We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“HOTEL FROM HELL”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Santana Holiday Resort Apartments
PERTH
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“HOTEL FROM HELL”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2012

I was booked into this hotel through expedia , the pictures were a far cry from the reality from our perspective! we arrived and building works were on in local vicinity giving everything a busy grubby feel and VERY noisy.Aside from this it resembled more hostel than hotel. The bbq area was filthy, and the pool area very unclean also. When I advised them that I would not be staying and wanted a refund the manager aggressively told me where to go. I began to take photos of grill area and bbq facilities to show expedia whom I had booked through and he told me to get off his property and "go back to england you bloody pom". Keep in mind as he is shouting this at me I have my 10 and 11 year old children tearfully in tow.
I will post photos soon to show how filthy the bbq equipment was and allow people to see more honest photos of the Santana resort gold coast!

Room Tip: go somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank VIV D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santanasurfers, Owner at Santana Holiday Resort Apartments, responded to this review, May 1, 2012
We are sorry to hear your thoughts however It is almost impossible for us to respond to this review,.
Due to the roadworks for the light rail the whole Gold Coast may appear "Grubby" but we are not ones to complain about progress.
The guest arrived at 8 am already angry and did not even want to see a room ,they had already made up their mind that Santana Resort was not for them and it was not what they wanted.The comment regarding your heratige was not said by us rather by a guest who overheard the discussion which we might add was rather loud and heard by many happy guests.
Our maitenance and cleaning was is in process .We were mulching garden beds and guests had just cooked breakfast so to clean a BBQ after each guest is almost impossible.Our BBQ is professionally cleaned at 9am each morning.Most guests clean up after themselves but sometimes this is not the case.The BBQ area is the most used in our Resort and is always kept clean.Unfortunately at that very moment it was dirty after a guest cooked breakfast.
The pool is cement and does show a watermark however our pool is cleaned daily as required by councils and we have a professional clean each week.SOMETIMES as much as you try you can't please everybody..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    32
    13
    10
    19
See reviews for
34
36
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2012

We booked a premium room and were VERY disappointed. The room wasn't cleaned properly, dirty, dusty, smelly. The lights flickered, the fan in the bedroom only worked either really fast which was loud or too slow you couldn't feel it, the fan in bathroom did not go, the bath was disgusting and had brown marks in it.
It looked absolutely nothing like the pictures. It felt more like a backpackers. The pool was ok and the people in the office were plesant enough but if your wanting a reasonable place to stay I wouldn't recommend.
I would say more 2 stars.... Sorry!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Simonnsarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santanasurfers, Manager at Santana Holiday Resort Apartments, responded to this review, May 1, 2012
Thank you for your review we apprecaite it greatly.
We sometimes get the odd comment about cleaning and we will follow up with our cleaners.We do try and ensure that our cleaning standards are of the highest quality.We use quality products and ensure our cleaners are trained well.We are really sorry that it did not meet your expectations.

We ask guests at check in to let us know if you notice anything that needs attending to like lights etc so we are able to fix these items to ensure you have a plesant stay.We have checked the fan and replaced this.Our bathrooms don't have exhaust fans so that is why is doesn't work.it is a vent only.

We are self contained Hoiliday Units so many guests get confused by this however I can ensure you we are 3 and a half star quality.Hostels have shared accommodation you certainly dont get your own room with a 42inch Plasma TV,DVD air-conditioning with your own bathroom shower, toliet and kitchen.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Surfers Paradise hotels

Astana, Kazakhstan
Level Contributor
130 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2012

Great resort for silence seekers. If you came to GOLD Coast for partying this is not the place, you want to stay in, because of its remote location from the downtown. 20-25 minutes-walk to the downtown of Surfers Paradise. It was hard for us to find a decent and mid.priced place to eat. You have to walk north to Surfers or south to Broadbeach if you are looking for food or some place to drink at.
Otherwise, this hotel is great. Big clean rooms. Very convenient kitchen. Great TV Screen. Nice swimming pool and jakuzzi.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bah881
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santanasurfers, Manager at Santana Holiday Resort Apartments, responded to this review, April 11, 2012
Thank you for your feedback we appreciate it greatly.

We are so please that you enjoyed the quiet atmosphere that Santana Resort provides as most of our guests prefer it to the crowds in Surfers Paradise and Broadbeach.The night life in both these areas can be annoying especially at 2am when your trying to sleep.Many guests enjoy the walk 10 mins to broadbeach and 20 mins to Surfers rather than taking the car but we do have a great free carparking facility and the bus stop is just out on the highway.The area between Broadbeach and Surfers Paradise is certainly going ahead with many new cafes and Resturants opening they are very trendy so yes not cheap but then McDonalds ,Sushi Train,Wok n Box are the cheaper options across the road.Hope you can come back and see us next time you need a break from the busy city life.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2012

I've recently spent 5 days over in Santana with my sister and I must say, I really miss my time at Santana. In fact, we were really sorry we had to leave so fast!

Great location, with a bus stop right outside the Shell station. You can get Chinese and Japanese food across the road, so don't worry about starving if you can't cook! I must say the greatest difference between Santana and other resorts is the owners Racquel and Anthony. They make you feel really welcome and assist you in any way possible. Thank you so much for making our stay in Gold Coast such an enjoyable one! =D

Definitely will be back if I'm in Gold Coast!

P.S we are really sorry about the umbrella!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shiny T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santanasurfers, Owner at Santana Holiday Resort Apartments, responded to this review, April 3, 2012
Hi Girls,thanks you for your feedback we appreciate it greatly.We are so pleased that you had a great stay with us,it was so nice to meet you both and do hope you can stay with us again when next you visit the Gold Coast.We were happy to help you out with all your sightseeing and we were so happy to hear that you survived the sky diving experiance !!
Anthony and Racquel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2012

My wife and I recently spent seven days in Gold Coast staying at Santana. Every day we were out and about doing this, that and the next thing. Santana's location is perfect for catching not only the Theme Park buses, but buses in general. Public transport actually seems to function well in Australia (read: There is actually a public transport system), which is very strange for people coming from NZ!

The owners were both awesome! They were always there to have a chat and a laugh, but they were never in your face. It wasn't as though you were constantly being supervised, badgered, and observed and treated like little children who might be a little too drunk to run around the pool without causing an awful mess when you inevitably slip and split your skull. They treated you like decent people, and we couldn't have asked for more. They made great suggestions for sight-seeing, and also made the booking process for different tours very easy.

The room was fully self-contained with laundry facilities in the bathroom, which made life much simpler. There are really only so many times you can wear your lucky boxers before they turn people away from across the street, regardless of how much cologne you may have bathed in. The bedroom had a decent bed, and the air-con and overhead fan were a lot of help during the nights. The kitchen is fully equipped with a dish washer, which is great, because we weren't sure if we could rent any homeless children to do our dish washing for us whilst abroad.

The games/Internet room looked like fun, but in truth we only used it a few times to send some E-Mails, and download pictures which might have gotten us into trouble had we used our own IP Address. After that we'd leave. Having said that, the pool table, table tennis, ping-pong and arcade games looked fun. Though that wasn't what this holiday was about. This was a time for heavy drinking, mind-numbing oggling and snorkling.

The heated pool and adjoining spa were absolutely brilliant! We spent a lot of time in there. It became something of a communal hub for meeting people (those that wanted to actually meet other people, that is), and that made it all a lot more fun. I suppose the only gripe I have with the holiday is that we couldn't rent a taser to fend off all those annoying "Party Tour" people *cough* Plan B *cough* who accosted you on every other corner, trying to sell you deals to the local night life before they (for legal reasons I will add) may potentially drug you, steal your kidneys and possibly sell your image to some porn site. They were easily the biggest turn off on our trip.

But, I digress, Santana was an awesome stay. An absolutely great place with wonderful people. The next time we go to Gold Coast we'll be staying there again!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Erin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2012

We stayed here for 8 days and loved it. Was meant to only be 6 days but ended up staying longer because we liked it so much. The building is easy to find, close to bus stop and close to shops and restaurants (about a 10 minute walk). The pool area is lovely and they keep it really nice and clean. There is a BBQ for everyone yo use, a games room with a computer and the owners are really helpful with information on what to do in the area. I think the bad comments before must have been by people that did not obey the rules (no glass in pool area and strict closing time of pool area), because our experience of the owners was amazing and they are the kind of people that would never raise their voice unless they absolutely have to. The apartment was large, very clean and had fans in all rooms except the bathroom. Well equipped kitchen and large fridge. Really nice that they start you off with a small package of soaps, dish washing liquid etc so that you do no have to rush of to the store straight away. Wish they had a few more film channels on the TV, was mostly sport channels. They do however rent out films so that helps a lot, and the guy really knows about films and recommended a good one for us. All in all we really enjoyed our stay, and would recommend it to anybody visiting the Gold Coast.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissTravelFreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2012

I truly enjoyed my stay here, the rooms were immaculate and anything we needed the owners were only to happy to help. It's close to everything you need and the rooms supply you with everything. The atmosphere is completely relaxing and was a perfect place to have our holiday! We will be back!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HolyMosesCarla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santanasurfers, Owner at Santana Holiday Resort Apartments, responded to this review, March 12, 2012
We loved meeting you and look forward to your next stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
1.1 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#16 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
#6 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,151 reviews
1.8 mi away
Alpha Sovereign Hotel
Alpha Sovereign Hotel
#17 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Mantra on View Hotel
Mantra on View Hotel
#12 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,400 reviews
1.3 mi away
Vibe Hotel Gold Coast
Vibe Hotel Gold Coast
#18 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,865 reviews
0.8 mi away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#8 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santana Holiday Resort Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santana Holiday Resort Apartments

Property: Santana Holiday Resort Apartments
Address: 7-15 Monte Carlo Ave, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Santana Holiday Resort Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Santana Holiday Resort Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santana Holiday Resort Apartments Hotel Surfers Paradise
Santana Holiday Hotel Apartments
Santana Holiday Resort Apartments Gold Coast/Surfers Paradise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing