Apartments Townsville, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Hi Crackalakin,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on your recent trip to Townsville.
I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and service here at Grand Hotel Townsville.

We hope to welcome you back again in the future,

safe travels, best regards
Troy Scott
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
58 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

I stayed here for business after scouring trip advisor for recommendations for accommodation in Townsville. I was only their on an overnighter but chose it because of some good reviews

The room is an air conditioned clean and comfortable serviced apartment. The main room has a large TV and the bedroom has a bonus additional TV so you can laze away in bed if you want. There is a decent sized living area and kitchenette. Nothing big but enough to cook small'ish meals if needed. There is also a pool and gym for those who stay a bit longer. There is also secure covered parking which is great to keep the car out of the Townsville heat.

The motel does not have an onsite restaurant but they are linked to 5 good restaurants just outside on Palmer St and you can just book it back to your room. I ate at the Salt Cellar and was totally impressed with the quality of the food and service.

All in all the staff are friendly and helpful - Helpful to the point that we could discuss the menus of the local restaurants in enough detail for me to make what turned out to be a wise decision as I am still talking about the Salt Cellar. (I might even do a review for it because it was that good)

The mark of a hotel is “Would I stay there again” – Yes I would. The hotel is convenient for what I need, is comfortable and the staff are very friendly and helpful. With many restaurants nearby there is also a good choice for quality meals.

Room Tip: When choosing a restaurant just ask the staff and tell them what you want and they will point you in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nev64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy S, General Manager at Grand Hotel and Apartments Townsville, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Hi Nev64,

Thank you for sharing such a detailed review of Grand Hotel Townsville with the TripAdvisor community, I think you summed it up nicely.

We do look forward to welcoming you back on your next business trip up to the tropics and being your hotel of choice in Townsville.

Thank you again and safe travels.
Troy Scott
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

This was a lovely place to stay for two nights as we prepared to leave Townsville. The rooms were well-appointed and the staff were fantastic. My only gripe with this place is something that a lot of hotels seem to be doing lately. Our "king size" bed was actually two single mattresses under the one fitted sheet. This is extremely uncomfortable if you want to do any kind of cuddling with the person you're there with!

Overall the facilities and rooms were great though, and if the mattress thing doesn't bother you, I'd recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kazleberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy S, General Manager at Grand Hotel and Apartments Townsville, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Hi Kazleberry,

Best wishes with your move and thank you for your feedback on your recent stay.

Point taken regarding the king-zipped bedding that is in some of our rooms. Your feedback helps us to evolve and improve, and with this one we are looking into solution for this.

Best regards and thanks.
Troy Scott
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Townsville hotels
0.1 mi away
Quest Townsville
Quest Townsville
#1 of 42 in Townsville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Townsville
0.7 mi away
The Ville Resort-Casino
The Ville Resort-Casino
#7 of 42 in Townsville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Park Regis Anchorage
Park Regis Anchorage
#4 of 42 in Townsville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
0.4 mi away
Oaks M on Palmer
Oaks M on Palmer
#9 of 42 in Townsville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
2.4 mi away
Mercure Townsville
Mercure Townsville
#10 of 42 in Townsville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel and Apartments Townsville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel and Apartments Townsville

Property: Grand Hotel and Apartments Townsville
Address: Grand Mercure 8 - 10 Palmer St, Townsville, Queensland 4810, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Townsville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Townsville
#2 Business Hotel in Townsville
#2 Spa Hotel in Townsville
#2 Family Hotel in Townsville
#3 Romantic Hotel in Townsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Hotel and Apartments Townsville 4.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel and Apartments Townsville offers all the facilities, services and attention that you need to make your stay with us as successful as it is enjoyable, whether it's overnight in a hotel Studio room, or extended stays in one of our self-contained apartments. Located in the heart of Townsville's popular cafe and restaurant precinct and just a short walk from the CBD, The Strand and the Marina, the Grand Hotel is an ideal base from which to explore the Barrier Reef, or as the gateway to your northern journey Join us for a taste of Townsville that you'll never forget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Grand Hotel and Apartments Townsville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mercure Apartments Townsville Hotel Townsville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing