We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool service apartment away from troubles” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Breakers

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Breakers
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Cool service apartment away from troubles”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2013

Came to goldscoast on a schoolies week. Its a good thing that they dont allow school leavers to book in their hotel. Cool penthouse rooms and everything you would expect in a service apartment. Close enought to surfers but far enough from the troubles that week. Really enjoyed the long weekend with mates ...

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Malhabour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breakers7, Manager at The Breakers, responded to this review, December 14, 2013
So glad you enjoyed your time with us at The Breakers even through the schoolies week. As you say, that penthouse is certainly cool......it is such a large apartment. Thanks for taking the time to place your review and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    84
    8
    7
    1
See reviews for
138
76
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2013

The Breakers is situated on the beachfront mid way between Cavill Ave, Surfers Paradise & Broadbeach Oasis shopping plaza, which is a lovely 20 minute walk in either direction. Our apartment was just perfect, facing the north-easterly direction with spectacular views of the ocean and beachfront and pool. The kitchen was fully stocked with every gadget, dish, saucepan etc. required. Foxtel TV was great. There were two balconies on which to relax, a beautiful pool & barbeque area. The staff were friendly, co-operative and very attentive. The bathrooms had lots of bench space and the unit was very clean and inviting. We've been before and will definitely go again. We loved it!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rochelle5228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breakers7, Manager at The Breakers, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thanks for your review - it's great for all to receive any information that may help to determine where they stay and your contribution will probably assist with questions that others may have.
We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
93 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

Just had a majestic 4 night stay in a beautiful apartment overlooking the beach and pool. The unit was spotless and well fitted out with everything you could want. Aircond is available but not needed because of the cool ocean breeze. Spectacular!
Lyn the manager does a great job keeping everyone happy and informed and has a great local knowledge of all the good restaurants etc. The Breakers is well positioned between Surfers Paradise and the popular Broadbeach restaurant precinct. We clocked our walk at 14 mins to Broadbeach and an easy walk along the beach to Surfers.
Thanks Lyn

Room Tip: Beachfront rooms have absolute water views with no road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gunmby53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breakers7, Manager at The Breakers, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
We do pride ourselves on the presentation of the apartments and this particularly reflects on what a great job our cleaners do - they have so much pride in their work and it is wonderful for them to be rewarded with all the positive reviews we receive.
Agreed - the views are amazing and as you pointed out, even though the apartments do have air conditioning a lot of the time it is not utilised because of the fantastic ocean breezes.
We are certainly spoilt up here for restaurants - you will never go hungry and you will always have a problem deciding which one to go to!!
Thanks for taking the time to write your review and we look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

Just arrived home from a 7 night stay at Breakers. My sister and I had a two bedroom beachfront unit on the 10th Floor. Fantastic. Great location, friendly reception, undercover parking, great security. Apartment was large, clean and newly refurbished. The kitchen had everything you would want . Newly furbished bathrooms and laundry. Had great balcony overlooking pool and beach and side balcony as well (to escape the windy weather). The bedrooms were of a great size, queen in main and 2 singles in other. Air conditioning in both bedrooms and main lounge. The apartments were very quite. Enjoyed the pool most days.
Clean and many lounges. Access to beach great. 10 minute walk to Oasis Shopping Centre or the heart of Surfers. Great area. Will come again.

Room Tip: Ask for the refurbished beachfront unit on 10th Floor! You will be pleasantly surprised.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tyndo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breakers7, Manager at The Breakers, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Certainly have to agree the apartment you were in is fantastic - these owners have ensured that everyone should enjoy and appreciate it as much as they do.
Our location is another bonus as we are within walking distance to either the heart of Broadbeach or Surfers Paradise.
We look forward to your return and thanks for taking the time to place your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom Price, Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013

What a wonderful week we had at the Breakers. We booked the 4 bedroom apartment for 4 adults and 2 kids and are so glad we did. It was comfortable, spacious and had amazing views! Everything you could need was in the apartment including a pool table and we had a ball!
Close to shopping and restaurants and right on the beach - we watched the whales playing most mornings!! Lyn was great and offered so much help - thank you so much!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LouandEuge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breakers7, Manager at The Breakers, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Definitely agree with you re the size of the 4 bedroom apartment - it is massive!!! You can sometimes get lost trying to find your way around it - it really is great for the extended family as it does sleep up to 8 people and with it's 4 bedrooms, 3 bathrooms, powder room and two living rooms that makes for very comfortable living.
Thanks for your kind words and only too happy to help when it is needed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Booleroo Centre, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013 via mobile

We had a huge two bedroom apartment that was clean and comfortable. The reception staff where very helpful and had good local knowledge.
We had an ocean front room looking straight over the pool and beach. The location is good, not to close to the hustle, bustle and noise of Surfers and Broadbeach but and easy beach walk to both.
A great place to stay.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank notafussytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breakers7, Manager at The Breakers, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
I definitely have to agree, our location is what a lot of people do love - close enough to all the action if you want to be, yet far enough away to enjoy the peace and quiet and the sound of the waves breaking.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013

We arrived at surfers pretty exhausted after being awake since 3 30am due to our early flight from New Zealand. Check in was 2pm much like most hotels nowadays, and we were a bit worried that we would have to wait 4-5 hours since we got to the breakers at 9am. The lady there was lovely and after advising us to check out lola's for some breakfast she said we could check in at 10am as the cleaners should be done by then. My partner is very picky about cleanliness and we were pleasantly suprised upon walking into the apartment. From the apartment lobby downstairs to the deck in our room it was very clean and modern. The views were breathtaking and sublime and the apartment itself was spacious and well maintained.The kitchen had everything you would need to cook almost anything. There was only 2 towels provided along with a rag to dry your feet but with a washign machine and dryer this was not an issue and we washed and dried our linen on most days since we were out all day enjoying what the gold coast had to offer. The people at reception were very helpful. Lyn helped book the shuttle and advised what buses we should take to different places. The only negative experience we had was the alternate line we had to call after reception was closed. We were unsure where the shuttle would pick us up from and since breakers had booked it for us we decided to call reception but since it was 8pm(reception closes at 7pm) it got redirected elswhere. The lady was very rude and kept sighing and raisign her voice and then just grunted and put us through to soem shuttle service after giving us wrong information about the shuttle pick up address(she said it would be paradise apartments) but the shuttle waited for us outside the breakers and we nearly missed it! But apart from the rude lady it was a fantastic stay. Room was perfect, Lyn and the other lady were delightful to deal with and the outdoor pool was always heated and nice. And the beach access was very convenient.

Positives: Clean and spacious apartment, Lovely reception staff, Location.
Negatives: After hour reception line lady, Potentially a tennis court or a gym could be introduced for leisure and fitness?

Room Tip: Choose the superior room. Ask for a modern room with beachfront views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breakers7, Manager at The Breakers, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to let us know your thoughts - we certainly do pride ourselves on the presentation of our property and are so pleased to receive that acknowledgment.
Re the point you made about only two towels and a bathmat being provided - this is the norm for self catering apartments, as you pointed out and acknowledged, you do have a washing machine and dryer to freshen anything up as you go. This is the difference between a hotel which supplies fresh towels etc. each day and self catering apartments which do not.
We are very disappointed with your interaction with our night service operator and have addressed this with them. Once the office is closed we do employ the services of a company that looks after all our after hours phone calls so that there is always someone you can contact in an emergency - this is the first time we have had any negative feedback about them (albeit good to know so we can rectify the situation in the future). Our apologies on their behalf for your bad experience.
Thanks once again for your time and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Breakers again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Surfers Paradise
1.1 mi away
Peppers Soul Surfers Paradise
Peppers Soul Surfers Paradise
#1 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,757 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
#6 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,130 reviews
1.0 mi away
Meriton Serviced Apartments - Broadbeach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#17 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
1.6 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#4 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,546 reviews
0.8 mi away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#8 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Breakers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Breakers

Property: The Breakers
Address: 60 Old Burleigh Rd, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 125 Specialty Lodging in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Breakers 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Breakers - This classic beachfront high-rise on the golden sands of Australia’s Gold Coast is perfectly positioned between Surfers Paradise and Broadbeach.Five minutes north, and you’re in downtown Cavill Avenue soaking up the atmosphere of surf city. Five minutes south, and you’re in Broadbeach with it’s many great cafes and restaurants, home of Jupiters Casino, the international Gold Coast Convention and Exhibition Centre and the shop till you drop Pacific Fair. No matter what time of the year, it always feels like summertime hereThe Breakers has a range of holiday apartments to suit all budgets and sizes.There’s the spacious one and two bedroom apartments all enjoying great ocean and hinterland views from their balconies, the 3 level beachfront cabanas in front of the main tower looking directly over the beach or the fully-renovated 4 bedroom penthouse – great for the extended family. Facing east, the magnificent tiled pool catches almost all-day sun and looks out over the fabulous beachfront BBQ terrace.All apartments at The Breakers have Foxtel cable TV and for those who need to work or just browse the internet there is Free Wifi. The friendly on site Management team take great pride in The Breakers to make your holiday enjoyable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your The Breakers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Breakers Hotel Surfers Paradise
Breakers Surfers Paradise
Breakers Hotel Surfers Paradise
The Breakers Gold Coast/Surfers Paradise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing