We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very noisy, got no sleep”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mantra Towers of Chevron
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We stayed for 5 nights in a 3 bedroom apartment on the 32nd floor. The first night the noise was so bad that we were up all night, as it was a Thursday night we only imagined what the weekend noise would be like. We had a 15 month with us and she was awake because of the noise, by 3.00 in the morning with the noise still going we were desperate, So as soon as reception opened we asked if we could change rooms, we were initially told they were fully booked and maybe if I had an extra glass of wine of wore earplugs it may help, I did not find that amusing after a night of no sleep. Another receptionist found that there was one apartment we could move to, which we hurriedly did. The only way we survived was to put the babies cot in the walk in wardrobe, as it was not on an outside wall, and she was able to sleep through, for the rest of us we just had to put up with the noise. I will never stay here in the future, we were travelling with other family and it was very difficult as we were in different towers and our key did not allow access to another floor. The apartment was in need of a makeover, the bathroom was full of mould, no bath plug meant we bathed the baby in the laundry tub. Furniture was old and the carpet was badly stained. The common areas were of a high standard, the heated pool which was one of the reasons we booked here was cold. We all suffered from a lack of sleep and that certainly makes a big difference to your holiday.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank betty w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chevrontowers, Public Relations Manager at Mantra Towers of Chevron, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013

Thank you for your review, this is certainly disappointing to read
This is certainly not the service we pride ourselves on. Unfortunately traffic noise is one of the draw backs when staying right in the heart of a busy town like Surfers Paradise. We have recently been fully booked with school holidays however I am glad we were able to satisfy your request for another apartment, however I am concerned about the apartment you were allocated. I would like to arrange an assessment to be done by our Maintenance Manager and Quality Control Officer. If you could contact me directly on stay@chevrontowers.com.au with the apartment number or the surname on the booking that would be greatly appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,782)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,175 - 4,181 of 4,782 reviews

Reviewed July 14, 2013

We stayed here before the Gold Coast marathon, and had a number of problems across the whole weekend. We had TVs that didn't work (and had to be replaced by maintenance) and sinks that wouldn't drain. We had balcony doors that were off their hinges and couldn't be locked, and elevator fobs that stopped working. We had a random guest of the hotel come into our rooms while all but one of us was asleep using an official key, to 'look around for his phone' with the blessing of hotel management. And unfortunately, it took having three people go to reception to clear up the multiple maintenance issues we had with the room, as we received no response from multiple calls to the front desk without showing up in person.

While it's a handy location and has plenty of amenities, the customer service and focus on detail in this venue is disappointingly lacking.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jared W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chevrontowers, Guest Relations Manager at Mantra Towers of Chevron, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

Thank you for your feedback.

I am sorry to hear you had several maintenance issues with the apartment you were allocated. All maintenance issues are logged for maintenance and then they attended to in order of priority/urgency.

I am sorry it took several calls/visits to reception for your issues to be addressed. It should have been logged on the very first phone call and any subsequent should have been followed up with a call to maintenance for an estimated time for them to attend the apartment.

There should certainly not be anyone entering your apartment to search for any item. Standard procedure is that we contact housekeeping for lost items as they would have be found during cleaning. We would certainly not have sent anyone to your apartment with a key and I am both sorry and disturbed to hear this has happened.

This is certainly not the standards we expect here at Chevron Towers and I will certainly be addressing all of these issues with our front line staff.

I hope you will not be deterred from returning to the resort in the future. I would like to opportunity to personally welcome you back to the resort in the future. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Being the third time staying at Chevron Towers we were looking forward to our luxury apartment .
We were allocated a two bedroom unit on the 32nd floor. The apartment was a let down, not what we have stayed in, in the past. The apartment was pretty basic, like a standard kiwi small town motel, not a luxury resort. T.V remotes could not change channel even when we brought new batteries. Curtain in bedroom was hanging of track, sliding door stuck and pretty tired decor.
We made our thoughts to reception, being GC marathon week end the place was full, we insisted we get another room, after speaking to a second receptionist, There was a room available and upon viewing it I can say it was totally better than our first room.
So if you are booking a apartment here may be get a video of the room you will be allocated, not the broucher shot!,
Other wise it's a fine place, central to shops, transport, beach and restaurants...

Room Tip: See if you can get video or photos of actual room you are allocated in your booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chevrontowers, Guest Relations Manager at Mantra Towers of Chevron, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

Thank you for your feedback.

I am glad we were able to satisfy your request for another apartment, however I am concerned about the apartment you were originally allocated. I would like to arrange an assessment to be done by our Maintenance Manager and Quality Control Officer. If you could contact me directly on stay@chevrontowers.com.au with the apartment number or the surname on the booking that would be greatly appreciated.

I am glad you enjoyed the resorts location and facilities and do hope you will not be deterred from returning to our property in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Our experience with this hotel was extremely disappointing. The reception staff’s being unwelcoming was the least of our problems. We were accused of damaging an item and charged a very high price despite ongoing discussion and dispute over the matter. This would have been understandable if this had been actually done by us, however it had not. With no evidence they had charged our credit cards. We feel this cheap tactic to scrape money off your guests is absolutely disgusting. We would never recommend Chevon Renaissance to anybody.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank probes28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chevrontowers, Public Relations Manager at Mantra Towers of Chevron, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013

Thank you for your taking the time to write your review probes28,
This is certainly not the service we pride ourselves on.
I have spoken to our front line staff in regards to your card being charged for damages and would like to hear from you directly to investigate this matter. Please email fo1@chevrontowers.com.au with your surname and room number

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Very impressed with the apartment. I had stayed there nine years ago, and expected the apartments to be somewhat tired, but had decided to go there again because of their great location. Could not have been happier. An amazing apartment, with all three bedrooms and lounge, dining, kitchen area having spectacular views of the ocean. Perfect facilities for family - so great having the supermarket, chemist etc in the shopping centre below. Very central and easy to walk around, especially to the beach. Would highly recommend!

It would be good to be provided with the option of a reasonable priced servicing charge for people that are staying a few days.

Room Tip: Room with a view of ocean - stunning. Request a higher room to minimise noise disruption
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tracy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chevrontowers, Guest Relations Manager at Mantra Towers of Chevron, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

Thank you for your lovely feedback Tracy.

I am glad to see our resort was everything you remembered it to be and you were happy with your apartment. Our property is very family friendly with world class facilities and the location is near perfect.

Your 5 star rating really is everything we aim for here at the resort. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

My friends and I stayed at this resort for a week over new year 2012/2013. We booked it through a private company and had a lovely 3 bedroom apartment in tower 2 on the 23rd floor. The rooms were large, nice bathrooms and big kitchen. However the dishwasher was disgusting. It smelt so bad that we removed the filter and then replaced it as it was revolting. Hand washing on holidays wasn't great but that was the only bad thing. The facilities were great. The pool is beautiful and there is a nice lawn near the pool to lay on. The gym was pretty good but our favourite thing was the indoor pool and the spa. The spa was fantastic. We were disappointed that it broke down on the last night. The location is fabulous. Great views, Coles underneath the hotel. Great hotel I would highly recommend it. Just note the lifts are very slow and get congested due to the amount of levels and the large volumes of people staying in the hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aus-vick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chevrontowers, Guest Relations Manager at Mantra Towers of Chevron, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

Thank you for your feedback.

I am glad to see you enjoyed your stay at the property.

Next time you travel to the Gold Coast please contact us directly for any bookings on 07 5584 8100 or stay@chevrontowers.com.au

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Tower of Chevron for 4 nights, it's very nice to stay there and very near to the beach and clean apartment.

You will be easy to get everything needed, because near the shop and mini market.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frisaba G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chevrontowers, Public Relations Manager at Mantra Towers of Chevron, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

Thank you for your review Frisaba,
We are located in the heart of Surfers Paradise with all facilities at your doorstep!
We pride ourselves on our world class facilities and our 4 star apartments.
Thank you for taking the time to write your review.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.1 mi away
Mantra Circle on Cavill
Mantra Circle on Cavill
#6 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
3,552 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mantra on View Hotel
Mantra on View Hotel
#11 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
3,054 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Surfers Paradise
Hilton Surfers Paradise
#14 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
3,388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#13 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
550 reviews
1.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
#7 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
1,694 reviews
0.3 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#5 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Towers of Chevron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Towers of Chevron

Address: 23 Ferny Ave, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia (Formerly Towers of Chevron Renaissance)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 124 Specialty Lodging in Surfers Paradise
Price Range: $105 - $459 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mantra Towers of Chevron 3.5*
Number of rooms: 358
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Mantra Towers of Chevron, all apartments are self-contained and feature kitchens equipped with modern appliances, a full service laundry, cable TV and a DVD player. Located atop the trendy Chevron Renaissance precinct, you need only duck downstairs to enjoy a delicious meal or to wander through unique and designer boutiques. You can choose between 1, 2 and 3 bedroom apartments or superior apartments, which are furnished in contemporary neutral tones. Or for larger groups wishing to truly holiday in style, the 3 bedroom penthouse apartments are the ideal choice. At Mantra Towers of Chevron you will have access to the resorts Health Pavilion, featuring indoor and outdoor lap pools and full gymnasium. BBQ facilities, the private theatre and also 'Beaches in the Sky', the resorts outdoor leisure area featuring sub-tropical gardens and a 600m2 lagoon style pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mantra Towers of Chevron reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Towers Of Chevron Renaissance Hotel Surfers Paradise
Hotel Of Chevron Renaissance
Renaissance Surfers Paradise
Surfers Paradise Renaissance
Mantra Towers Of Chevron Gold Coast/Surfers Paradise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing