We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible experience”

Misono Japanese Steakhouse
Reserve with
Misono Japanese Steakhouse is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $24 - $64
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The highly trained Misono chefs are known as entertainers as well as culinary masters and create an unforgettable dining experience every time as they slice, dice and juggle utensils, while tossing prawns and eggs. A range of teppanyaki banquets are prepared at your table featuring combinations of fresh seafood, tender steak and succulent chicken. All banquets are served with miso soup, followed by salad, prawn appetiser, hibachi vegetables and steamed or fried rice. Step inside and live the moment. If you were taught never to play with your food then perhaps it’s time to break the rules. Expected the unexpected...amplified at Misono.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Terrible experience”
Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

We had a terrible experience here this evening. Firstly I made the booking at 8am this morning through trip advisor dimmi and soon after received a confirmation for 5.30pm. At around 4.30pm I received an email from them asking for me to call them as they changed our booking to 5pm which was impossible for us to make it in time. The girl then confirmed we would be fine for 5.30pm and would have 2 hours sitting. Upon our arrival the desk girl said we were late and our booking was 5pm. The next girl who seated us then asked if we were told we had to be finished by 7pm which we explained was not correct as we had confirmation of 2 houra of seating. We ordered the 6 course banquet which is somewhat pricey.
Next we had the first 3 courses delivered within minutes and were almost being force fed. The table cook was then under pressure to finish cooking all courses to make time for the next seating. He done basically no tricks for us and we had food piled up before we could barely finish the previous course. After the last of the hot food had finished we had dessert on the table within seconds and had staff watching how fast we were eating. Very uncomfortable and we were never even offered a second drink.after dessert which had raw tempura batter wss finished we had the bill on the table within seconds. We had just been force fed 6 courses within 60 minutes and feeling horribly awkward.
Very little value for money here abd no apologies. Banquet was around $80 per head. We lost the entire tapanyaki experience.
Save your.money and visit the tepenyaki place below Q1. This is so much better!!

Helpful?
1 Thank timd2234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marriott S, Manager at Misono Japanese Steakhouse, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear Tim,

Thank you for your time on the phone earlier today and for giving our team the opportunity to discuss this feedback with you personally.

We do apologise once again that you were disappointed with your experience at Benihana recently but are glad that we have been able to come to a resolution.

We hope that you will choose to return to Benihana in the future so that we can regain your confidence and ensure a positive dining experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,305 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    985
    217
    60
    30
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
56 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A wonderfull experience.”
Reviewed January 25, 2014 via mobile

Great performance by our chef. Great food, great service. The earlier sitting is better because there is no wait.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Uncleroy1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noumea, New Caledonia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“loved it!”
Reviewed January 25, 2014

We loved everything about the experience: bar with sakes, attentive and always helpful staff, fun chef, lovely food. We will come back to this place every time we are on the Gold Coast. You cannot miss it! A real gem!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joseph G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“What a terrible experience”
Reviewed January 22, 2014

Arrived at 7.30am for our booking, waited an hr for some other people to share our table, not with us. Finally started cooking, lovely chef, beer was cold and that's where it ended.
Bland, tasteless, butter infused food. It's a blight on Japanese cooking.
From the seafood to the vegetables to the soup, all was extremely disappointing...

Couldn't wait to get out of there...

And expensive for what it was...

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Daniel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marriott S, Manager at Misono Japanese Steakhouse, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
I am very sorry to read that you were kept waiting for a table and I have personally investigated this. The Benihana team have advised me that on your visit an error was made in regards to the seating allocations and that this then delayed your table that evening. I sincerely apologise that this happened.

I was also disappointed that that you did not enjoy the food. The garlic butter used in Benihana is a standard ingredient that is featured across all Benihana restaurants globally. For added flavour two signature dipping sauces, ginger & mustard, should also be offered to all diners.

I would certainly appreciate the opportunity of apologising to you in person and can be contacted directly through the Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa switch board on (61 7) 5592 9800
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely experience”
Reviewed January 22, 2014

We went with out 9 yr son - had a ball. The chefs were fantastic - very friendly and great with kids. There were a few on our table and they involved them and made sure they had fun. Food was lovely

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank justcruisinforfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Misono Japanese Steakhouse also viewed

Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast
Gold Coast, Queensland
 
Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast
Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast
 

Been to Misono Japanese Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing