We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice view. Great location.Bus stop right outside”
Review of The Penthouses

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Penthouses
Reviewed May 7, 2013

I just came back from my trip of 1-6may 2013. Stayed at the penthouses... Rooms were large. The master bedroom and living room had a balcony.And the view was awesome! Toilets were clean

.but the masterbedroom was a bit dusty.. n we found some ice cream n rotten food in the kitchen area.so we threw it away. Lots of spider webs. N there were 2 of the days i found a baby spider on my pillow and a bed bug on my bed.lucky i saw it n disposed it. im quite sentitive to dust so some rashes appeared.Other than that it was fine.

There are no cleaning ladies to change ur bedsheets or clean up the apartment.so expect to use the same sheets for the whole week. The rooms was already cool and we didnt even have to on the fans. Dishwashing liquids n sponge, kitchen utensils are all provided..The water heater was great for hot showers.
Beach is right out front..

I was glad i took the unlimited bus pass for 95aud..as i feel that walking to surfers is quite a distance, especially for those who cant walk much...
At night it was really cold. So bring those extra socks

The frontdesk lady is not around early in the morning and at night.they will give u a passcode to key in to enter...

As i checked out early as 5.30am in the morning, the keys are to be put in the safe at the frontdesk area.as nobody is around. So i suggest that u pay the balance upon checking in as there will no one at the frontdesk if u have to check out as early as i did.

Overall the stay was great and i enjoyed myself. But i will try out another hotel or apartment the next time. Thank u the penthouses... and thanks to marissa who has been helpful in all of our enquiries.

Stayed: May 2013
Thank angelicfury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (63)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 63 reviews

Reviewed May 7, 2013

The manager Marisa is wonderful, so helpful and friendly! The apartment was huge. We stayed 9 nights in a 3 bedroom apartment which was big and spacious. Perfect for families with kids gives you a break from been in each others face. Will be staying here again for sure!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Missy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We stayed 6 nights in this location and we booked a 2 room apartment but was given a 3 bedroom apartment. BIg and spacious and ideal when travelling with family. We love the sea facing of this unit and most importantly, easy access to the beach. the apartment also provide free parking and all other facilities such as cooking appliances, washing machine, dryers etc.The staff are very helpful too.It is just 5 mins drive to Cavill Avenue where most restaurants are and we enjoyed a morning slow walk along the beaches to the surfer paradise center from from the apartment too.

Room Tip: I stayed on the 4th floor and the Balcony view is a little blocked by a tree..if can get higher leve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SGSkyes23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Located about 1 km to the south of Cavill Avenue this high rise has absolute frontage to the beach.
We stayed on the 5th Floor in a 3 bedroom/2 bathroom apartment.
We enjoyed the stay
It's not the Marriott but it is about 10 times the size of a Marriott hotel room ( which we have stayed at and also enjoyed) and we had a front balcony overlooking the beach and down to Coolangatta plus a rear balcony looking to the west.
The apartment was huge and all the living areas are tiled.
We stayed with our married daughter and their daughter and it was ideal.
About 3.5 star quality but for what you pay the value is great and the standard was fine for us.
The building is a little tired in places but you only get what you pay for and we were more than satisfied with what we got.
It suited us not to be right in the heart of Surfers and we liked the direct access to the beach.
We would/will go back again and the Manager,Marisa is a very happy obliging person.
Overall we thought it was value for money as the apartment would have slept 8 people ( = approx $ 25 per person per night !!!!).
If you want 5 stars then don't stay here but then again 5 stars would cost twice as much. You decide what' important for you.

Room Tip: If you go in the winter ask for a north facing room. Ring Marisa and ask her for her suggestions.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chris1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012

Arrived at our accomodation, expecting only the basics for the low price we had paid, however from the start we were blown away! Huge thanks to all staff who were friendly as well as effcient. The apartment was extremely spacious and well laid out, comfortable beds, 3 balconys, all with excellent views, as well as austar which we didnt even have time to turn on the whole week because of all there was too do! The pool, table tennis table and the beach just right at your doorstep was incredible. Would definately reccommend The Penthouses to groups of friends travelling up to surfers, (only a short way from shopping and nightclubs!) we had a week we will never forget! Thanks again guys, will definately stay again!!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

What a location!!!!! So cheap too! 3 bedroom apartment was huge - right on the beach - comfy beds! Great pool and amenities! The staff couldn't be more helpful! Travelling with 3 kids couldn't have been made more fun! Buses take you from right out the front to wherever you want to go! We are so going back! Loved it!!!!!!!!!!

Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
Thank Meeka W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

We stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment with a beach view - Wow, what a wonderful room, spectacular views all round and a good size balcony. My husband and I and our 15 month old baby were on holiday with two friends so suitable accommodation for two different agendas was high on the priority list - the penthouses were ideal! The large kitchen/living/dining area meant we were not under each others feet and plenty of room for our daughter to play without getting in the way. The apartments themselves are perfectly situated in between Surfers Paradise (central) and Broadbeach with the bus stop to both centres immediately out the front of the hotel - although on most occassions we chose to walk, which took us approx. 15-20mins. The managment were very friendly and helpful - giving us great advice on activities for small children and great restaurant venues. Its not often you get hotel staff that go the extra mile but these guys certainly did - thank you. To sum up I would definately recommend this place to friends and family and will be heading back there again soon ourselves.

Room Tip: We found our corner suite to be perfect in terms of views and sunshine all day!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucja01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.9 mi away
Peppers Soul
Peppers Soul
#1 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,311 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel
#13 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
3,325 reviews
1.0 mi away
Mantra Circle on Cavill
Mantra Circle on Cavill
#6 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
3,378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
#7 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
1,669 reviews
0.6 mi away
Q1 Resort and Spa
Q1 Resort and Spa
#4 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,630 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Breakers
The Breakers
#9 of 124 in Surfers Paradise
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Penthouses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Penthouses

Address: 20 Old Burleigh Rd, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 124 Specialty Lodging in Surfers Paradise
Price Range: $157 - $494 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Penthouses 3.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Penthouses reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Penthouses Gold Coast/Surfers Paradise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing