We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap fun stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Aquarius Backpackers
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Nice and tidy with good staff. clean, spacey rooms.
I stayed here for 4 nights and had a great time.
The bar closes down at midnight so you can get a good sleep. My room was inbetween the road and the bar and it was a little noisy but it soon quiets down.
Quick walk to Australia Fair shopping mall and there is many places to eat within walking distance.
Nice pool, every thing is clean .
The only problem is parking, not many spaces at all.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Young_and_Free_85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Backpackinggoldcoast, General Manager at Aquarius Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

Hi, Thanks for taking the time to write a review. We as management and staff love hearing our guests have enjoyed their stay. We have 9 car spaces for the guests and as we are the only hostel on the Gold Coast with a car park it does get really full. We wish a fantastic travel through Australia and hope to see you again soon. Thanks Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (257)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

188 - 194 of 257 reviews

Reviewed March 13, 2013

amazing people, amazing staff, wonderful stay :) me and my best friend enjoyed the stay here with pick up and drop off services from the city. had an awesome pool lounge and bar to purchase alcohol from, was a great 18 plus accomodation with some really cool club parties planned. would reccomend staying here! so many awesome people to relate too and such a warm invitation. loved it!!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amber W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Backpackinggoldcoast, General Manager at Aquarius Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

Dear Amber, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We love hearing our guests had a great time and enjoyed their stay with us. The staff and management get a real kick out of making sure our guests are happy. We wish you all the success in life and hope to see you again soon. Thanks Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Stayed here for 5 nights, wonderful people and great atmosphere. Everything was clean, staff were very friendly and helpful, great price and the rules are very reasonable and fair.

As soon as we got there we made friends with all the staff and guests, had some great nights at the bar and some great nights on the town. By the end of our stay we didn't want to leave. I personally would live here for the rest of my life.

Had the most memorable time thanks to Aquarius ! We love you all. And thanks for the best week of my life! Xo

Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Tiesha C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Backpackinggoldcoast, General Manager at Aquarius Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

Dear Tiesha, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. If you would like to live here for the rest of your life then you could be the manager!!! Then the management could take a much needed holiday. LOL We wish you all the success in life and hope to be able to share more experiences with you and your friends in the future. Take care and see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

I stayed at this backpackers for a weekend and they were excellent! The staff there were friendly, helpful and accomodated my every need. Really great place and I would definately recommend this backpackers to everyone! I would definately go there again :)

Room Tip: Choose a lower floor as there will be less stairs to walk ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Backpackinggoldcoast, General Manager at Aquarius Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

Dear Anna, Thank you so much for writing a review on Aquarius. Is great to know we are meeting the needs of travellers. We wish you a fantastic travel and great experiences. Hope to see you again one day. Take Care. Thanks Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at Aquarius for significantly longer than originally planned because I was enjoying it so much. The staff and long term guests that were there at the same time as me are now amongst my best friends and the management were hands on, friendly and contributed hugely to the fun and homely feel of the hostel! I have noticed some negative reviews further down this page which I simply do not understand, the bathrooms, kitchen and dorms rooms were constantly being cleaned and upkept by the staff, the bar was friendly, fun and cheap and the range of activities available from reception was endless! The pool was without doubt the largest I had seen in a hostel in Australia and the barbeque area was free to use any time, though if you wait around until Friday nights the staff will cook for you! All of this is topped off by the staff and management who without doubt make this hostel the place that it is! Dennis, Drummer, Ruth, Brent and Jo are always around and happy to help! And Keri is always around and happy to entertain! My only complaint was that I couldn't stay longer! Happy Australia Day Aquarius!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kerry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Backpackinggoldcoast, General Manager at Aquarius Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

Dear Kerry,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It is difficult for management to know everything and see everything and by you given us a review can assist us in thanking the staff for the great service they provide and make sure our facilities are meeting the requirements of travellers. We wish you every success in life and enjoy the rest of your travels. Thanks Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

We booked here because we were told it was in Surfers Paradise, however when we got picked up from the Greyhound (they will pick you up at certain times if you let them know in advance), it was a 20 minute drive away to a place called South Port. Not sure how they can say it is Surfers Paradise when it is this far away. The hostel itself was fine. The staff were ok with me but I noticed them being quite rude to other guests. As far as hostels go on the East coast it was ok for a short stay. No air conditioning, just a very loud fan in the corner of the rooms.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveller-x31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Backpackinggoldcoast, General Manager at Aquarius Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

Hi, Sorry I can't respond as you directly as you have remained anonymous so it is difficult for me to be able to ascertain what staff you are referring to. We are a 3 minute drive to Surfers Paradise. The hostel is centrally located to all shops, schools, bus stops, attractions, tours and night life. The bus service is a FREE courtesy shuttle. We wish you a great balance of your travel. Thanks Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Just avoid, save your money! Dirty, smelly, and dingy. Not expecting a 5 star hotel but just because its a backpackers doesn't mean they can skip on cleanliness or customer service. There's a RUDE Dutch man that's not quite with it that works there that is clearly not in the right career for himself and the rest of the staff are sour faced and unwelcoming. The bedding was SOILED! Quite expensive for what it is....

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emily W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Backpackinggoldcoast, Manager at Aquarius Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2013

Dear Emily West and Ross Cullen,
Thank you for your comments whilst I understand you were not happy with us removing illegal alcohol from your room, which you were given back upon check out. As you have stayed with us before you were aware of our rules of no alcohol to be brought onto the premise. The hostel is not dirty, smelly or dingy as we have the only building on the Gold Coast who has as a daily maintainance program to maintain the building to a high standard which meets and exceeds all regulations. Not sure why you would stay with us twice if you really felt the hostel was not what you expected re quality and price. The mess that you are referring to that the staff being the Dutchman had to clean up was infact the mess you had left in the hallway of which you had left your food scraps and also broke bottles of alcohol which could have endangered the well being of other guests.
We wish you the best for your future travels. Thanks Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Surfers Paradise
2.2 mi away
Backpackers In Paradise
Backpackers In Paradise
#17 of 123 in Surfers Paradise
512 reviews
1.7 mi away
Budds in Surfers
Budds in Surfers
#106 of 123 in Surfers Paradise
365 reviews
3.1 mi away
Surfers Paradise Backpackers Resort
Surfers Paradise Backpackers Res...
#35 of 123 in Surfers Paradise
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Down Under Hostels Surfers Paradise
Down Under Hostels Surfers Parad...
#67 of 123 in Surfers Paradise
111 reviews
1.6 mi away
Surf N Sun Beachside Backpackers
Surf N Sun Beachside Backpackers
#64 of 123 in Surfers Paradise
253 reviews
2.2 mi away
Bunk Surfers Paradise
Bunk Surfers Paradise
#55 of 369 in Gold Coast
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aquarius Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aquarius Backpackers

Address: 44 Queen St, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4215, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 123 Specialty Lodging in Surfers Paradise
Price Range: $49 - $330 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Aquarius Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surf, sand, nature, adventure, shopping, nightlife, theme parks, FUN... it's here and waiting for you!Aquarius Backpackers is a BaseMates hostel located in Southport Surfers Paradise is a lovely boutique hostel that caters for all those who share a love of travel. Situated on the famous Gold Coast, we offer a very friendly home away from home experience. Here you will find clean, modern, safe and friendly accommodation. We are closely situated to all your needs - shopping centres - banks - post offices - pubs, and above all, our world-famous beaches and lush green Hinterland.We offer dormitory style accommodation with either 4 or 6 share as well as private queens and twins. We also cater for all female & male rooms. With a fully equipped kitchen, you’ll be cooking up a feast in no time. Why not take a dip in our beautiful outdoor pool and spa or sit back in our big comfy leather couches, relax & watch a DVD from our 500+ library. Rates also include linen & FREE wireless internet. Join the crew and meet people from all around the world! Have a drink and a boogie at our licensed bar - Jacks Spot. It’s open seven days/nightly from 7am – midnight. Check out our fantastic hostel today and see for yourself what your missing out on! Recommended by Lonely Planet!“ In an area where backpackers are a dime a dozen there’s always the danger that budget accommodation just won’t make an effort. Not so for this colourful Hostel where cleanliness is as important as having a good time - and that’s considered very important”. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, HostelWorld, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Aquarius Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aquarius Backpackers Gold Coast/Surfers Paradise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing