We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing by the sea”
Review of The Breakers

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Breakers
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Relaxing by the sea”
Reviewed August 15, 2010

Breakers is a conveniently located high quality accomodation block. The sun breaks through into the lounge in the morning and you know that another great day is at store. You look out from the balcony and you can see how the ocean looks and you can immediately decide if you will just walk along the beach or go for a swim and if you can't make up your mind, that is fine just sit on the balcony and enjoy your breakfast that you are able to make because the kitchen is very well equipped.

We have stayed at breakers many times and the thing that keeps drawing us back is that the accomodation is very comfortable, the rooms are clean and well equipped and you can stay in and cook in the apartment if you wish however the convenient location means that you can just as easily go out to the many reaturants near by and if you don't feel like walking the bus is at the door step. The beach is right at the door and if you don't want the ocean the pool is warm and clean.

I really can not think of anything else that I need whenever I stay at breakers as everything is there to help you start your holiday on the right foot.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Louis A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    86
    8
    8
    1
See reviews for
140
81
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Eastleigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2010

We had the almost top floor apartment with probably the best view of the sea out of the patio doors and balcony. The reception ladies were lovely and very helpful. Only downside was the apartment was a little bit tatty and dated (especially the kitchen), the phone in the room didnt work either.

But overall we had a lovely time - cant beat the Breakers for the location.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveller2010103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2010

Couldnt fault the breakers - all that we needed ; I guess only minor drawback it is ten minute walk either way to Surfers or Broadbeach shops - but buses very handy. Dined once at nearby revolving retaurant, my 8 yr old loved that - smorgasboard quite reasonable. Theme parks all good, Dreamland probably best value for money.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ThaiPrivateEye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 7, 2010

Stayed in apartment with the ocean view, very spacious, full kitchen, and to our surprise there's a separte tap for drinking water!TV with Foxtel,laundry.
Best part was sitting in the balcony, enjoyed the ocean and heated pool. My son had a blast,. Very friendly staff.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mouli_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Landstuhl, Germany
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2010

Just spent 10 days at the Breakers and were very happy with our choice. The apartment was large and roomy with 2 balconies and great views of the beach. They had just finished installing new carpet and I've got no complaints about the room conditions whatsoever. Granted the furnishings and some decor was older, but the place was functional and airy. For all of the self-catering apartments I looked at The Breakers was the best value I found. The location was good for us, between Surfers and Broadbeach, so we got none of the noise or crowds from the busier sections. That means that you have about a 10 minute walk to get downtown to either place for restaurants and entertainment. Pool was excellent and the patrolled beach is just minutes away. We made use of the BBQ facilities which were clean and all in good working order. The reception was helpful with booking reduced tickets for area attractions and helped us out of a big bind when the volcano prevented our return to Europe. I would definitely stay here again, if I were to return to the Gold Coast.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dedredneck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2010

Absolutley fantastic location. Beach access right there, no roads to cross, handy to restaurants and shops.
Some sites had this property as a 4 star which I wouldn't agree with. The decor was a little dated - 70's bathrooms, kitchen was pretty good, furniture dated and not that comfortable. Very spacious 2 bed unit though (unit 22).
I don't like that they charge extra for air conditioning ($10 per day). We booked through Quickbeds and it said air con was included so I was not happy when they charged me extra. I called Quickbeds and got it sorted though, and the Breakers staff were pleasant enough with regards to it all.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bugtogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2010

Although my experience with The Breaker's started off poorly; they refused me a refund for one of the rooms I booked, over a week before it was due, on arriving I found the rooms neatly presented and well looked after. However, if you are a stranger to the Coast, I would recommend Breaker's North next door, or any of the other self catering apartment's for a number of reasons. The first point, probably most important, the price. Although the price I stayed at ($50 a night) wasn't too expensive, compared to could've been had for $40 a night at Breakers North next door, or Victoria Squares down the road for $30 a night (my only other points of reference in the locality), the offering is very weak. The apartment didn't have a garbage chute, heated pool, tennis court or nice customer service, all which meant we had to drag all of our garbage down through the elavator, all the way through the carpark, and heave it into a giant can of smelly, that the tennis rackets we brought were for nothing, we spent a portion of the trip freezing in the pool, and the bad customer service meant we started off our trip irritated. What happened was, when I phoned ahead to find out about what exactly was inside our apartments, re: TV's, stereos, DVD players, the receptionist I was on the phone with could only tell me that it varied from room to room, and when I asked about the stereo system told me that I would have to keep it down (not an unreasonable request, just didn't answer my question) and then moved into the territory of inquiring about the ages of my compatriots. She then informed that it was "illegal" for people under 21 to book a hotel room and proceeded to tell me that our rooms (on separate floors) were in fact just above the manager's room, and we would be "checked up on" if we did anything out of line. I am not quite sure what she was expecting, but she apparently changed her mind about us, and noted that we were in her "good books" when we checked out.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank smackofham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Surfers Paradise
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
#6 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,166 reviews
1.1 mi away
Peppers Soul Surfers Paradise
Peppers Soul Surfers Paradise
#1 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,957 reviews
1.0 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#14 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#8 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,428 reviews
1.0 mi away
Meriton Serviced Apartments - Broadbeach
1.6 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#4 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Breakers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Breakers

Property: The Breakers
Address: 60 Old Burleigh Rd, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 122 Specialty Lodging in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Breakers 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Breakers - This classic beachfront high-rise on the golden sands of Australia’s Gold Coast is perfectly positioned between Surfers Paradise and Broadbeach.Five minutes north, and you’re in downtown Cavill Avenue soaking up the atmosphere of surf city. Five minutes south, and you’re in Broadbeach with it’s many great cafes and restaurants, home of Jupiters Casino, the international Gold Coast Convention and Exhibition Centre and the shop till you drop Pacific Fair. No matter what time of the year, it always feels like summertime hereThe Breakers has a range of holiday apartments to suit all budgets and sizes.There’s the spacious one and two bedroom apartments all enjoying great ocean and hinterland views from their balconies, the 3 level beachfront cabanas in front of the main tower looking directly over the beach or the fully-renovated 4 bedroom penthouse – great for the extended family. Facing east, the magnificent tiled pool catches almost all-day sun and looks out over the fabulous beachfront BBQ terrace.All apartments at The Breakers have Foxtel cable TV and for those who need to work or just browse the internet there is Free Wifi. The friendly on site Management team take great pride in The Breakers to make your holiday enjoyable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your The Breakers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Breakers Hotel Surfers Paradise
Breakers Surfers Paradise
Breakers Hotel Surfers Paradise
The Breakers Gold Coast/Surfers Paradise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing