We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad location - ok place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Aquarius Backpackers
Reviewed January 9, 2014 via mobile

Checked in on the recommendation of travel agent but well out of the way of anything to see in surfers paradise on foot. Bathroom, kitchen very tidy and clean. Rooms basic as are communal areas. Over charged and price changed on managers mood it seems, be careful when staying here!

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Style18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nateaquarius, General Manager at Aquarius Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2014

HI,
We are struggling to understand your review. You and your friend who also wrote a review on the same day booked your accommodation with an agent in Byron Bay. The rates the agent gave you were not our rates and your voucher was not valid, which you are now blaming us for. At no stage were you quoted any other rate from us except for the rate you were told by management over the phone and in-fact the same rate you paid directly to us. So saying ripped off is not correct. You and your friend were accommodated and upgraded which was not our responsibility to do so. In hindsight we should have told you to go back to your agent and let you sort out your issues. Unfortunately for us this is not our policy as we try an accommodate all guests as much as possible. The FREE shuttle to Surfers Paradise goes from 9am to 6pm daily. Our location is the CBD of the Gold Coast and has all the facilities a traveler would require. Thanks Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (257)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

166 - 172 of 257 reviews

Reviewed January 9, 2014

This hostel overall is very nice, the facilities are above average compared to other hostels we have stayed in and kitchen and bathroom is very new.
The main problem is the location...DO NOT stay here if you want to be in surfers paradise!! It is actually in southport! There are shuttles but they are limited and stop at 6pm!
Also be careful of room pricing...we have been ripped off, first of all being told $27 a night and then being charged $40!? Website says $35 for a dorm and when we questioned this we were told that prices vary by the hour??

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelly2112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nateaquarius, General Manager at Aquarius Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2014

HI,
We are struggling to understand your review. You and your friend who also wrote a review on the same day booked your accommodation with an agent in Byron Bay. The rates the agent gave you were not our rates and your voucher was not valid, which you are now blaming us for. At no stage were you quoted any other rate from us except for the rate you were told by management over the phone and in-fact the same rate you paid directly to us. So saying ripped off is not correct. You and your friend were accommodated and upgraded which was not our responsibility to do so. In hindsight we should have told you to go back to your agent and let you sort out your issues. Unfortunately for us this is not our policy as we try an accommodate all guests as much as possible. Thanks Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2013 via mobile

I stayed for 5 nights at aquarius. I had a realy good time here. The centre of Surfers Paradise is a little bit far, but with the free shuttle bus from the hostel wasn't that a problem. A 2 minute walk to a big shopping centre. The hostel is very clean and you have a lot of space. Nice rooms, kitchen and bathrooms. The staff is very friendly!!! Just a nice place to stay when you want to see Gold coast!

Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
Thank Jeanine v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nateaquarius, General Manager at Aquarius Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2014

Dear Jeanine,
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We enjoyed your company with us and wish you a fantastic stay in Australia.
Thanks Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2013

Hi,
I recently (25.11.13) booked a room here for my 4 nights stay during the coming Christmas break in 2013. Unfortunately I have not noticed that they put a sign "no key handover during xmas day". I booked it from 25th to 28th. Then they ring me up and said they cannot hand me the key on 25th. I apologize and asked them if there is any way to hand over the key on 25th. But they said they cant do it, also they will not refund me for 25th. They want me to pay for an additional day so they can ask one of their stuff to hand me the key on 25th.
Since I am going with my family and friends, they are staying in nearby earl court motor inn (0.7km distance from Aquarius) and I requested them to give the key to that place if possible. They said they can't do anything unless I pay the additional day charge. Quite upset with the way they behave and I think they can easily make some other arrangements since I am travelling from Canberra and I don't know anyone there. The lady is arguing that management won't allow it while she is saying that only 1 stuff works there for 365 days, quite surprising. I personally not going to go there in future. Have no idea about the rooms yet as I shall be there in the coming month.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Service
2  Thank rizaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nateaquarius, General Manager at Aquarius Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2014

HI,
Your account of this situation is not correct and we went above our guidelines to accommodate you even though you acknowledged you had read the conditions of the hostel not accepting checkins or check outs Christmas Day. We are sorry you felt you had to write this review when the mistake was clearing yours.
thanks
Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Stayed in Aquarius with two of my friends whilst working on the Gold Coast. It was the most enjoyable experience of Australia so far. It's not easy to put up with 3 Irish lads but the staff and manager coped so well with us. Aquarius is like my home away from home. The people are so friendly. Bottom line Aquarius is my family whilst being away from home. Would definitely recommend this hostel to anyone visiting the Gold Coast looking for somewhere to stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darrenm1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Backpackinggoldcoast, General Manager at Aquarius Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2013

Hello our Irishes. We enjoyed looking after you and all your unique quirks. We surely missed you when you left to go onto your next adventure. We hope to see you again in the future. Take care Much Love and Hugs. The Team At Aquarius.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Aquarius was one of my first hostels on the Gold Coast! A definite step up the mark from Backpackers resort in surfers where I found cockroaches in my bed! The staff are super friendly and helpful and the overall atmosphere of the hostel is friendly and fun! The rooms are clean and comfortable to sleep in! The bar is always a good place to start your night out and the staff are always available to help out with tour bookings etc. The kitchen and bathrooms have just been refurbished so are probably the cleanest I've seen in any backpackers. Overall I really enjoyed my stay in Aquarius would definitely recommend it to everyone as one of the best places to stay on the Gold Coast!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kam224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Backpackinggoldcoast, General Manager at Aquarius Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2013

Hi. Thank you for taking the time to write your review. When we receive these comments it shows the staff that the effort they put into the guests pays off and feels good. We have printed your review and placed it in a position the staff see daily. Thank you and we wish you every success for your future. Thanks Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013

kitchen was 'under construction'... the location was not good, no parking available, internet didn't work, couldn't bring your own alcohol, had to purchase from the 'bar' on property (a small fenced off section out front of the hostel with a few pool tables and a tiny 'tiki-style' bar. overall just a below average experience. i've stayed in many hostels/backpackers throughout Oz and NZ and this one sticks out as my LEAST favorite for sure. just had no character and was disappointing, do yourself a favor and stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelerNick11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Backpackinggoldcoast, General Manager at Aquarius Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

Hi Nick, Thanks for taking the time to write a review. Your account of the hostel and its facilities is not accurate. We have over 9 car spaces that the guests can park in and as it is a very large space not sure why you did not use it. Yes we are a licensed premise and we do not allow external alcohol to be brought onto the premise and this is on our website. So if you wanted to consume your own alcohol you should have stayed in an unlicensed premise. Yes the kitchen was under construction but we established a kitchen for the guests and all facilities and equipment was there ready for use of the guests as we understand our guests like to cook to save money. The WIFI requires a code which you were advised to get from reception and the information on our WIFI service was given to you upon checkin. Without a code from reception the WIFI will not connect. We don't understand why you need to make false claims as you spent your whole time intoxicated and rude towards the guests and staff. Hence we did not extend your stay as per your request and this is why you feel you need to write this review. We hope you enjoy your travels in Australia. Thanks Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Surfers Paradise
2.2 mi away
Backpackers In Paradise
Backpackers In Paradise
#17 of 123 in Surfers Paradise
511 reviews
1.7 mi away
Budds in Surfers
Budds in Surfers
#106 of 123 in Surfers Paradise
365 reviews
3.1 mi away
Surfers Paradise Backpackers Resort
Surfers Paradise Backpackers Res...
#35 of 123 in Surfers Paradise
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Down Under Hostels Surfers Paradise
Down Under Hostels Surfers Parad...
#67 of 123 in Surfers Paradise
111 reviews
1.6 mi away
Surf N Sun Beachside Backpackers
Surf N Sun Beachside Backpackers
#63 of 123 in Surfers Paradise
253 reviews
2.2 mi away
Bunk Surfers Paradise
Bunk Surfers Paradise
#55 of 368 in Gold Coast
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aquarius Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aquarius Backpackers

Address: 44 Queen St, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4215, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 123 Specialty Lodging in Surfers Paradise
Price Range: $50 - $320 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Aquarius Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surf, sand, nature, adventure, shopping, nightlife, theme parks, FUN... it's here and waiting for you!Aquarius Backpackers is a BaseMates hostel located in Southport Surfers Paradise is a lovely boutique hostel that caters for all those who share a love of travel. Situated on the famous Gold Coast, we offer a very friendly home away from home experience. Here you will find clean, modern, safe and friendly accommodation. We are closely situated to all your needs - shopping centres - banks - post offices - pubs, and above all, our world-famous beaches and lush green Hinterland.We offer dormitory style accommodation with either 4 or 6 share as well as private queens and twins. We also cater for all female & male rooms. With a fully equipped kitchen, you’ll be cooking up a feast in no time. Why not take a dip in our beautiful outdoor pool and spa or sit back in our big comfy leather couches, relax & watch a DVD from our 500+ library. Rates also include linen & FREE wireless internet. Join the crew and meet people from all around the world! Have a drink and a boogie at our licensed bar - Jacks Spot. It’s open seven days/nightly from 7am – midnight. Check out our fantastic hostel today and see for yourself what your missing out on! Recommended by Lonely Planet!“ In an area where backpackers are a dime a dozen there’s always the danger that budget accommodation just won’t make an effort. Not so for this colourful Hostel where cleanliness is as important as having a good time - and that’s considered very important”. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, HostelWorld, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Aquarius Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aquarius Backpackers Gold Coast/Surfers Paradise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing