We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cleanest hostel in Australia”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Aquarius Backpackers
Reviewed July 8, 2014 via mobile

I stayed for the Gold Coast Marathon weekend because of the location, which was perfect!

Stayed in a shared dorm which was clean and comfortable. Bathroom and kitchen was super clean.

The highlight for me was that the staff member Nathan opened the kitchen early at 5am, for us guys in the marathon. It was really appreciated. We were even given a late check out for free.

Will definitely stay next year, if not before.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank Pedricob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nateaquarius, Manager at Aquarius Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2014

That is great!! Thanks for leaving us an amazing review! We love hearing guest feedback. It is a very very busy weekend here for the Gold Coast Marathon and we are a popular hostel as we are only 500m from the starting line. We understand how important it is to have breakfast (as it is the most important meal of the day) before you are about to run a 42km marathon. :)
I will make sure Nathan see this review as these personal touches makes the staff love what they do for a living! Especially when they see feedback like this.Look forward to having you back next year or even before then! safe travels and happy running!! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (254)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

133 - 139 of 254 reviews

Reviewed July 7, 2014

The stay over here was great ! I reached 12am+ to check in and the staff still woke up with a smile on his face to check me in. Everything is good, enough place to hang around. Room and toilet are clean enough. The downside is the WIFI is not reachable to my room and it's a little bit noisy at night, probably from the neighbor.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NathanWee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nateaquarius, Manager at Aquarius Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2014

Hi Nathan - Thanks for taking the time and leaving us a review. We do try hard to go above and beyond customer expectation here at Aquarius backpackers. I will make sure the staff member sees your praise about the late check in and the smile on there face. In regards to the unlimited WIFI - we only have it down stairs in the common rooms as we don't want people to just sit in there room and play on the devices and day and night - we want people to mingle and get to know each other. The Wifi would have been a little slower as the hostel was fully booked with Gold Coast Marathon. Once again thanks again for taking the time to leave us a review as we love to hear your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights with a friend and really enjoyed it! Met some really nice people and the staff were great!! The hostel itself is just what you want, very clean and lots of space. There's so much to do there and the hostel provides a free shuttle bus. Would definitely stay here again!
Have to say a huge thank you to Adam who helped make our stay just what we wanted, so helpful and couldn't do enough for us!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LyndseyABarker95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nateaquarius, Manager at Aquarius Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2014

Hi guys! We are glad you enjoyed you stay here at Aquarius Backpackers. We are a small boutique hostel that strives on customer service and the cleanness of the hostel. I will make sure Adam sees this review as it is the staff that really make Aquarius what it is today! Free shuttle bus runs 7 times a day from the hostel to the center of surfers paradise which is handy. The 7 night party schedule is a great way for your self the traveller to meet other travellers through out the hostel! The nights range from Pizza night to board game night, FREE BBQ and the backpackers big night out club crawl!! Safe travels and we hope to see you back on the Gold Coast again one day! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2014

Very easy booking and check-in process, friendly staff, small but clean rooms. The bar was quiet the night I was there, but still seemed like it could be more lively on busier weekends when half the residents weren't going to be up early to run in one of the GC Marathon events! Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Steve_M_88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nateaquarius, Manager at Aquarius Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2014

We like to make things easy here at Aquarius - We have nighty activities every night- eg Pizza nights, Backpackers big night out and BBQ nights but you are right with the GC marathon on it was a early start for a LOT of our guest. We only have 4 and 6 bed dorms here at Aquarius. Being a small boutique hostel we are able to offer the personal service. Thanks for taking the time and leaving us a review and look forward to seeing you again next year!! Happy Running :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2014

Great location and clean pleasant room. Surprised to have heating in which was nice as it can get chilly at night. The staff at the desk were very helpful and friendly. Would stay again. Location is close to public transport to the other beaches and attractions.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Oliver C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nateaquarius, Manager at Aquarius Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2014

Hi there, Glad you enjoyed your stay with us! Yeah it is a little chilly at the moment! - We also have extra blankets at reception if you needed them too. Thanks for the positive feedback about staff!! We do try hard to go above an beyond what is expected! Love to have you back any time! Safe Travels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2014

Had a fantastic time! staff are friendly and helpful, especially nathan! The location was primo with the exception its a bit far out from surfers paradise.. but only a few minute walk to local eateries, bars, shopping plaza, walkway etc.The facilities were great. Free wireless was a huge bonus, and Jack Spot (the bar) was an epic time every night, especially with the nightly activities happening :)

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jessie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nateaquarius, Manager at Aquarius Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2014

Hi Jessica, Thanks for taking the time and leaving us a review! I will pass that message on to Nate. The staff really love the feedback!! We are glad you enjoyed our free UNLIMITED wifi! The activities every night in the hostel create a great atmosphere which gets guest talking and getting to know each other! We love to have you back any time! Thanks again and safe travels!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2014 via mobile

I really liked this hostel, the rooms were clean and welcoming with comfortable beds. All the crew working there were friendly and made you feel welcome as soon as you walked in. The atmosphere was so chilled and laid back, a nice change from the hostels in the city. The location is a bit far out from surfers main town but a free shuttle service can get you there and back throughout the day. Definitely one of the best hostels so far on my trip and I'd recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ste314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nateaquarius, Manager at Aquarius Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2014

Thanks for taking the time and leaving us a review! We love to see the feedback! We are glad you loved your stay here with us!! The staff all love there job! The shuttle services run 6 times a day! But i NOW can confirm that the Trams will be running from the 20th of July 2014. They will be every 7 mins during the day and every 15 mins during the night. With the tram stop out the front of the hostel this will make going out in the town a whole love easier!!! We hope to see you back on the beautiful GC some day soon!! Safe Travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Surfers Paradise
2.2 mi away
Backpackers In Paradise
Backpackers In Paradise
#16 of 124 in Surfers Paradise
487 reviews
1.7 mi away
Budds in Surfers
Budds in Surfers
#110 of 124 in Surfers Paradise
356 reviews
3.1 mi away
Surfers Paradise Backpackers Resort
Surfers Paradise Backpackers Res...
#39 of 124 in Surfers Paradise
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Bunk Surfers Paradise
Bunk Surfers Paradise
#67 of 364 in Gold Coast
59 reviews
2.2 mi away
Down Under Hostels Surfers Paradise
Down Under Hostels Surfers Parad...
#74 of 124 in Surfers Paradise
109 reviews
0.7 mi away
Surfers Paradise YHA at Main Beach
Surfers Paradise YHA at Main Bea...
#86 of 124 in Surfers Paradise
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aquarius Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aquarius Backpackers

Address: 44 Queen St, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4215, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 124 Specialty Lodging in Surfers Paradise
Price Range: $25 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Aquarius Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surf, sand, nature, adventure, shopping, nightlife, theme parks, FUN... it's here and waiting for you!Aquarius Backpackers is a BaseMates hostel located in Southport Surfers Paradise is a lovely boutique hostel that caters for all those who share a love of travel. Situated on the famous Gold Coast, we offer a very friendly home away from home experience. Here you will find clean, modern, safe and friendly accommodation. We are closely situated to all your needs - shopping centres - banks - post offices - pubs, and above all, our world-famous beaches and lush green Hinterland.We offer dormitory style accommodation with either 4 or 6 share as well as private queens and twins. We also cater for all female & male rooms. With a fully equipped kitchen, you’ll be cooking up a feast in no time. Why not take a dip in our beautiful outdoor pool and spa or sit back in our big comfy leather couches, relax & watch a DVD from our 500+ library. Rates also include linen & FREE wireless internet. Join the crew and meet people from all around the world! Have a drink and a boogie at our licensed bar - Jacks Spot. It’s open seven days/nightly from 7am – midnight. Check out our fantastic hostel today and see for yourself what your missing out on! Recommended by Lonely Planet!“ In an area where backpackers are a dime a dozen there’s always the danger that budget accommodation just won’t make an effort. Not so for this colourful Hostel where cleanliness is as important as having a good time - and that’s considered very important”. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Aquarius Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aquarius Backpackers Gold Coast/Surfers Paradise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing