We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Q1 Is Horrible Dont Waste Your Money”
Review of Q1 Resort and Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Q1 Resort and Spa
Ranked #4 of 33 Hotels in Surfers Paradise
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 24, 2009

We have just returned from a week on the Gold Coast where we stayed at Q1 Resort. The room was disgusting, it was absolutley filthy. As soon as we walked in we noticed the floors were dirty but it got worse in the bathroom. There was dried urine on the walls and pubic hairs on the toilet seats (obviously left over from the people who had stayed there before us). the room smelt like sewage and benches and doors were sticky to touch. Repulsed I immediatley called reception and asked them to clean the room, thinking there had been a mistake and we were given a room that had not been cleaned yet. Unfortunatley this was not the case, the manger sent up cleaners but they had no intention of trying to clean up the room. They ran a wet rag over the toilet and left. The duty manager was completely unhelpful. We were so unhappy with our accommodation that one hour after checking in we requested a refund which they REFUSED forcing us to stay to avoid forgoing the moeny we paid. Oh and after all this charged us an unexpected $40 fee at checkout for a baby cot something they had failed to mention we would have to pay for.

Stayed: January 2009, traveled with family
3  Thank charmathan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,714)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,588 - 2,594 of 2,714 reviews

Reviewed January 18, 2009

My stay at the q1 is mixed, but majority of the time was great.

When we first walked into the foyer, we realised it STUNK really bad. Like it had a broken sewerage pipe. This didnt go away at all even when we left. The lift sort of smelt too.

The lift though is so fast. It took 20 seconds to reach our 3 bedroom apartment on the 56th floor ( your ears also pop).

Our apartment over looked the city and the beach. It was THE most spectacular view i have seen!!! we didnt even need to pay to go on the Q DECK, Which is a 360 degree view at the top of the Q1. we could already see everything.

The shower was awful. Hot one second, cold the next. And it didnt have much pressure.
I suppose there were water restrictions but it was quite annoying after the 1st day!!

The apartment was also HUGE!! There were 7 of us in this apartment and we had so much room. we didnt feel crowded the whole time.

The kitchen though isnt fully equipt with all utensils you need.. dont buy canned foods as there isnt a can opener! =)
But theres plenty of cups and plates and if you love coffee and tea, they have a huge range of different types of tea/coffee which the staff refill each day!

The in house movies are cheap. About $4. as there isnt many foxtel channels to watch.

And the Q1 is in walking distance of EVERYTHING. we went to cavill avenue every day and didnt take us longer than 10 minutes. Thats leaving the apartment door.

Down outside the Q1, on ground floor, there is a convienience store to get some food, which was handy ( but IGA is a few minutes walk away) and 'cold rock' ice cream is right under the hotel, which we went everyday, twice a day!

There are plenty of restaurants nearby ( theres a great little italian place right oposite 'pancakes in paradise') and there are always people on the streets so it feels very safe in the night walking back!

One thing... the sun comes up at 4:30, so maybe close the blinds before sleeping. (the view at night is wonderful though)
But make sure the air-con isnt on, as it makes the blind cord hit the window ALL night!

Also when your there go to 'Royal Copenhagen Ice Cream'. its right near cavill shopping centre and 'galleria' on cavill avenue.

I cant wait to come back. I would recommend the q1. But ask for a great view!!! =)

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Lauren C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2009

Our excitement about staying in this ultra modern much talked about skyscraper began to wane when, on our arrival, we noticed thirteen cracked panes of glass in the portico leading into the hotel. A large section of glass window separating the foyer and the water feature outside was also shattered and remained that way for our entire six day stay. On exiting the lift on the 22nd floor we found the lift area and passages in need of a good vacuum. This was cleaned two days later! On entering our one bedroom apartment the first thought in my mind was "sterile concrete box". It was stark in both furniture and colour (mostly grey & white with cream sofas). There were no splashes of colour to break the monotony. The cleanliness of the apartment left a lot to be desired. There were fingermarks on the glass dining and coffee tables. Crockery and cutlery had not been cleaned properly (my guess is they had just been rinsed). There was only one wine glass and no wine opener. The sofa's (actually sofa beds) were extremely uncomfortable to sit in. The sofa cushions were so soft we could feel the metal of the bed frame underneath. To get out of the sofa's required assistance. The pulldown white blinds had metal rods in the bottom and as the windows did not seal correctly the wind made the blinds clang against the metal window frames. To be able to sleep the blinds were left open and as the sun rose at 4.30am so did we. Not the leisurely relaxing holiday we had envisaged. My review is not all bad. The swimming pool areas and gardens were beautiful and well maintained (although the spa was out of order). The poolside cafe served delicious innovative food and the service was good.
These last two good points however are not enough to have me consider staying at Q1 again.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank AdventureLady9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2009

At 1st, I booked the 2 Bedrooms 1 bath, ocean view on the 20th floor @ $800/5nts from 1-5/12/08, http://www.stayz.com.au/15130 (page has been removed). Later, was informed that another unit on the 27th floor, hinterland view was available and was given free upgrade as the unit was more spacious and is a 2 Bedrooms 2 baths unit, http://www.stayz.com.au/15129. Of course, I am happy to take up the offer after viewing the pictures as posted.

BUT I was wrong, my bond of $300 was not refunded being accused of moving the side table & pushed the two single beds together to form a king size bed in bedroom 2 that caused a big hole (the size of a tissue box) in the wall, that was RIDICULOUS!!!!

WORST, a broken chair was left in the master bedroom wardrobe, he must well said that I broke that chair too. Microwave & Oven were so dirty and the unit was not properly cleaned before we moved in :-(

I have requested for photos on 8/12/08 and receipt to proof for that rectification works and had yet to receive any photos/proof as todate, my last email was on 24/12/08 and no news from him after that.

I wanted to leave my review at the web page but the system do not allow. I think others might have encountered the same experience as me. Now, I understand why no review has been posted lately and the last posting was on January 2007.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank fabulousEve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2008

I visited Goldcoast last month and its probably the wrong time to visit! The whole of Goldcoast is full of schoolies and these kids are rowdy ALL the time. I stayed on the 13th floor and I could hear kids screaming, shouting, singing and running on the streets below even in the wee hours! While the service apartment is very modern, spacious and has great views, I failed to understand why it cant soundproof its windows! The entire hotel is FULL of partying and drinking teenagers.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank azechan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2008

Stayed on the 38th floor in a 2 bedroom apartment at Q1 and it has amazing views, both of the city and the ocean . The apartments are very large, with lots of living space, full kitchen , lounge area with TV
full size dining room and a table for 6. Large bedrooms with good size bathrooms - the ensuite to bedroom 1 has full glass wall so sitting in the bath you get a panoramic view of the Gold Coast.
Perfect location only 2 minutes walk to the beach
Good pool area with lots of sun lounged. 2 large pools outside and a large heated indoor pool,good gym with decent equipment .

Q1 is perfect for families and is mainly marketed to 20something couples and singles , but was perfect for a family of 2 adults & 3 children . My only comment would be- on Friday & Saturday nights it does get very noisy . There seems to be a big population of weekend traffic to the resort and it can be very crowded on Saturdays & Sundays by the pool .
Would definitely stay there again .

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank currieinc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2008

I love this Hotel! the building is fantastic! serivce was ok not to bad.. altho i had to contact the resception twice to have a 3rd bed brought up to the room (which was requested on booking)

Very stylish! VERY moden! heated pool tho? kinda cold not very heated. and seprate male and female saunas which wasnt very good for us as we had 4 people (2 male, and 2 Female) and we couldnt enjoy it together.

I will stay here again! its amazing!

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank patullose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.3 mi away
Peppers Soul
Peppers Soul
#1 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
2,600 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Surfers Paradise
Hilton Surfers Paradise
#12 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
3,432 reviews
0.8 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#5 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
2,850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#13 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
609 reviews
0.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
#8 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
1,719 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mantra Circle on Cavill
Mantra Circle on Cavill
#6 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
3,662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Q1 Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Q1 Resort and Spa

Address: 9 Hamilton Avenue, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#2 Family Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#4 Romantic Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#4 Luxury Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#4 Business Hotel in Surfers Paradise
Price Range: $125 - $530 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Q1 Resort and Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 527
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
‘Australia’s Tallest Residential Tower’ ... Q1 Resort & Spa Surfers Paradise offers 1,2,3Bed & Sub Penthouse Luxury Apartments with unique glass enclosed Balconies & Spa Baths, 24 hour reception & security, unparalleled resort facilities on a beach front location & set amid one hectare of landscaped grounds. Q1 Resort & Spa features two lagoon swimming pools, heated indoor lap pool & spa, alfresco poolside Cafe & Bar & our famous "Seventy 7 Buffet Breakfast" located level 77 floor above ground with viewing platform. A world class gymnasium, saunas & steam rooms, private theatrette, conferencing & wedding facilities, children’s games room & our award winning Q1 Day Spa await you. The Q1 tower also hosts Australia’s only beach side External Tower Adventure Climb from level 77 to 80 ... Q1 Resort & Spa towers over the Gold Coast with views to match. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Q1 Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
q1 Hotel Surfers Paradise
q1 Resort Surfers Paradise
Q1 Resort And Spa Gold Coast/Surfers Paradise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing