We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mantra Towers of Chevron
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Terrible”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Horrible old apartment. Dirty. Wouldn't stay here again. Cost big money. Got told it wasn't the worst on Gold Coast and I should be happy with what I got. They did how ever refund me one nights accommodation because hey agreed it was not up to standard. Avoid Avoid

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Timwils0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chevrontowers, Guest Relations Manager at Mantra Towers of Chevron, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you for your feedback Tim.

I apologise if you did not enjoy your stay at the property. I do remember you being at the resort as I processed the refund for you. Our quality Control Officer and Maintenance Manager have carried out a full assessment on the apartment you were allocated and have been in contact with the owner to arrange the necessary upgrades and refurbishments.

I apologise for what your agent said to you regarding the accommodation. It is certainly not our standard here at Chevron to tell people they should just be happy with what they got. We strive to ensure all guests are happy and comfortable during their stay.

I hope that you will return to our Resort to experience what a true stay at Chevron Towers should be like. Please contact me directly for any future bookings on stay@chevrontowers.com.au or 07 5584 8100.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,320 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,371
    1,553
    720
    352
    324
See reviews for
2,871
470
31
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (598)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

I was looking forward to our stay at the Towers having been here almost 8 years earlier. We booked a 3 bedroom apartment and ended up on the 22 floor. Maddi at the front desk was pleasant. When I arrived to my room (1221) I noticed that the door to the front was adjar (this was at 6pm).....I called back Maddi who sent security up to investigate. The apartment was a major disappointment....tired looking and I had to set the baby cot up myself - far from luxury. The only thing that was new in the apartment was the black leather couch.....no tv in the main bedroom.....one lamp on the side table in the main bedroom with blood stains on the inside of the lamp shade...the beds were made nicely however the finish was incomplete as you could see the bottom part of the mattresses base). Unfortunately we will not stay at the towers again as the apartment was tired looking and dirty....not good enough.....certainly not luxury....the bad reviews on trip advisor hit the nail on the head. Could not wait to get home.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chevrontowers, Guest Relations Manager at Mantra Towers of Chevron, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you for your feedback.

I am sorry to hear you were disappointed with your allocated apartment. I have contacted our Quality Control Officer and Maintenance Manager to arrange a full assessment on this apartment and contact the owner regarding any necessary upgrades and refurbishments needed.

There should certainly have not been any cleaning issues with the apartment and I would hoper that when they were reported to reception in the morning we were able to have these rectified immediately.

As all of our apartments are self contained, we do not set up port a cots or rollaway beds. They are left in the apartment for the guest so they can choose where in the apartment they are placed.

I am glad you found Maddi to be pleasant and helpful, however I am sorry to hear that overall you were disappointed

I would love the opportunity to personally welcome you back to he resort to experience what a true stay at Chevron Towers should be like. Please contact me directly for any future bookings on 07 5584 8100 or stay@chevrontowers.com.au
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland.
Level 6 Contributor
277 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

My husband has been working at Surfers Paradise and has been staying at hotels each week while working there. He has spent 4 weeks at this hotel and I spend a few nights a week there with him. Its a great spot, so close to restaurants, shops and cafes and the beach and has great facilities. The pools are awesome and spa and plenty of space for everyone. Not crowded so that is good. The apartments are great and clean and have good facilities and views are excellent across the coast and beach. Would recommend for sure!

Room Tip: beach/ ocean view for sure
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KarinnaCraig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chevrontowers, Guest Relations Manager at Mantra Towers of Chevron, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you for your feedback.

I am glad to see you enjoyed the time spent at our resort with your husband. Adding a little enjoyment to a work trip is always nice.

Your are right in your description of our location, we really are right in the heart of everything! Our resort facilities are world class and I am glad you made good use of them.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kempsey
1 review
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We stayed for 5 nights in a 3 bedroom apartment on the 32nd floor. The first night the noise was so bad that we were up all night, as it was a Thursday night we only imagined what the weekend noise would be like. We had a 15 month with us and she was awake because of the noise, by 3.00 in the morning with the noise still going we were desperate, So as soon as reception opened we asked if we could change rooms, we were initially told they were fully booked and maybe if I had an extra glass of wine of wore earplugs it may help, I did not find that amusing after a night of no sleep. Another receptionist found that there was one apartment we could move to, which we hurriedly did. The only way we survived was to put the babies cot in the walk in wardrobe, as it was not on an outside wall, and she was able to sleep through, for the rest of us we just had to put up with the noise. I will never stay here in the future, we were travelling with other family and it was very difficult as we were in different towers and our key did not allow access to another floor. The apartment was in need of a makeover, the bathroom was full of mould, no bath plug meant we bathed the baby in the laundry tub. Furniture was old and the carpet was badly stained. The common areas were of a high standard, the heated pool which was one of the reasons we booked here was cold. We all suffered from a lack of sleep and that certainly makes a big difference to your holiday.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank betty w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chevrontowers, Public Relations Manager at Mantra Towers of Chevron, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you for your review, this is certainly disappointing to read
This is certainly not the service we pride ourselves on. Unfortunately traffic noise is one of the draw backs when staying right in the heart of a busy town like Surfers Paradise. We have recently been fully booked with school holidays however I am glad we were able to satisfy your request for another apartment, however I am concerned about the apartment you were allocated. I would like to arrange an assessment to be done by our Maintenance Manager and Quality Control Officer. If you could contact me directly on stay@chevrontowers.com.au with the apartment number or the surname on the booking that would be greatly appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We stayed here before the Gold Coast marathon, and had a number of problems across the whole weekend. We had TVs that didn't work (and had to be replaced by maintenance) and sinks that wouldn't drain. We had balcony doors that were off their hinges and couldn't be locked, and elevator fobs that stopped working. We had a random guest of the hotel come into our rooms while all but one of us was asleep using an official key, to 'look around for his phone' with the blessing of hotel management. And unfortunately, it took having three people go to reception to clear up the multiple maintenance issues we had with the room, as we received no response from multiple calls to the front desk without showing up in person.

While it's a handy location and has plenty of amenities, the customer service and focus on detail in this venue is disappointingly lacking.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jared W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chevrontowers, Guest Relations Manager at Mantra Towers of Chevron, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you for your feedback.

I am sorry to hear you had several maintenance issues with the apartment you were allocated. All maintenance issues are logged for maintenance and then they attended to in order of priority/urgency.

I am sorry it took several calls/visits to reception for your issues to be addressed. It should have been logged on the very first phone call and any subsequent should have been followed up with a call to maintenance for an estimated time for them to attend the apartment.

There should certainly not be anyone entering your apartment to search for any item. Standard procedure is that we contact housekeeping for lost items as they would have be found during cleaning. We would certainly not have sent anyone to your apartment with a key and I am both sorry and disturbed to hear this has happened.

This is certainly not the standards we expect here at Chevron Towers and I will certainly be addressing all of these issues with our front line staff.

I hope you will not be deterred from returning to the resort in the future. I would like to opportunity to personally welcome you back to the resort in the future. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Being the third time staying at Chevron Towers we were looking forward to our luxury apartment .
We were allocated a two bedroom unit on the 32nd floor. The apartment was a let down, not what we have stayed in, in the past. The apartment was pretty basic, like a standard kiwi small town motel, not a luxury resort. T.V remotes could not change channel even when we brought new batteries. Curtain in bedroom was hanging of track, sliding door stuck and pretty tired decor.
We made our thoughts to reception, being GC marathon week end the place was full, we insisted we get another room, after speaking to a second receptionist, There was a room available and upon viewing it I can say it was totally better than our first room.
So if you are booking a apartment here may be get a video of the room you will be allocated, not the broucher shot!,
Other wise it's a fine place, central to shops, transport, beach and restaurants...

Room Tip: See if you can get video or photos of actual room you are allocated in your booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chevrontowers, Guest Relations Manager at Mantra Towers of Chevron, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you for your feedback.

I am glad we were able to satisfy your request for another apartment, however I am concerned about the apartment you were originally allocated. I would like to arrange an assessment to be done by our Maintenance Manager and Quality Control Officer. If you could contact me directly on stay@chevrontowers.com.au with the apartment number or the surname on the booking that would be greatly appreciated.

I am glad you enjoyed the resorts location and facilities and do hope you will not be deterred from returning to our property in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Our experience with this hotel was extremely disappointing. The reception staff’s being unwelcoming was the least of our problems. We were accused of damaging an item and charged a very high price despite ongoing discussion and dispute over the matter. This would have been understandable if this had been actually done by us, however it had not. With no evidence they had charged our credit cards. We feel this cheap tactic to scrape money off your guests is absolutely disgusting. We would never recommend Chevon Renaissance to anybody.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank probes28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chevrontowers, Public Relations Manager at Mantra Towers of Chevron, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you for your taking the time to write your review probes28,
This is certainly not the service we pride ourselves on.
I have spoken to our front line staff in regards to your card being charged for damages and would like to hear from you directly to investigate this matter. Please email fo1@chevrontowers.com.au with your surname and room number
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.1 mi away
Mantra Circle on Cavill
Mantra Circle on Cavill
#6 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
3,187 reviews
0.2 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#14 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
435 reviews
0.2 mi away
Peppers Soul
Peppers Soul
#1 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel
#12 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
3,257 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mantra on View Hotel
Mantra on View Hotel
#11 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,702 reviews
0.3 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#4 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Towers of Chevron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Towers of Chevron

Property: Mantra Towers of Chevron
Address: 23 Ferny Ave, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia (Formerly Towers of Chevron Renaissance)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 123 Specialty Lodging in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mantra Towers of Chevron 4*
Number of rooms: 358
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Mantra Towers of Chevron, located in the heart of Surfers Paradise, you will find the perfect accommodation from which to explore the beautiful and fun-filled Gold Coast. In your self-contained apartment you'll feel truly at ease. All apartments are self-contained and feature kitchens equipped with modern appliances, a full service laundry, cable TV and a DVD player. All the conveniences of home can be found here. Located atop the trendy Chevron Renaissance precinct, you need only duck downstairs to enjoy a delicious meal or to wander through unique and designer boutiques. If you're on holiday with the kids, the Infinity attraction is a must visit. They're bound to be entertained exploring the fun-house full of mirrors, optical illusions and sound effects. You can choose between 1, 2 and 3 bedroom apartments or superior apartments, which are furnished in contemporary neutral tones. Or for larger groups wishing to truly holiday in style, the 3 bedroom penthouse apartments are the ideal choice. At Mantra Towers of Chevron you will have access to the resorts Health Pavilion, featuring indoor and outdoor lap pools and full gymnasium. BBQ facilities, the private theatre and also 'Beaches in the Sky', the resorts outdoor leisure area featuring sub-tropical gardens and a 600m2 lagoon style pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mantra Towers of Chevron reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Towers Of Chevron Renaissance Hotel Surfers Paradise
Hotel Of Chevron Renaissance
Renaissance Surfers Paradise
Surfers Paradise Renaissance
Mantra Towers Of Chevron Gold Coast/Surfers Paradise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing