We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic view from restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ridgemont Executive Motel and Restaurant
Ranked #28 of 41 Hotels in Townsville
Reviewed December 9, 2013

The Ridgemont must have one of the best panoramic views in Townsville of this part of the coast from its restaurant. My wife and I could have spent much more time here during our 3 night stay. The room we had was large and the bathroom adequate.

We had breakfast each morning which was excellent but the first night there we had an evening meal which was truly awful. There was little choice, so I ended up having chicken satay with boiled rice - unfortunately the chicken hadn't been near any peanuts, there was no sauce and the rice appeared to have been microwaved it was so dry and almost inedible. My wife had lasagne, which was marginally better but no more so than a supermarket microwaved meal.

That meal aside, our stay was very pleasurable, special mention of the pool and spa a necessity, and the owners, who are new and still finding their feet, were helpful and accommodating. I wish them every success in their new venture.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (97)
There are newer reviews for Ridgemont Executive Motel and Restaurant
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

62 - 68 of 97 reviews

Reviewed November 16, 2013

Seeking something simple but beautiful, my friend and i discovered ridgemont executive. Peter was more than happy to accomodate all our needs upon arrival and suggested some great restaurants. He and mary generously allowed us to checkout after 10am and enjoyed a chit chat with us by the pool. Friendliest owners who go the step further to satisfy ur needs.
15min walk to the strand, beeeauutiful views, spacious rooms, and our fav part was enjoying a dip in the pool which features a spa. Definately look forward to returning in the near future!
The only negatives were one less bath towel which was not a huge issue and as we like our coffee, a couple more sachets would have been preferable. However! the entire stay was too short. We shall visit again soon. Thanks pete n mary for makin our weekend very relaxing and enjoyable :)

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bun_bun86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013

It was a great stay. We were greeted with a smile and made to feel very welcome, the Restaurant had a homely feel with a simple menu, tasty food and good wine and drink list. Excellent views from the restaurant and upstairs rooms.We thoroughly enjoyed the pool and leisure area. Would certainly recommend this property. Bryan & Leigh.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bryan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

We were moving on after a very disappointing stay in Rockhampton and needed a two night stay. On our arrival we were made to feel not only welcome but important, a return to the feeling of being a valued customer even though this was our first stay there. The management were relatively new but they could not of been more helpful nothing was too much trouble for them. The room was clean and well prepared and we had been advised by the manager that ordering breakfast would not be good value for us as we only have coffee and toast. There was a toaster in the room and we have taken to purchasing bread and making our own breakfast on our travels up the Queensland coast.
We had an evening meal on the second night and although it was unplanned and outside of the normal serving time it was made and served promptly. There was plenty of coffee, tea and milk for our two night stay and if we needed any more we felt confident that it would of been provided if we had asked.
The town it's self is very hilly and not suitable for people with mobility problems however the motel can offer ground floor rooms or second floor with access from the reception area / level.
We would recommend this motel to anyone travel or staying in Townsville and if ever we return to the area ourselves we would make a point of booking to stay there.

Room Tip: The rooms on the second floor provide a wonderful view of the ocean, if you have mobility problems y...
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank holiday-view23-7-11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

After staying in a number of hotels previously, I found that the Ridgemont Executive Motel and Restaurant was indeed good value for the accommodation and parking provided. The motel staff were great and the cleanliness was to standard, very happy and will stay there again next time I'm in Townsville.

cheers

Room Tip: all of the basic rooms can sleep 3 comfortably (2 beds 1 double & 1 single)
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anonymoussbntynhtyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Jenny and Tim are very good hosts and very knowledgeable of the area.
Great apartment with lovely views over the sea.

Room was large and well designed though kitchen area was quite small but sufficient.

Internet doesn't work in bedroom but satisfactory in the reception/dining area.

Meals are available or you can do self catering.

Would certainly recommend here and would stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rivercross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

This motel is up the hill from the old city in Townsville. It is located under the shadow of the City's high point, Castle Hill. For those feeling energetic it is within walking distance of the Strand (esplanade) and the marina. It will be quite a hike on the way back though. A restaurant service is available.

The Rooms - The rooms are spacious and well laid out. A table and chairs is provided both within the room and outside on the balcony. Everything worked well.

The En-suite - on the small side but perfectly adequate.

The kitchen - again on the small side but adequate.

AC Unit - very efficient.

Internet - Unfortunately this is not a strong point. There is free Wi-Fi available but the signal is not strong enough to extend to the bedrooms.

Car-Parking - adequate.

Misc. - a small pool and outdoor BBQ area is available.

Finally, on balance I would stay again and have therefore no hesitation in recommending it.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CDinNI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Townsville hotels
0.4 mi away
Madison Plaza Townsville
Madison Plaza Townsville
#12 of 41 in Townsville
572 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Robert Towns
Comfort Inn Robert Towns
#23 of 41 in Townsville
89 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Allen
Hotel Allen
#39 of 41 in Townsville
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
City Oasis Inn
City Oasis Inn
#7 of 41 in Townsville
310 reviews
0.1 mi away
Summit Motel
Summit Motel
#17 of 41 in Townsville
93 reviews
3.2 mi away
Cascade Motel In Townsville
Cascade Motel In Townsville
#6 of 41 in Townsville
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ridgemont Executive Motel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ridgemont Executive Motel and Restaurant

Address: 15 - 19 Victoria St, Townsville, Queensland 4810, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Townsville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 41 Hotels in Townsville
Price Range: $62 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ridgemont Executive Motel and Restaurant 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ridgemont is a quiet, comfortable motel with stunning views across the ocean and Magnetic Island. Only minutes walk to the beautiful beach and the city, we offer a quiet haven to relax and enjoy your stay! The alfresco restaurant is great for breakfast or dinner, and the service is very personal and friendly. Come and stay next time you are in Townsville - you won't be disappointed! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ridgemont Executive Motel and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing