We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Downunder trip”
Review of Surf Parade Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Surf Parade Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 24, 2008

Have stayed at many Hotels in Europe and USA and this one was excellent. Stayed for nearly 3 weeks and found the place to great. Almost daily used the pool and spa and meet some wonderful people. The room was nice and very clean , like the rest of the hotel area. The staff were alway very friendy and chatty. Would stay again if we end up visiting this way again.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
46  Thank DownunderLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James O, Owner at Surf Parade Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2015

Thanks for the positive reveiw. We hope that all guest have your experience

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (327)
There are newer reviews for Surf Parade Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

316 - 322 of 327 reviews

Reviewed January 9, 2008

We stayed for 10 days over Xmas / New Year . It rained all the time but that couldn’t be helped and as I was told , much needed. We arrived late and the room was clean and tidy. The reception staff had arranged a bottle of sparkling wine as I requested. Cable TV helped with the rainy days and the room was very pleasent which helped alot. Overall the place was very clean and neat , with a nice pool,sauna and spa area. The Reception staff suggested a few activities for the rainy days and were very pleasant and helpful throughout our stay. The beach was closed due to the weather , but the waves were an amazing experience. Everyone we meet there was very nice and overall , apart from the rain, we enjoyed our experience. Hopefully we will get some sunny days on our next trip.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
29  Thank MainlanderN_z_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James O, Owner at Surf Parade Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2015

Unfortunate about the rainbut pleased to see that overall it was a positve experience

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2008

For the AU$200 per night we paid, our apartment and the facilities were adequate. The whitegoods and air conditioning units were in working order, and the apartments provided reasonably sufficient space for a couple.

There was a fold-out couch for extra guests, but any extra people in the apartment would have definitely provided for insufficient space.

The pool and spa area was a reasonable size. The water in the spa looked like it hadn't been changed in a very long time, perhaps as a result of such strict water restrictions. However, such water restricions didn't stop James, one of the property managers, from spending over half an hour hosing down the footpath and surrounding concrete areas.

What really tarnished our stay was the attidude and conduct of property manager Cathy. She was not at all welcoming, and my wife and I felt like we were walking on eggshells every time we went past the reception area.

Cathy took every opportunity to berate us, whether it be for playing inflatable cricket in the pool, or leaving a shopping trolley too close to the property. On our final night, Cathy advised us in no uncertain terms that our rooms had better be spotless, and that we had better not check out one second later than 10am, at risk of incurring further charges.

I cancelled the credit card which I placed on file, in anticipation that Cathy was going to charge additional funds.

Cathy's husband James was equally as unfriendly, asking us to get off the property on new years eve, because we were apparently making too much noise.

Until the property managers undergo some very basic lessons in providing good customer service, I would strongly recommend that potential guests reconsider staying at the Surf Parade Resort.

Until then, no-one is beyond the rebuke of Cathy and James.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
18  Thank hot_pies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerGoldCoast, Manager James - 07 55388863 Please phone me re this. at Surf Parade Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2008



Litigious Review


If you read between the lines of “hot pies” review you will get a clearer picture. Unquestionably it is not in our interest as Managers to upset any guests stay. The motivation for such a review has to be questioned, especially when taking into consideration other reviews on this site.
Two other points. The spa is cleaned and monitored to an extremely high standard throughout each day, and I considered this point in the review to be very litigious . Our overall independent rating for cleanliness is outstanding. The use of spear pump water for cleaning paths etc is not restricted in the level 6 water restrictions presently in place on the Gold Coast.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2007

Stayed there in Feb 2007 for 4 nights.
The apartment looks good from the outside, service was ok, nothing special & they weren't that friendly.
I booked the hotel knowing this but thought that it wasn't necessary to have air-cond because we could get the sea breeze. Also wanted a room with a spa bath.
The room didn't have air-conditioning only ceiling fans, the first thing I noticed was that it was stifling hot & humid. We opened all the windows & there was not breeze coming in, the windows all face one direction.
We got a room on the 4th floor. It had a nice size bathroom with a spa bath and laundry facilities. It had a fully equipped kitchen but no dishwasher. Overall it could be cleaner & there wasn't much storage space for our luggage & the room was smallish. The plus was the large balcony & spa bath.
The balcony connects with next doors, so it wasn't very secure & you can't really leave your windows open all the time.
The views was nice facing the water with some water views above the buildings. The location was great only 2 blocks away from a patrolled beach. It was only 2 minutes walk. It's a fair distance to Main Beach or Surfers though, we walked & it took us around 15 minutes to go to Main Beach.
At night it was quite noisy with cars & buses passing by, it's one of the main streets between Surfers Paradise to Main Beach. I had to buy ear plugs because I couldn't sleep the first night.
The pool was nice with some shady spots & it wasn't too crowded. If we didn't open the window we would die of heat.
Overall the stay was good accept for not having the air-cond, it was much too hot .
I would only go back if they installed air-conditioning.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank AvidLil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James O, Owner at Surf Parade Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2015

All units are air cond , there are now barriers between units . Personal preferences come int play.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2007

stayed at surf parade resort in march 2007, very comfortable and clean, great pool and spa, easy walk to the beach about 2 minutes and
close to bus stops. good place to stay, but the room was a bit hot probably could do with some air con, for the price it was a good area.

9  Thank sami7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James O, Owner at Surf Parade Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2015

Thanks for the review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2007

Stayed here Jan 2006 for 2 weeks. Located halfway between centre of surfers paradise and broadbeach it was fairly handy to walk to either in about 15 mins. We had a one bedroom apt which was spacious and clean. The balcony was a very good size and was at the opposite side of the building from the seaview apts but the view was still amazing over the river and countryside beyond. We were on the top floor.
The lady at the front desk was very helpful and friendly. We hired a convertible Jeep and it was very handy to park it in the underground car park as it meant we didnt have the hassle of putting the roof back on. Only negative was that there was no air conditioning but that didnt detract too much from a good stay.

  • Stayed: January 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
17  Thank RW2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James O, Owner at Surf Parade Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2015

Thanks for the review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2006

Stayed at this hotel in 2005 for 11 days.
The property was fresh, clean and bright, in the lobby and in the rooms. The decor in the room was bright, with a real beach - feel. With a spa(!!!!) in our standard room,a full kitchen and a big balcony over- looking other hotels and the beach, we were very surprised and very happy.
We did not use the pool or tennis courts, however they were well maintained based on viewing them.
WHY DID WE NOT USE THE POOL?? Because the beach is 100m away!! The beach in this part is not over crowded, and wouls suit families and couples alike.
The hotel was 25 mins walk from Cavill ave, however the walk to central surfers involved walking along the beach, so we didnt mind!! Plenty of nearby shops, restaurants, and eateries within walking distance.
Shuttlebuses run from the road behind the property to central surfers, and all gold coast theme parks. We had no problem getting around with out a car.
Also, try the all you can eat mexican restaurant on the main road across from the shuttle pick up. AWESOME!!!!
The hotel provided heaps of activity and tour info, and the lady who runs the property was very helpful in booking tours and purchasing other tixs. She did tend to push us to visit Draculas alot though!!
Only (slight) problem with hotel - hallways to rooms were stuffy. Rooms were not like this though. So, really, no problems, had n amazing stay, and would definetely go back and stay there again!!

  • Stayed: October 2005, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
19  Thank steph_from_oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James O, Manager at Surf Parade Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2015

Thanks for the review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.7 mi away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#8 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
1,603 reviews
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
#7 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
1,655 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Breakers
The Breakers
#11 of 123 in Surfers Paradise
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Marrakesh Resort Apartments
Marrakesh Resort Apartments
#24 of 123 in Surfers Paradise
165 reviews
1.2 mi away
Chateau Beachside
Chateau Beachside
#13 of 123 in Surfers Paradise
1,693 reviews
0.5 mi away
Artique Surfers Paradise
Artique Surfers Paradise
#1 of 123 in Surfers Paradise
1,394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surf Parade Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surf Parade Resort

Address: 210 - 218 Surf Parade, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 123 Specialty Lodging in Surfers Paradise
Price Range: $99 - $212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Surf Parade Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free internet, free parking, air-conditioning, full sized tennis court, heated outdoor swimming pool, heated spa, mini-gymnasium, BBQ area and gazebo. Nestled perfectly between two of the most vibrant beach side suburbs on the Gold Coast, Surf Parade Resort offers you a relaxing and satisfying holiday. The superb one bedroom holiday apartments are perfect for couples and small families seeking comfortable and affordable Broadbeach or Surfers Paradise accommodation on the Gold Coast.Surf Parade Resort offers 98 fully self-contained apartments, all fully equipped with in-room corner spa bath, large curved balconies and air-conditioning. Each of the Broadbeach family apartments has modern interiors that are complimented by a lovely decor. Enjoy the first rate resort facilities that include a full sized tennis court, heated outdoor swimming pool, heated spa, mini-gymnasium, BBQ area and gazebo, and a lush tropical garden. All apartments have wireless internet connections available on a pay-to-use basis, thereby enabling guests to maintain email contact and internet access while on holiday. Surf Parade Resort is also a mere stone's throw away from the most exciting places on the Gold Coast. Get easy and convenient access to the most spectacular patrolled beaches and world class theme parks. Fabulous shops, innovative restaurants, trendy nightclubs and extravagant casino are all nearby our holiday accommodation in Broadbeach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Surf Parade Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surf Parade Hotel Surfers Paradise
Surf Parade Surfers Paradise
Surf Parade Resort Gold Coast/Surfers Paradise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing