We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOULD RATHER SLEEP ON A PARK BENCH”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Golden Gate Holiday Apartments
Reviewed January 9, 2014

We booked and paid for a "Renovated Deluxe Two Bedroom Apartment" but actually got the apartment from hell. If this apartment was renovated it was at least 30 years ago.
The smell is the first thing you notice, then the stains on the carpets walls and ceilings as well as mould on the ceiling in the master bedroom. We could not hang our clothes because the wardrobe smelt like someone had used it as a toilet. The vent in the kitchen was full of grease and dirt. The shelves in the kitchen cupboards were dirty and we felt the need to wash all the dishes before we used them. We all suffered from nose and throat irritations and some of us came away with what looks like flea or mite bites. Even from the 20th floor you could see the pool was dirty so we did not even bother to check out the area from the ground.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Lorraine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (52)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 52 reviews

Reviewed December 14, 2013

I used to stay at the Golden Gate when it was one of the first high rise hotels on the Gold Coast. I wanted to go back and visit again to see how things had changed.

Basically, everything was as I had remembered it. However I had forgotten how big the rooms were. I know that this hotel has seen better days, but it is still really good value for money and still well located. It was nice to visit the old girl again.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
Thank manmason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Staying in Unit 1102 11/10-13/10 . Male receptionist quite helpful but the room was filthy.
From Bath Towel to Bed to Bathroom to Carpet . Everthing makes you wanna run home .
And the constructions works around the hotel . The noise on Saturday morning at 6am with constructions .The road blocked everywhere it is just a nightmare . We booked and paid for two nights but we left after staying there for 1 night .
Good luck to anyone coming into
1102.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Normalad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Apartments are in a great location to beaches and shops, easy access to bus stops to get to theme parks. Our room was nice, clean with plenty of room for family of 4. We had a mix up with parking but the manager was very helpful fixing the problem very fast. Male receptionist was also helpful getting theme park passes organised for us. Kids loved swimming in the heated pool, and we enjoyed having bbq's in the bali hut. Wish we could come back and watch the v8's from here as it would be amazing to watch.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aimee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

Bought a deal here for 5 nights in a "deluxe" apartment. When I asked what the difference between "standard" and "deluxe" I was told that I was in a "standard". When I asked why we weren't in a "deluxe" apartment I was told to speak to the Manager who was not available. Complained every day about the dripping air con that made the tiles slippery once the carpet was completely water logged but was only greeted with "rolling eyes" of the receptionist who seemed totally uninterested. Receptionist seems completely out of her depth with no people skills whatsoever and totally incapable of dealing with complaints. Manager promised the earth but never did anything. Elderly father in law fell down the front steps and badly gashed his knee because the step did not have the edge marked. Have left a list of complaints with receptionist who was supposed to get the Manager to ring 3 days ago - still heard nothing. Place is very tired and rundown like the staff.

Room Tip: Insist on "deluxe" apartment if that is what you have booked
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DebbieBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2012

Just got back from there, where do i start it was advertised as air con queen size bed and wifi get into the room which was a nice size wasnt to clean with a bit of toast on the balcony from previous tenants bed was two singles pushed together , no wifi , and no aircon , complained the first day about aircon as it was extremely hot they said should be working , still not going when we left for the money we paid could of got alot better

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Grant M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2011

I enjoyed my Easter stay here.

PLUS POINTS
The apartment was in the northern quiet end of Surfers Paradise but just 4 blocks away from the centre, a pleasant 8 minute walk. Apartment was in good condition, high up on the 18th floor with great views of the beach and plenty of light and morning sun. It was well set-up with a second flat-screen TV and sound system in the bedroom. Loved throwing open the bedroom door to the balcony and listening to the roar of the surf when going to sleep. Pool is heated and in a large tropical garden. Plenty of room to move and full-length glass in living room and bedroom to take in the north-east view. Just a short walk to patrolled surf beach with high-class dining available with Marriott Hotel, Sun City and Q T Hotel all close by. Found a great value hot breakfast deal for just $5.00 at "The Shore", close by on The Esplanade.

MINUS POINTS
Not many - While generally clean, more attention required to clean stove-top and oven, glasses and fridge interior. Air-conditioner unit leaked condensation onto living room floor. Although reported to reception these minor issues were not rectified at all during my five night stay. Guess it was because it was busy and fully booked over Easter break

Room Tip: Be sure to book a renovated apartment, not budget
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank touristparis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.2 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#5 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
2,850 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton Surfers Paradise
Hilton Surfers Paradise
#12 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
3,431 reviews
1.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
#8 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
1,718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Mantra Circle on Cavill
Mantra Circle on Cavill
#6 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
3,661 reviews
1 mi away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#7 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
1,897 reviews
0.8 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#13 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Gate Holiday Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Gate Holiday Apartments

Address: Golden Gate Apartments 3422 Surfers Paradise Bvd, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #83 of 123 Specialty Lodging in Surfers Paradise
Price Range: $125 - $364 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Golden Gate Holiday Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Golden Gate Holiday Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Gate Holiday Apartments Gold Coast/Surfers Paradise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing