We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AVOID.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Aquarius Backpackers
Perth, Australia
1 review
“AVOID.”
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Just avoid, save your money! Dirty, smelly, and dingy. Not expecting a 5 star hotel but just because its a backpackers doesn't mean they can skip on cleanliness or customer service. There's a RUDE Dutch man that's not quite with it that works there that is clearly not in the right career for himself and the rest of the staff are sour faced and unwelcoming. The bedding was SOILED! Quite expensive for what it is....

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Backpackinggoldcoast, Manager at Aquarius Backpackers, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear Emily West and Ross Cullen,
Thank you for your comments whilst I understand you were not happy with us removing illegal alcohol from your room, which you were given back upon check out. As you have stayed with us before you were aware of our rules of no alcohol to be brought onto the premise. The hostel is not dirty, smelly or dingy as we have the only building on the Gold Coast who has as a daily maintainance program to maintain the building to a high standard which meets and exceeds all regulations. Not sure why you would stay with us twice if you really felt the hostel was not what you expected re quality and price. The mess that you are referring to that the staff being the Dutchman had to clean up was infact the mess you had left in the hallway of which you had left your food scraps and also broke bottles of alcohol which could have endangered the well being of other guests.
We wish you the best for your future travels. Thanks Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    79
    33
    19
    25
See reviews for
4
22
98
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 13, 2012

Booked in for a week, stayed...well considerable longer than a week.

The place was spotless, always well cleaned, rooms were big and comfy and the living room and kitchen were awesome.

The bar was a great place to start the night off and the Big Night Out was great fun.

The staff really made this place for me. Kerry, Yvonne, Ben, Dennis and Drummer were all great fun and always made a night out into something fun.

The shuttle into town easily made up for the fact that it was a bit outside of surfers.

Never a dull moment at Aquarius.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank manbearfridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Backpackinggoldcoast, Manager at Aquarius Backpackers, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope to see you again in the future. Thanks Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ascot, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2012

I stayed here with my travel buddy for 4 nights beginning of February, it was a great hostel, good size dorms and great bathroom facilities. It was relatively cheap for australian prices. The hostel was absolutely spotless not a bit of dirt in sight, we made friends with the people who worked here and they work extremely hard cleaning and making sure your having a good time. The little tiki bar is stocked with a nice amount of alcohol at a good price. The free shuttle into surfers centre is great, as its a bit of walk. The big night out is brilliant, it is were all the hostels join up and go on a huge pub crawl, very well priced and lots of drinks included, the lovely ladies at the front desk will arrange this all for you. There is a lovely swimming pool and great cooking facilities, including a great kitchen and bbq. You are most likely going to have a hangover in PARTY CENTRAL SURFERS and Aquarius is great place to sit back watch a couple of dvds in the communal area (the selection is incredible) and recuperate. One thing if you go on the big night out make sure you get a taxi back to the hostel. CHEAP, CLEAN AND FRIENDLY

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sophie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Backpackinggoldcoast, Manager at Aquarius Backpackers, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Thank you for your feedback is it appreciated. We wish you a fantastic balance of your travels. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Rooms & bathrooms are satisfactory, clean etc. Service was appalling from pick up at the bus station to check out - the girl who picked up from the bus station was abrupt, rude and unhelpful demanding only that we prove we have photo id...well I hate to point out the obvious but I'm English and I was in Australia!?!? Same story on check in, no welcome or conversation - passport, money & credit card (this is the only hostel I stayed in, in Australia that insisted on a key deposit and credit card details!) very expensive for what it is along with the fact that it is very far from the main Surfer's beach and unlike most hostels you have to prebook their shuttle bus within a certain time frame or else it doesn't run. Also, though it advertises a pool, it is really stretching the definition of what is more of a puddle out the back! Better for your money is available so keep looking

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elphie20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Backpackinggoldcoast, Manager at Aquarius Backpackers, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. We have never had a complaint about our staff before they are all welcoming and very friendly to our guests. The bus driver does not ask guests do they have photo id as this is done when your room is booked not at the transit center. Also as all of our staff are international i am sure they were aware you were form the UK. We require a credit card for security reasons in case anything gets damaged in the rooms you will find this the case in most hotels and hostels throughout Australia as is the use of key deposits. The key deposits are returned to you on check out when we receive your keys and bedding. We are not expensive to stay in and are located a ten minute drive from Surfers Paradise and you do not have to book the shuttle bus. We have a very large pool which stretches the length of our building and we also have a spa, so I find it very confusing that you refer to it as a puddle??? I hope you enjoyed the rest of your traveling around Australia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 26, 2012

I stayed in Aquarius a couple of weeks ago along with a group of mates. Had a fantastic time. Staff was very accommadating and friendly, rooms were very clean, bathrooms + showers were also clean and to top it all off it was cheap. Would definately recommend staying here :) :)

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CiaraMcC1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Backpackinggoldcoast, Manager at Aquarius Backpackers, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
Hi Ciara
Thank you for your review. We are very happy you and your friends enjoyed your stay and we hope you enjoy the rest of your time traveling round Australia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
83 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

I was here with my friends. We were shocked because the location is so damn far from the main beach. Walk is not an option, bike? maybe. And you have to wait for the shuttle to take u to the beach. Thats just tedious man. So we decided to rent a car.

Room is nothing much. Well, what do u expect from a hostel?

Pool was in lack of maintenance state. Leaf was everywhere. We still jumped in though.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank harolddean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Backpackinggoldcoast, Manager at Aquarius Backpackers, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
Hi Harold
We are sorry you didn't enjoy your stay with us. We are located only 15mins walk form main beach, and our shuttle bus runs every one-two hours throughout the day. Also our pool is cleaned daily. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your time traveling.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Terrible service, no refunds, awful location, no interesting people--overall, a huge mistake to book with them over a closer hostel like the Islander Resort. Who cares what the service is like if you're a two minute walk from the beach? This place lied like crazy. You have to call ahead for the shuttles to come, and they only come every two hours starting at 1015. There is only 1 hour of wifi. The hot tub does not work. They don't provide paper towels or soap. It is disgusting. Don't confuse this place with the Aquarius Backpacker Resort in Byron Bay. That hostel is really nice. This one sucks.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ryan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Backpackinggoldcoast, Manager at Aquarius Backpackers, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
Hi Ryan,

We appreciate that you had issues during your stay which I personally attempted to resolve, however many of the claims made in this review are simply untrue.

Firstly, our shuttle service begins at 9.15am, and to be frank, we have never before encountered a guest who had a problem with letting us know slightly in advance (20 minutes is the most we ask) when they needed to be picked up or dropped off. The information and free phone number which you need to do this is displayed throughout the hostel.

You are right in stating that as like most hostels we have a no refunds policy. In order to book you must agree to this, which you did.

Not only do we provide hand towels and soap, guests are also welcome to borrow towels, shampoos, conditioners and other toiletries free of charge from reception.

The Spa area of our swimming pool does work, you must simply as a member of staff to switch it on. It has fully working Jacuzzi jets. We do not have a hot tub, nor do we claim to.

Every guest is offered 1 hour free wifi daily, if they 'Like' our Facebook page they are offered another hour free of charge. We offer this for free as we know it is important to our guests to keep in touch and use the internet to plan further travels, we find that 120 minutes is usually more than sufficient.

As for your claim that the hostel is 'disgusting', the bathrooms are cleaned thoroughly twice daily and we never usually receive anything but compliments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Surfers Paradise
2.2 mi away
Backpackers In Paradise
Backpackers In Paradise
#18 of 122 in Surfers Paradise
470 reviews
3.1 mi away
Surfers Paradise Backpackers Resort
Surfers Paradise Backpackers Res...
#36 of 122 in Surfers Paradise
172 reviews
2.2 mi away
Down Under Hostels Surfers Paradise
Down Under Hostels Surfers Parad...
#63 of 122 in Surfers Paradise
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Arrival Accommodation Centre
1.7 mi away
Budds in Surfers
Budds in Surfers
#64 of 122 in Surfers Paradise
345 reviews
2.2 mi away
Bunk Surfers Paradise
Bunk Surfers Paradise
#68 of 346 in Gold Coast
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aquarius Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aquarius Backpackers

Property: Aquarius Backpackers
Address: 44 Queen St, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4215, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 122 Specialty Lodging in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Aquarius Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surf, sand, nature, adventure, shopping, nightlife, theme parks, FUN... it's here and waiting for you!Aquarius Backpackers is a BaseMates hostel located in Southport Surfers Paradise is a lovely boutique hostel that caters for all those who share a love of travel. Situated on the famous Gold Coast, we offer a very friendly home away from home experience. Here you will find clean, modern, safe and friendly accommodation. We are closely situated to all your needs - shopping centres - banks - post offices - pubs, and above all, our world-famous beaches and lush green Hinterland.We offer dormitory style accommodation with either 4 or 6 share as well as private queens and twins. We also cater for all female & male rooms. With a fully equipped kitchen, you’ll be cooking up a feast in no time. Why not take a dip in our beautiful outdoor pool and spa or sit back in our big comfy leather couches, relax & watch a DVD from our 500+ library. Rates also include linen & FREE wireless internet. Join the crew and meet people from all around the world! Have a drink and a boogie at our licensed bar - Jacks Spot. It’s open seven days/nightly from 7am – midnight. Check out our fantastic hostel today and see for yourself what your missing out on! Recommended by Lonely Planet!“ In an area where backpackers are a dime a dozen there’s always the danger that budget accommodation just won’t make an effort. Not so for this colourful Hostel where cleanliness is as important as having a good time - and that’s considered very important”. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Cancelon, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aquarius Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aquarius Backpackers Gold Coast/Surfers Paradise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing