We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for a short stay.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel and Apartments Townsville

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel and Apartments Townsville to your Saves list
Grand Hotel and Apartments Townsville
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8 - 10 Palmer Street, Townsville, Queensland 4810, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 41 Hotels in Townsville
Certificate of Excellence
brisbane
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great place for a short stay.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed 3 nights whilst on business. It's been a real pleasure. Good sized rooms compared to some others in same area. Reception staff exceptionally helpful and friendly. Having own balcony, even though it's small, is great. Can get into fresh air. Right in middle of many good restaurants. Will come back.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thecooks1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carl F, General Manager at Grand Hotel and Apartments Townsville, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear thecooks1

3 nights on business in Townsville and I am glad you enjoyed the hotel and its location in the vibrant Palmer Street. Its always a bonus for ones health to enjoy the fresh air in a hotel room. Try one of our One bedroom apartments on your next stay which are twice the size....a little tip...the 54 room balconies are even bigger. They are usually only $35 more so great value.

The Cooks thank you for a great review and we look forward to welcoming you back.

regards

Carl Forrest
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    155
    31
    3
    2
See reviews for
53
127
22
100
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rockhampton, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

My partner had booked a 3night stay at the grand as part of a Wotif mystery deal for my Birthday, They upgraded us from a room to a 1 bedroom apartment and when we arrived they gave me a breakfast for 2 voucher to a lovely cafe across the road because it was my birthday. The customer service definitely went above and beyond to make our stay as enjoyable as possible. The room was spacious, clean, and most of all where we were located in the hotel it was quiet (which is what i was worried about, being in a rather loud restaurant district). Great location many great restaurants and walking distance to the CBD. (Avoid Ribs and Rumps across the road from the Hotel as is overprice and terrible). Almost forgot the 24hr room service, It is well priced and quite tasty. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from Palmer St as it can be quite loud on weekends. Outside parking is free (pre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Innika_angel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carl F, General Manager at Grand Hotel and Apartments Townsville, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear Innika_Angel

Great to hear my team spoiled you on your birthday. Nothing like a little bit of serendipty to enlighten ones stay with us. We are realy focussed on service and pride ourselves on being different from the "chains" that tend to accept medocrity at the expense of service.

Look forward to welcoming you back next year for your birthday....defintely recommend dining at the Salt Cellar across the road where you can charge back to your room. The porcini dusted scallops are to die for!!!

warm regards

Carl Forrest
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012 via mobile

Small pokey rooms
Handy to have a kitchen though.
It is in the best part of Townsville with good food close by.
Really don't like the constant need to swipe your room key when you want to move. But I appreciate the security

Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank s4057102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carl F, General Manager at Grand Hotel and Apartments Townsville, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear s4057102

I always treasure feedback from our guests as it can outline any concerns they might have and opportunities to improve our offerings. I am though suprised at the description of the room size as having stayed at all the major Townsville properties we are vastly superior in size with good secuirity as you have outlined. On your next visit we have some specific rooms that offer larger balconies and views of the river. Feel free to contact me direct so I can ensure I can get you into one of these.

s4057102 thank you for your comments......Townsville is warming up nicely so we look forward to welcoming you back.

regards
Carl Forrest
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emerald, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Highly recommend, beautiful apartments, very clean, close to great restaurants. 2 bedroom apartment was great for the family. Small pool was the only set back. Kitchenette was well stocked with all the cooking utensils you may require to whip up a meal. Will stay here again on our next visit.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carl F, General Manager at Grand Hotel and Apartments Townsville, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear Katie M

Great review thank you very much and 5 stars which my team have posted on their boards. Hope you got to enjoy the sights and sounds of Palmer Street during your stay with the family, Reef HQ and Magnetic Island are great energy killers for young families.

Katie I look forward to welcoming you back to hotel soon.

regards

Carl Forrest
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

I have been staying at this property on a regular basis and it was beginning to get tired and the service was lacking :(

However, since the New Owners and Management team and Staff have taken over the hotel is having a transformation! The best thing about the property is the new staff and especially at the front desk! Nothing is too hard and all the team are very helpful!

So now one of the best places to stay in Townsville!

Room Tip: I only say this because the hotel needs a good Spring Clean which I believe is underway with a refir...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carl F, General Manager at Grand Hotel and Apartments Townsville, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear Anthony K

Wow....what a headline!! Highlights everything we strive for as a team. I find chain hotels have a tendency to accept medocrity in the service arena and I pleased to see we have changed that. My team have the simple philosophy of putting the Guest at the heart of everything we do..... we want to constantly evolve this so we continue to offer the best service levels in Townsville. Thank you for your note regarding the housekeeping team entering your room to be clean.....we have strict protocols on how we enter our rooms to let our guests know....we will be practising a bit more patience in future.

Anthony stunning review and I thank you for your comments.

regards

Carl Forrest
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubbo
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Stayed in two apartments joined together by a small common foyer. The only way to accomodate a family of 2 adults and 3 teens. Room service was good with staff helpful and friendly. Well stocked mini bar and adequate cooking and refrigeration facilities. Rooms were of a high standard and fairly roomy with balconies. Conciege service helpful when asked but not proactive. Small unassuming foyer. Pool and surrounds were small but we were the only guests using it at any given time so it was adequate. Towels were available. Small gym with mainly treadmills plus a step and rowing machine. TV on the wall. Undercover parking available. A car is necessary in order to see all the sites of Townsville from this spot. That said, the hotel is in an excellent area, close to museums, acquarium and many restaurants and pubs catering for all tastes, prices and ages. Some boutiques nearby and a short walk across the river to shops, tourist info centre and woolworths. Street markets were also on that weekend. About a 20min walk to the Strand and the ferry terminal for Magnetic Island. A very expensive hotel all up, especially due to the fact we had to book 2 rooms, but very comfortable and quiet and we enjoyed our stay. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone contemplating visiting Townsville but not if you are on a budget. For families with with more than 2 young children it would be best to check on room configurations before booking.

Room Tip: A room on the river side would be best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stardoe A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carl F, General Manager at Grand Hotel and Apartments Townsville, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear Stardoe A

Great to see you had a dreat trip up from Dubbo. My team and I sincerely appreciate the time you have taken to write your review and the great recommendation you gave the hotel.......looks like you really took in the sights and sounds with the family......Townsville has so much to offer and many attractions (or distractions as they are sometimes called) for people with families of all ages.
You are duly appointed as a wonderful ambassador for Townsville form your review.

Stardoe A......thank you and all the best in your future travels.

regards

Carl Forrest
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
237 reviews
141 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012 via mobile

good sized room. very clean and modern
clos e to lots of places to eat
small gym but everything worked
small pool with sun in the morning only.
undercover parking at a smalll cost
I would say here again

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aus_gregg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carl F, General Manager at Grand Hotel and Apartments Townsville, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Dear aus_isis

What a headline and five stars in your rating!!! Even more pleasing that is from a senior contributor who has 112 reviews....wow.....thank you. The team were very chuffed when I read your review to them as they take a genuine interest in the care of our guests.

Next time you stay with us you must try the Wagyu Hotpot on the room service menu....great homely dish to finish off a hard day.

I look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Townsville.

warm regards

Carl Forrest
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Townsville hotels
0.4 mi away
Oaks M on Palmer
Oaks M on Palmer
#4 of 41 in Townsville
4.0 of 5 stars 401 reviews
0.5 mi away
City Oasis Inn
City Oasis Inn
#6 of 41 in Townsville
4.5 of 5 stars 255 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Ville Resort-Casino
The Ville Resort-Casino
#5 of 41 in Townsville
4.0 of 5 stars 535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Oaks Gateway on Palmer
Oaks Gateway on Palmer
#10 of 41 in Townsville
4.0 of 5 stars 330 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Townsville
2.4 mi away
Mercure Townsville
Mercure Townsville
#7 of 41 in Townsville
4.0 of 5 stars 726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel and Apartments Townsville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel and Apartments Townsville

Property: Grand Hotel and Apartments Townsville
Address: 8 - 10 Palmer Street, Townsville, Queensland 4810, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Townsville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Townsville
#1 Luxury Hotel in Townsville
#2 Business Hotel in Townsville
#2 Family Hotel in Townsville
#3 Romantic Hotel in Townsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Hotel and Apartments Townsville 4.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel and Apartments Townsville offers all the facilities, services and attention that you need to make your stay with us as successful as it is enjoyable, whether it's overnight in a hotel Studio room, or extended stays in one of our self-contained apartments. Located in the heart of Townsville's popular cafe and restaurant precinct and just a short walk from the CBD, The Strand and the Marina, the Grand Hotel is an ideal base from which to explore the Barrier Reef, or as the gateway to your northern journey Join us for a taste of Townsville that you'll never forget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, ETB, Odigeo, Cancelon and Travelocity so you can book your Grand Hotel and Apartments Townsville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mercure Apartments Townsville Hotel Townsville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing