We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room 1181 - Not bad, but not great either”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mantra Towers of Chevron
Reviewed May 8, 2013

We recently stayed at Towers of Chevron Renaissance in room 1181. Firstly, I have to say the rooms were decent and location is brilliant. However, I still have a few complaints. The plug for the bath tub was the wrong size, so the kids couldn't bathe. Half the light fittings did not have globes, the bathroom had 3 light fittings but only one globe which made it quite dark. The balcony was filthy and setting was very old and dirty, we went out there on day 1 and didn't go back out at all. Overall the apartment wasn't that clean, and it's not surprising given they expect the exiting tenants to clean it but do not provide any cleaning products, some spray and wipe, bucket and a cloth would not go astray. The bedding was also the cheapest money can buy which has lead me to spend a few hundred at my chiropractor. Also when ever you turn on the hot water there was a high pitch squeal throughout the whole apartment. This was to the point where it would wake up the sleeping children so showers, diswasher etc had to be scheduled. We spoke to the manager about this on the first day and was told someone would be out to fix it, I'm not sure when they were scheduled to arrive but it didn't happen in the 2 weeks we were there. Conclusion - The room was good but management of the room was poor.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chevrontowers, Guest Relations Manager at Mantra Towers of Chevron, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2013

Thank you for your feedback.

Apartment 1181 is operated by a private owner/ company. We here at the onsite management of Chevron Towers Resort are in no way associated with this particular apartment, and am sorry to say we were unable to help you during your stay.

In future we would hope you book directly with the resort and onsite management, safe in the knowledge that we have Maintanence, cleaning and housekeeping teams on site to assist with any kind of issues that may arise.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,452)
There are newer reviews for Mantra Towers of Chevron
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,906 - 3,912 of 4,452 reviews

Reviewed May 7, 2013

Booked into the Chevron renaissance, for the Anzac weekend needing 2 Three bedroom apartments as their were 8 of us. They were prompt and helpful with the reservations. Upon arrival we were helped very efficiently and shown to our rooms.
The views were spectacular, on the 29th floor.The rooms were clean and tidy, but are in need of some TLC carpets worn, lot of paint marks.
but having said that they were still very good value for money and would stay their again.

Room Tip: would stay on the highest floor you can get, not only the views but able to leave balcony windows op...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Golfer666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chevrontowers, Manager at Mantra Towers of Chevron, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2013

Thank you for your positive comments about your Anzac break at Chevron Towers.
We are currently in the process of refurbishing all of our rooms.

Do hope you are able to have another break this year and we would love to look after you again at Chevron Towers. Please contact us directly on 07 5584 8100 to book with the official onsite management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We spent a week in April staying in a 2BR 2 bathroom apartment on the 26th floor with my family. The view was amazing facing the ocean and the facilities were second to none with 3 pools, BBQ facilities and a gym. Location was perfect down the road to the beach with access to good range of eateries. Coles was next door which was so handy as we cooked ourselves mostly. I can't fault it really and we had a really relaxing week watching the sunrise every morning at 6am (then back to bed!) and also witnessed moon rise as it was full moon. Amazing place, we'll be back!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chrissa24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chevrontowers, Guest Relations Manager at Mantra Towers of Chevron, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post such a fabulous review of your stay.
Yes I agree, we have breathtaking views of both the ocean and hinterland and world class resort facilities
Love to look after you next time you are travelling our way.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Our family really enjoyed our luxurious 2 bedroom, 1 bath, fully appointed kitchen and laundry, DVD player and large TV in Tower 2 for a week which we found to be spacious and well maintained. Both bedrooms and lounge had large sliding doors opening onto a very large paved courtyard right beside a smaller pool with BBQ so it was quieter than the main one on level 5. Very close to the carpark entrance doors for ease of bag transfers. Chevron is centrally located to the beaches, shops, restaurants, Coles and Woolworth's of downtown Surfer's. We found the tower layouts confusing and carparking frustrating - perhaps maps might have avoided this? Would definitely stay here again in this room.

Room Tip: Rm 1203 was great, Chevron is in a great location.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lisa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chevrontowers, Manager at Mantra Towers of Chevron, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to reflect on your stay with us.

We are situated in the heart of Surfers Paradise with everything at your door step. Upon check in a map is issued of Chevron Towers and the carpark. I have passed your feedback onto our Front Office Manager.

We look forward to welcome you and your family back in the near future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

We recently spent 3 nights at this place. May we never go near it again.
Access from the Gold Coast Highway is difficult, with no clear signage visible from street level.
Once inside the parking area, things got worse. Which of the 3 towers were we in and where was it's parking?
We had booked a unit with 2 bathrooms and only got one.
Carpets and furniture were not clean.
The room was smelly so we slept with the windows open, but even on the 19th floor the noise from the Gold Coast Highway was enough to keep waking us every night.
There was a large hole in the wall behind one of the beds.
Accessing the pool area and shops meant taking the lift to another floor, walking through a tunnel, then catching another lift.
Then, to top it off, we were charged $30 per night more than we had been quoted, even though our booking was made a couple of months in advance.

Room Tip: don't go there
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chevrontowers, Manager at Mantra Towers of Chevron, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to reflect on your stay at Chevron Towers
I cannot distinguish from your review if you have booked privately or not.
This is defiantly not our standard as the onsite management for Chevron Towers.
For future readers please be advised that booking with us, the onsite management will ensure the above does not happen. Please note that upon check in we issue all guests with a map of the property and explain where our facilities are located. If there are any issues with your room please call reception upon arrival and we will have this rectified immediately. Our contact number is 07 55848100.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Stayed here a week with Family. This place is amazing. Our room had 2 bed rooms, 2 bathrooms, a kitchen, dinning room and lounge room. We were up really high and had a great view of everything. This place is huge and its quite easy to get lost.
The pool is so cool its like a mini beach, sand and everything! But the water was freezing even in October.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elisha86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chevrontowers, Manager at Mantra Towers of Chevron, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2013

We are so pleased to read you had an amazing stay with us.
We have glorious views of the Gold Coast and world class resort facilities.
Thank you for taking the time to write of your experience and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

I was so nervous about the apartment having read the lukewarm reviews previously. I was all prepared to roll up our sleeves to clean the apartment ourselves. But upon entering, all trepidation that i had just disappeared into thin air!! It was great!!! Clean and comfortable! No funny smells either.

We booked a 3 bedroom apartment for a party of 6 and was allocated room 1171 on Tower 1. Plenty of space to move about and thankful for all the household appliances that worked the way it should be! Fantastic views of the lagoon pool and partial view of the sea- Wow!

Location, without a doubt, as central as it could be. With Coles and other speciality shops just right down below, it couldn't get any better than this. Very convenient.

However, a few minor letdowns-

1) Lack of parking space in such a massive parking lot. We were able to park at designated lots in the BLUE section but its either reserved for permanent residents or have been taken up.

2) Reception staffs didnt go all out to ensure we didnt lost our way to our apartment. The place has 3 towers and signage were inadequate to lead us to the correct path. They didnt even inform which floor our room was. For 1171, we had thought we were on the 11th floor. And no one taught us to scan the black chip that comes with the keys each time we need access into the hotel.

3) Rooms were clean as stated above however the side tables in our rooms were a tad dusty. Might be an issue with some who expects tip top condition in a 4 star rated hotel.

4) No Tv in the rooms. Only 1 available in the living room.

5) From the 17th floor, the noises from the pool was quite audible even with the doors closed. Might be worse if booked on lower floors.

Overall, a great stay! Definitely would be back here if we visit Goldcoast again! We paid AUD1050 for this 3 bedroom and i would say for the price and the experience we had, it was all worth it! In addition we received great vouchers from the hotel- AUD$100 dining voucher at Hard Rock Cafe!

Room Tip: Choose higher floors to avoid the noise below.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eureka85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chevrontowers, Manager at Mantra Towers of Chevron, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2013

Thank you for your feedback.

We definitely have great facilities and a very central location. I am glad to hear you enjoyed your time with us.

In regards to parking, because it is not allocated it can take longer to find a park sometimes. We have enough spaces to allow 1-2 cars per apartment, however if guests arrive with multiple vehicles it can make it difficult.

We have several new staff at the resort and I will speak to all front desk staff to ensure they are all aware they need to ensure adequate directions are given to find your apartment and how to operate the security tag.

Overall I am glad to hear you had a good time and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.1 mi away
Mantra Circle on Cavill
Mantra Circle on Cavill
#6 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
3,289 reviews
0.2 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#14 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
470 reviews
0.2 mi away
Peppers Soul
Peppers Soul
#1 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel
#12 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
3,293 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mantra on View Hotel
Mantra on View Hotel
#10 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,803 reviews
0.5 mi away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#8 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
1,602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Towers of Chevron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Towers of Chevron

Address: 23 Ferny Ave, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia (Formerly Towers of Chevron Renaissance)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 123 Specialty Lodging in Surfers Paradise
Price Range: $121 - $360 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mantra Towers of Chevron 4*
Number of rooms: 358
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Mantra Towers of Chevron, all apartments are self-contained and feature kitchens equipped with modern appliances, a full service laundry, cable TV and a DVD player. Located atop the trendy Chevron Renaissance precinct, you need only duck downstairs to enjoy a delicious meal or to wander through unique and designer boutiques. You can choose between 1, 2 and 3 bedroom apartments or superior apartments, which are furnished in contemporary neutral tones. Or for larger groups wishing to truly holiday in style, the 3 bedroom penthouse apartments are the ideal choice. At Mantra Towers of Chevron you will have access to the resorts Health Pavilion, featuring indoor and outdoor lap pools and full gymnasium. BBQ facilities, the private theatre and also 'Beaches in the Sky', the resorts outdoor leisure area featuring sub-tropical gardens and a 600m2 lagoon style pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mantra Towers of Chevron reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Towers Of Chevron Renaissance Hotel Surfers Paradise
Hotel Of Chevron Renaissance
Renaissance Surfers Paradise
Surfers Paradise Renaissance
Mantra Towers Of Chevron Gold Coast/Surfers Paradise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing