We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not ideal for families but great for a couple.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mantra Towers of Chevron

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mantra Towers of Chevron
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Not ideal for families but great for a couple.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2010

We recently stayed here. We got a great deal from a ebay seller and payed around $600 for 5 nights for 5 people. We were located in the oldest tower right on level 5. Great access to the pool area, but our room was not private at all! It was clean enogh but very small. There is no way I would pay $300 a night for it! Go to ebay or stayz if you want a cheaper deal.

Like other people have mentioned the towers are grounds get VERY dirty at times, but in their defense the place is huge with 100's of people walking around all day and night so of course it gets dirty. We noticed condoms (blurgh) in the garden just off our patio that was reported to reception and never removed. That was pretty gross.

The lifts and pool do get very busy but like I mentioned before the place is huge so there is always people around, especially in the pools and spas. We stayed at the end of Feb and the pool was warm enough. But not big enough for a venue of this size. The cafes and shops downstairs are great. And there is a very central bus stop just behind the towers. This is where we caught our transfers to the theme parks and it was very easy to use and very handy.

I would never recommend this place to young families but I would to couples and definitely younger people. There is a pub/ club/ nightclub on every corner, ideal for young people but not for families.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GingerTreeFrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,668 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,124
    1,314
    619
    313
    298
See reviews for
2,383
403
26
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (589)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2010

I was really impressed with the hotel and the location. Definately a hotel worth staying at on the gold coast. Great View..

Staff were excellent and the hotel ammenities were fantastic...

Magnificent

  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank timbonit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2010

Just got back from 4 nights staying at Chevron Towers with my boyfriend and we loved it!
We booked privately, and got a wonderful wonderful price!
Upon arrival we were very happy with the room- 2nd tower with breathtaking views to the ocean and hinterland.
I do know that if you book through reception you are not guaranteed ocean views etc so I would recommend booking privately as you get to see pictures of the room you are staying in.
The pool was awesome- who are these whingers complaining about the 'cold pool'?? Pools get cold- who cares!!!!!??? after paddling around for a minute you get used to it. There were lots of lounge chairs and barbeques and space to laze around.
The location of the hotel is amazing also- very central to everything. People complaining on here about the noise- of course there is going to be noise... you are staying pretty much on cavill ave. I found with the window closed it was no problem at all.. The convenience of having coles, bakers delight, newsagency, numerous cafes right underneath was lovely.
The staff on the activities desk were very helpful with organising transfers to theme parks, jetski safari etc
There is a bus stop right out the front which is very handy.
People also complaining on here about having to swipe to get everywhere- I think it is a great idea- you can only access your own level and it stops idiots from outside getting to the pool area etc.
Honestly, I could not recommend Chevron Towers more.
I would definantly return here.
Close to everything, great pool, quick elevators.
If you are looking for something a little more quieter- stay at broadbeach or somewhere less central to everything.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lovebetty1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2010

We stayed at this resort for six nights,at check in i wasn't impressed with the appartment we were given,no view,old furniture,not very clean. I usually would'nt complain,but we did pay close to $300 per night and expected better. I went down to reception and kindly asked to be moved, the staff was friendly and helpful enough,as it was a very busy weekend,not much was available,he gave me a key to check out another appartment to see if it was nicer,it was,so we ended up paying an extra $25 per night (normallyt $50, gave me a discount) i was hoping not to have to pay anymore money,but i was tired and couldn't be bothered arguing. Unfortunatly, with this resort,it's the luck of the draw when it comes to the appartments, all of them have new kitchens,but the furniture could be old or new,depends...for what we pay should be all brand new! They are very small,if you like large living areas,don't stay here,you won't get it,very tight spaces.The thing i love the most about this complex, is the outdoor lagoon pool,it's big,has sand for the kids to play with,outdoor heated spa, big indoor pool and spa both heated,which was great to use when it rained for 2 days! Next to the outdoor pool,there is a beautiful grassed area to sunbake on, or for the kids to run around,barbacue area was very clean from what i could see.Location is excellent,can't beat it, all the shops you need are downstairs,so convienient. Noise could be a problem if you're a light sleeper, we were on the 7th floor tower 2,very noisy,cars,trucks and motobikes. It's my second time at this resort,was going to stay at circle on cavill,bu twas booked out, i would probably stay here again because we enjoy the facilities,but i will book a privately owned appartment next time so i know what im getting. It's no 5 star accomodation, but if you get a nice view and a clean new apparment,you will be very happy,im sure of it.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank missy076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2010

Stayed in a 3-bedroom apartment which I did not find it clean. It is not value for the money that they charge you as the apartment was run down with very basic furniture. If yu\ou're asked to pay over $3000 for 7-night stay, please demand to see the condition of your accommodation. There are far better accommodation at Gold Coast for less. Don't get fooled by their web site as the apartments in real life are not as nice as you're led to believe.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank traveller123Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fraser Coast, Qld
Level Contributor
47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2010

Got a great deal on this place through the "yellow envelope" advertising thingy that comes in the mail. Went with extended family (2 kids + Nanna) and friends with another kid. We were in one of the older towers apparently, and had adjoining rooms initially but my organiser friend who arrived first did not approve of the room that we were meant to have so she arranged to swap it for one on a higher floor (thanks mate!) - I am not sure what she didn't like about the first room since I never saw it, but the one we ended up in was great - awesome views.
The Chevron has to have one of the best locations in Surfers, right on top of shops/restaurants, short walk to the beach, and fantastic "beach in the sky" pool for the kids. However it is an apartment complex not a resort as such - judging from the people we saw in the lift I think there are a large number of permanent residents - so you won't have swim-up bars, supplied towels, restaurants, kids clubs etc. If you expect those things then you may be disappointed - but for a holiday apartment this place was great. Oh yeah, the parking is a complete maze, we had to ring our friends (who had been there before) to come and fetch us when we were at the wrong tower. Doh! But once you get shown where to go it's not bad, after the first time I managed to get out and back in several times without having to drop any breadcrumbs...

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CaptainVegetable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2010

Excellent service, i love the fact i was given an opportunity to do a pre inspection of my apartment before the balance was paid. Most other suppliers wanted there money before i got to Queensland. This reassured me all would be OK. The lady who made my booking was very helpful, she explained the process very well. The prices was fantastic for such a stunning resort. Real good pools, gym, and LOCATION IS THE BEST!!!! The apartment was so good i wanted to live there forever. I can not stop raving about the place. Thanks Vickey it was the best. "

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SarahAli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.1 mi away
Mantra Circle on Cavill
Mantra Circle on Cavill
#7 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,694 reviews
0.2 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#16 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mantra on View Hotel
Mantra on View Hotel
#12 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#4 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,550 reviews
0.2 mi away
Peppers Soul Surfers Paradise
Peppers Soul Surfers Paradise
#1 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,769 reviews
0.5 mi away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#8 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Towers of Chevron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Towers of Chevron

Property: Mantra Towers of Chevron
Address: 23 Ferny Ave, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia (Formerly Towers of Chevron Renaissance)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 125 Specialty Lodging in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mantra Towers of Chevron 4*
Number of rooms: 358
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Mantra Towers of Chevron, located in the heart of Surfers Paradise, you will find the perfect accommodation from which to explore the beautiful and fun-filled Gold Coast. In your self-contained apartment you'll feel truly at ease. All apartments are self-contained and feature kitchens equipped with modern appliances, a full service laundry, cable TV and a DVD player. All the conveniences of home can be found here. Located atop the trendy Chevron Renaissance precinct, you need only duck downstairs to enjoy a delicious meal or to wander through unique and designer boutiques. If you're on holiday with the kids, the Infinity attraction is a must visit. They're bound to be entertained exploring the fun-house full of mirrors, optical illusions and sound effects. You can choose between 1, 2 and 3 bedroom apartments or superior apartments, which are furnished in contemporary neutral tones. Or for larger groups wishing to truly holiday in style, the 3 bedroom penthouse apartments are the ideal choice. At Mantra Towers of Chevron you will have access to the resorts Health Pavilion, featuring indoor and outdoor lap pools and full gymnasium. BBQ facilities, the private theatre and also 'Beaches in the Sky', the resorts outdoor leisure area featuring sub-tropical gardens and a 600m2 lagoon style pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Mantra Towers of Chevron reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Towers Of Chevron Renaissance Hotel Surfers Paradise
Hotel Of Chevron Renaissance
Renaissance Surfers Paradise
Surfers Paradise Renaissance
Mantra Towers Of Chevron Gold Coast/Surfers Paradise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing