We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Exceptional value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Gold Tower Surfers Paradise

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Hotel Gold Tower Surfers Paradise to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Hotel Gold Tower Surfers Paradise
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2809 Gold Coast Highway, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 30% Off.
Ranked #13 of 32 Hotels in Surfers Paradise
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Exceptional value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Stayed with my young family for two nights during January. Paid just under $300 per night and was given a room with an amazing view on the 17th floor. It may be a little outdated with Japanese 90's green and matching pastels everywhere but it is a solid place with friendly staff and great facilities. It is a little far from both Broadbeach and Surfers Paradise, there definitely are better places but the amenities, prompt service and cleanliness of the rooms give this grand old school hotel top marks for value.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank galaga88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidMBrown, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Gold Tower Surfers Paradise, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Dear galaga88,
Many thanks for choosing to stay with us recently in our Gold Tower, with your young family. I am very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and that we met your expectations.
Thank you for choosing Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise - Gold Tower, and I do hope we have the opportunity to be of service to you once again in the near future.
David Brown
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    167
    64
    10
    15
See reviews for
71
193
22
58
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

A very very good hotel. We'd stay there again anytime. ALL the staff greet you with a smile every time, the service is friendly and efficient, the rooms are immaculate, spacious, comfortable and well equipped. We stayed on the 13th floor and the view was fantastic... enjoyed sitting out on the balcony enjoying a cool drink. Christmas dinner in the restaurant offered a huge range of choices and the best of service from the staff.

Room Tip: Ask for the higher floors, the view overlooking the ocean is superb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OutbackExplorers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidMBrown, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Gold Tower Surfers Paradise, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Outback Explorers,
Thank you so much for sharing your comments and I am very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. I am very proud of the team here at the hotel and I will certainly share your feedback with them accordingly.
All the very best for a safe and successful 2013 and I hope we see you with us again soon.
David Brown
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the Crowne Plaza from Sunday, 23 of December until friday 28 of December. The room was spacious, clean and the view was amazing. We had two balconies and the sofa bed made it easier for my brother to accompany us without needing to stay in another room. There was a kitchenette with a washing/drying machine that helped and saved lots of money. The hotel room service is more than excellent. Overall we enjoyed our stay a lot. Thanks Crowne Plaza friendly staff and always happy and ready to help.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cutefarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidMBrown, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Gold Tower Surfers Paradise, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Dear Cutefarah,
Thank you for choosing to stay with us over the 2012 festive season and I am very pleased to hear we met your expectations throughout the five days you were with us.
I hope we can be of service to you once again sometime in 2013.
Many thanks,
David Brown
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

This hotel gives you everything you'd expect for the price. It's a nice hotel with great rooms and a great pool. Would definitely stay here again. It's about a 10 min walk from Cavill avenue which is good as you get to see everything on the way.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lianasante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidMBrown, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Gold Tower Surfers Paradise, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Dear Lianasante,
Thank you for choosing to stay with us earlier this year and for sharing your feedback with the TripAdvisor community at large. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.
David Brown
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
115 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

We recently stayed in the Gold Tower for a weekend away, and were mostly impressed. The hotel itself is looking pretty dated, but it is larger and is of a better quality than most other hotels in the area.

Our room was perfect for the two of us, and we loved the ocean views. There was no outside noise except the ocean, the bed was so comfortable, and there was a large wardrobe. We picked our room specifically because it had a spa,but it was essentially a smallish corner bathtub. The bathroom was well appointed though, and had plenty of space for me to get ready for going out.

We found the staff in the lobby really helpful, they were able to suggest restaurants in the area for dinner. The staff in the revolving restaurant were also helpful, and the buffet breakfast was lovely. The only issue we had was bring told to park in a specific area when we checked in, and having to go back to the lobby again because it was full.

The hotel is a 5 minute walk from the beach and there are also 2 pools which were beautiful on a hot summers day. Overall, we enjoyed our stay and would consider staying again for a short holiday on the Gold Coast.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MissKarlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidMBrown, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Gold Tower Surfers Paradise, responded to this review, December 23, 2012
Dear MissKarlee,
Thank you for choosing to stay with us in the Gold Tower here at Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise.
I am very pleased you enjoyed your stay and I hope we have the opportunity to look after you once again, next time you visit the Gold Coast.
David Brown
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We have just spent the loveliest weekend at the Coast! Yes that is what us Brisvegas types call it. When we arrived, second in the queue to check in - I was through in 5 minutes and the lovely receptionist commented that we were able to get our high floor room with superb views.

We had a quick meal in the adjoining Tavern which was excellent and great value for money and the bottle of wine was cheap - but good quality. Had a drink in the bar and got given fresh milk to take up to the room for the cuppa in the morning.

The next morning we had breakfast (all included) and wow what a great breakfast it was. The staff were wonderful and the food fresh and tasty with a gorgeous arrangement of fresh and cooked food.

We swan in the pool, has a spa and generally relaxed. From our balcony in our room where there were two comfortable chairs and a small table, the views were great and just the place for the glass of Moet shared with friends. We were able to take an ice bucket back to the spacious room to enjoy the views.

Saturday night after dinner we ventured back to the bar and were served once again, by a wonderful bar maid and nothing was too much trouble.

Sunday morning saw us leave, much to our regret as the whole weekend was wonderful. Whenever we bumped into staff at the hotel there was always a welcoming smile and good day. Whether it the man changing light bulbs hanging off a ladder, or the laundry staff we passed in the hallway to the car park. The staff in the restaurant at breakfast were just wonderful - a delightful weekend away.

All in all a great weekend and certainly recommend this hotel with the good old fashioned service. You won't regret staying there and we will be back.

Room Tip: Go for the Gold Tower on the higher floors - or the "07" rooms in the Pink Tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gaylene M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

I found a cheaper price than on their website, and they honored their guarantee with no hassle and I had the first night free.
The room was big and roomy, with a verandah and a lovely view. Nice bedding, plenty of pillows and towels.
Definitely recommended.
(To see more about which hotels to visit check us out Facebook/Shadowshopper.au)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shadowshopperAUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
#5 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 stars 975 reviews
1.5 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#3 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.5 of 5 stars 2,221 reviews
0.8 mi away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#8 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 stars 1,194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel
#9 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 stars 2,726 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Surfers Paradise
Hotel Grand Chancellor Surfers P...
#11 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
3.5 of 5 stars 1,491 reviews
0.7 mi away
Wyndham Surfers Paradise
Wyndham Surfers Paradise
#7 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 stars 595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Gold Tower Surfers Paradise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Gold Tower Surfers Paradise

Property: Crowne Plaza Hotel Gold Tower Surfers Paradise
Address: 2809 Gold Coast Highway, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#13 Luxury Hotel in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Gold Tower Surfers Paradise 5*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crowne Plaza Gold Tower is located adjacent to Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise. The Crowne Plaza Gold Tower offers premium hotel rooms and spacious self contained apartments including studio and one and two bedroom suites in a resort style setting. The majority of rooms boast Pacific Ocean views and all rooms have their own balconies. The Studio and Suites also offer kitchenettes and laundry facilities. Crowne Plaza Gold Tower is located between Surfers Paradise and Broadbeach. Major shopping centres, award winning dining, nightlife and world famous Gold Coast beaches are all within walking distance of the hotel. Crowne Plaza Gold Tower shares the extensive resort facilities with Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise including two outdoor swimming pools with heated spas and sundecks, gymnasium, full sized tennis court, games room and two restaurants and bars. The hotel features 9 flexible meeting rooms and can cater for up to 550 people. Four Winds 360 Revolving Restaurant is Queensland's only revolving restaurant. It offers panoramic views of the Gold Coast hinterland and Pacific Ocean as well as a delicious seafood and Central Mediterranean buffet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, Hotwire, Expedia, Odigeo, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Gold Tower Surfers Paradise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Crowne Plaza Hotel Gold Tower Surfers Paradise Gold Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing