We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable, stylish and helpful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hotel and Apartments Townsville
Ranked #2 of 41 Hotels in Townsville
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Comfortable, stylish and helpful staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2012

Recently under new management the Grand Hotel (previously Grand Mecure) has undergone a facelift. I stayed in the one bedroom apartment which was spacious and recently renovated.Funishings and fittings were good quality and stylish and the kitchen was well quipped with microwave, barfridge and hot plates, a range of crockery and pots and pans were available in the cupboards.
Despite its location on Palmer Street the room was also quite and once the doors were closed you couldnt hear any exterior noise.
Rooms also have internet and wifi at a charge although this was included in the deal i managed to find on whotif ( as well as a upgrade from a studio to one bedroom apartment)
Free onsite parking is availble or you can pay an additional for secure parking.
Staff are friendly, eager to help and check in is easy and efficent, reception is staffed 24 hours a day.
A great choice for Townsville...comfortable, stylish and great staff!

Room Tip: great deals and upgrades available on the internet...shop around
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wanderingirl23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carl F, General Manager at Grand Hotel and Apartments Townsville, responded to this review, June 3, 2012
Dear wanderinggirl23,

Thank you so much for your fabulous review!!! We are very proud to have taken over this hotel from the 19th March and the opportunity to re-invent this property to be focussed on ensuring leisure and coporate guests are well cater for. We are going to add new enahancements in the next few months so we will keep you posted on these as we know you will love them.........for us it is all about the guest and creating a more personal experience.

warm regards
Carl Forrest
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    201
    180
    37
    3
    2
See reviews for
62
154
25
117
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bribie Island, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2012

Really liked it here. Staff were very welcoming and friendly. The apartment was clean and comfortable. I especially liked the heavy window drapes. We stayed right over the restaurants in Palmer Street and although it was a very bust strip, once we pulled the drapes we didn't hear a thing. It also allowed us the luxury of a sleep in as it stayed dark in the morning even though it was brilliant sunshine outside. Loved the location and the ease of walking everywhere. There are some great restaurants on your doorstep for brekky, lunch and dinner. Got to try Sugar Train... Awesome dining experience. Thanks for having us, we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carl F, General Manager at Grand Hotel and Apartments Townsville, responded to this review, June 3, 2012
HI Kimberleeya

Wow what a wonderful review you have given us. Yes you are right the hotel apartments are very well appointed with your every need and the drapes are fabulous......very rare in hotels these days. The rooms are all about Style, Comfort and a great location. You must try our other restaurants on the Palmer Street strip, Jam Corner, Salt Cellar, Outback Jacks where we all have chageback facilities for. I can guarantee you will fall more in love with Townsville Palmer Street dining.
Kimberleeya thank you also for your comments about our friendly service....this is something we pride our selves on.....it is important to create something more personal to your needs.

Keep up the reviews and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Grand Hotel Townsville!!!!

warm regards

Carl Forrest
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012 via mobile

Have stayed here before and prefer this over the Oaks on Palmer.
New management have tidied te place up.
Very courteous staff

Rooms are very clean and well equipped. Stayed in a one bed apt. Nice and spacious.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sd1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carl F, General Manager at Grand Hotel and Apartments Townsville, responded to this review, June 3, 2012
Dear SD1973

I love it when a senior contributor reviews my property as I value you opinion greatly. Thank you very much for your outstanding review.
Yes we took over the hotel on the 19th March and have made many improvements to the property to enhance the guest experience.
Your comment regarding service I have shared with the team who were delighted to hear their efforts were recognised as it is something we pride ourselves on.
You must on your next trip try one of the restaurants we have chargeback facilities. We are also introducing into the minibar in the next few weeks our company vineyard Sandalford which is an award winning Margaret River label and the local brew Townsville Bitter.

SD1973 I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel!!!!!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

We just stayed here over Easter for 4 nights as we have family in Townsville. Mercure is now known as The Grand Townsville and is no longer an Accor hotel. This is something we didn't know until we checked in and realised the wrong room had been booked.
However this was dealt with quickly and we were given the 2 Bedroom Apartment we orginally wanted where they honored the Accor rates. The reception staff were very friendly and helpful and made checking in smooth where as it could have been a lot of hassle.
We had a 2 bedroom apartment on the 2nd floor overlooking Palmer St. It was huge and very clean and the beds were extremely comfy.
The kitchen had everything in it if you wanted to cook aside from an oven but we didn't use it so it wasn't a big deal.
There is plenty of parking out the back and also underground. Just remember your room swipe card as you won't be able to get in.
The location is great and there are plenty of places to get breakfast or dinner. The hotel itself does not have a restaurant but you can charge back from the Ibis next door and 2 other restauarants.
The pool area is small but it was clean and there were plenty of pool towels to use.

The only odd thing about this hotel is the toilet flush, it is a small mirror on the wall and it takes a while to get used to!
Other than this I would def stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank convict79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carl F, General Manager at Grand Hotel and Apartments Townsville, responded to this review, June 3, 2012
Dear Convict79

I love the fact that you have stayed at a Grand Hotel in Townsville and a Grand Hotel in Vietnam!!!
Thank you so much for the great review you gave our property during your stay over Easter. It certainly sounds it was the perfect spot for the family to stay and I sure you got out and explored what Townsville has to offer from its great dining to the scenic Magnetic Island.

I am really pleased my team dealt with your reservation quickly and efficiently to ensure you stayed in the correct room for your stay.

Keep up the great reviews and I look forward to welcoming you back to the Grand Hotel Townsville soon.

Regards

Carl Forrest
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
92 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2012

Stayed at these apartments , for 3 nights mid week , Had a 1 bed apartment self contained , On 3 rd floor ,
Found them to be clean and fairly well equipped, No liquor in fridge due to new liquor laws. Easy walking distance to the ctr of town , cafes , heritage aged pubs and restaurants , round the cnr to local marina which was good for me as visting a friend on his yacht .Walking distance also to Ferry terminal to Magnetic island & the reef. Wrong time of year to visit really, very hot and humidity High.
Front desk very Helpfull ,

Room Tip: Self contained room as above could not comment on Room only
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Poddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2012

The front desk girls were fabulous, always smiling and helpful. We stayed in a 1 bedroom apartment which was clean and well appointed. The room had a nice view across the city and also had a large Balcony to take in the view. The bathroom was modern and had a deep bath. Palmer St. would also have to have the best dining in Townsville and we ate at most of the restaurants there including Salt Cellar (Excellent) Bistro 1 (OK) Jam Corner (Great breakfast, didn't try dinner) and the fish and chip shop down the road does a nice seafood basket! All in all would highlt recommend the hotel if travelling to Townsville for Work or a weekend escape!

Room Tip: Make sure you take a trip down to the Strand, a lovely park and BBQ area that runs along the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carl F, General Manager at Grand Hotel and Apartments Townsville, responded to this review, June 3, 2012
Dear Tim N

Love your review and I have shared it with the team who were most pleased. We are excited to have taken over this hotel from a chain and add a more personal aspect to our guests experience.
I am glad you dined at one of the local restaurants, Jam Corner, The Salt Cellar, Outbackjacks, Sugatrain.......we have chargeback facilities with all these venues to make your stay one of convenience. Check out our website for upcoming enhancments and packages for your future stays.
Style, Comfort and an great location!!!!!! We are all about crerating a more personal experience.

Regards

Carl Forrest
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Townsville hotels
0.1 mi away
Quest Townsville
Quest Townsville
#1 of 41 in Townsville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Townsville
0.7 mi away
The Ville Resort-Casino
The Ville Resort-Casino
#7 of 41 in Townsville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Park Regis Anchorage
Park Regis Anchorage
#4 of 41 in Townsville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
0.4 mi away
Oaks M on Palmer
Oaks M on Palmer
#9 of 41 in Townsville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
0.0 mi away
Oaks Gateway on Palmer
Oaks Gateway on Palmer
#13 of 41 in Townsville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel and Apartments Townsville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel and Apartments Townsville

Property: Grand Hotel and Apartments Townsville
Address: Grand Mercure 8 - 10 Palmer St, Townsville, Queensland 4810, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Townsville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Townsville
#2 Business Hotel in Townsville
#2 Spa Hotel in Townsville
#2 Family Hotel in Townsville
#3 Romantic Hotel in Townsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Hotel and Apartments Townsville 4.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel and Apartments Townsville offers all the facilities, services and attention that you need to make your stay with us as successful as it is enjoyable, whether it's overnight in a hotel Studio room, or extended stays in one of our self-contained apartments. Located in the heart of Townsville's popular cafe and restaurant precinct and just a short walk from the CBD, The Strand and the Marina, the Grand Hotel is an ideal base from which to explore the Barrier Reef, or as the gateway to your northern journey Join us for a taste of Townsville that you'll never forget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel and Apartments Townsville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mercure Apartments Townsville Hotel Townsville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing