We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty good”
Review of Q1 Resort and Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Q1 Resort and Spa
Ranked #5 of 32 Hotels in Surfers Paradise
Certificate of Excellence
Toowoomba, Australia
1 review
“Pretty good”
Reviewed April 23, 2013

We have stayed here before and I booked our weekend at the end of the easter holidays on the internet, specifically booking an ocean view room. We were on the 49th floor which was fantastic, but it wasn't the ocean view I was expecting. Previously we were in a sub-penthouse which of course was amazing, but I also knew what the view was like, which prompted me in choosing the ocean view over the spa room. Felt like we were a bit ripped off there, but all in all, a lovely place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samantha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nippers101, Front Office Manager at Q1 Resort and Spa, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear Samantha B,

Thankyou for your feedback on Trip Advisor. We appreciate all those who take the time to let us and other know about thier Q1 experience as it assists us in maintaining the quality of the Resort.

I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that you have had a great time at Q1 in the past as well. Our world famous views are indeed one of the reasons why so many people keep coming back and I am sorry that on this occaision, your view did not live up to your expectations. The views from the Sub-Penthouses are amongst the best that Q1 has to offer. The three bedroom Skyrise apartments also have superior views which incorporate the ocean, however, they are generally not as high as the Sub-Penthouses.

Thankyou again for your valuable comments. I look forward to welcoming you back to Q1 Resort again and trust that you next stay (and your view) will be even better.

Kind regards,


Melissa Papp
Front Office Manager
Q1 Resort and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,503 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,227
    693
    302
    153
    128
See reviews for
961
697
42
103
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (748)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Well as soon as we arrived at the q1 we were shocked it was so nice we checked in straight away, got into our rooms and it was amazing!
On the second day one of the cleaners came into our room to clean whilst we were gone we come back and our iPad and iPod were gone, the reception were very rude about it and didn't do nothing, the reception are no help at all. Besides that the rooms are very beautiful and spacious but I honestly wouldn't go back there again, paid 4000 for 9 nights, i rather spend that money on a place I can probably trust!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amyleeadamson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nippers101, Front Office Manager at Q1 Resort and Spa, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear amyleeadamson,

Thankyou for taking the time to write on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay at Q1 Resort and Spa. All feedback is important to us and is used to identify any areas that may require improvement so that we may continue to meet and exceed the expectations of our valued guests.

I am pleased that you found the spacious apartment to be beautiful and spacious. Indeed, many of our guests comment on the apartments, the facilities and of course the great views. I was concerned to read that an Ipad and Ipod went missing during your stay. Your review implicates our staff and states that we did "nothing". In fact, a full and thorough investigation was conducted by Q1 Management involving reading the electronic key lock and the conclusion of the investigation found overwhelmingly that Q1 staff were not involved in this alleged theft. This was ascertained very early in the investigation and reported to the occupants. A statement made by the occupants was received by the Manager on Duty acknowledging that the items in question were still in the apartment after our housekeeping staff finished attending to the unit. At the time we advised that you should contact the police regarding this matter. I urge you to once again contact the police as making false claims on social media will not resolve this.

Kind regards,

Melissa Papp
Front Office Manager
Q1 Resort and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
65 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

We have just spent 4 nights at Q1 in a one bedroom apartment. Although there was only 2 of us, there would have been heaps of room for 2 children or another 2 adults as well. The room was very spacious and well presented. There was a full kitchen and washing machine and dryer. We were on the 25th Floor facing north east towards the beach and it was a great view. We booked it through a property rental place rather than with the hotel directly (worked out cheaper). The place was very clean. The pools at the resort were really nice and would be great for children (just don't forget to take you room tag with you as you need this to get in and out of most of the doors).
Q1 is very centrally located and easily walking distance to downtown Surfers shopping area. It is within a very short distance of the beach. The only draw back to booking through a property management company is there is no daily servicing of the apartment but there were plenty of towels provided and with the washing machine on hand we could have washed our own anyway. Our hallway did smell of rubbish as we were very close to the room with the rubbish chute but the smell didn't come into the room. We would definitely return to Q1 with the family.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dlrobins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nippers101, Front Office Manager at Q1 Resort and Spa, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear dlrobbins,

Thankyou for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor regarding your recent Q1 experience. We genuinely appreciate all feedback and use it to continuously improve upon the Resort so that we continue to meet and exceed the expectations of our valued guests.

I am pleased that you enjoyed the facilities and the convenient location of Q1 to the world famous Surfers Paradise beach, local shops and restaurants. Indeed, our Managed apartments are fully self contained and very spacious. As you did not stay at the Resort, I cannot comment upon the standard of your accommodation. Unlike your stay, Resort guests enjoy access to housekeeping services, as well as 24 reception, tour desk, luggage storage and free parking.

We believe that you haven't really stayed at Q1 until you have stayed as a Resort guest. I urge you to consider this upon your next visit to Surfers Paradise.

Kind regards,

Melissa Papp
Front Office Manager
Q1 Resort and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyttelton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
182 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Clean, tidy, spacious, well situated, well-appointed, good views, modern, on-site convenient car parking, choice of pools. The 2 bedroom apartment was well funished and massive! The "indoor" balconies are both good and bad - would be nice to have a real balcony but the set-up keeps the wind and rain out. All in all we were impressed. I was a bit surprised by the constant referrals in the literature and even a plasma screen in reception about all of the things guests can do which would "result in eviction" - clearly there is the potential for problems and if this is what is needed to keep the place decent then fair enough but we found it a little over the top and unwelcoming. Otherwise pretty perfect though. Well situated one block back from the beach, a short walk to shops and restaurants - great.

Room Tip: North facing with a water view would be the best. The higher the floor the better the view (obviousl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frankiethe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nippers101, Front Office Manager at Q1 Resort and Spa, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear frankiethe,

Thankyou for taking the time to write on line about your recent stay at Q1 Resort and Spa. We genuinely appreciate all feedback and use it to proactively improve upon the Resort and the services we provide.

I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you enjoyed the spacious apartment as well as the Resorts convenient undercover parking, proximity to shops, restaurants and of course the beach. Q1 Resort is also Australia's tallest residential tower and is governed by certain residential by-laws which are required to be on display around the general areas. I am sorry if this made you feel unwelcomed as we desire all of our guests to have a great time and a safe time.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Q1 Resort in the future and trust that your next stay will be even better.

Warm regards,

Melissa Papp
Front Office Manager
Q1 Resort and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
64 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Either the builders of this apartment block ran out of money or....I can't think of another why reason this place is designed so badly. Staff are not interested in providing a service...a lot of their answers are 'yeah, I guess so....I dunno.....I assume.....nothing to do with us'. At one point we woke up to no electricity and when we try to call reception, the phones didn't work. We called from our mobile, they asked for our room number, when we told them and they said 'really, do we even have a room with that number?' When we booked a cab through them , they said 'sure, tell the cab driver it's booked under room 1005' (this wasn't our number). Beds are super soft and only double in size. Blinds in the room knocked all night because of either the air con or the open window. This building looks fancy from the outside ONLY.

Room Tip: There are heaps of other places to stay on the Gold Coast that are a little closer to the 'scene...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jutes68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nippers101, Front Office Manager at Q1 Resort and Spa, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear jutes68,

Thankyou for taking the time to write about your recent experience on line about your stay in the Q1 building. Q1 Resort Management values all feedback and uses it to improve upon to product and services that we provide to our valued guests.

The photo that you provided does not appear to be one from a Q1 Resort Managed apartment. It appears from your review that you did not stay at Q1 Resort and Spa. The apartment that you stayed in is not managed by us, rather, it belongs to a private owner who has let it out to you. This would explain the poor quality of furnishings that you experienced in the room and that Resort reception did not have a record of your apartment number. I urge you to consider staying with the Resort next tme you are on the Gold Coast and trust that you will not be let down.

Kind regards,

Melissa Papp
Front Office Manager
Q1 Resort and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helensvale, Australia
1 review
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Every year, 8 of us go on an annual golf trip and this year we decided the Gold Coast and the Q1. Easily the best accommodation we have stayed in over the 6 years we have been doing this. We had 3 bedroom and 2 bedroom apartments on the 39th floor. The rooms were in great condition and the air conditioning and any appliances we used all worked perfectly. The staff were friendly and helpful. Plenty of great restaurants and cafés nearby for breaky and dinner. The resort is only a few hundred metres from the beach and being only a few blocks from Cavil Avenue, its close enough, without having to put up with the Friday and Saturday night noise.

I now have family booking into the Q1 for their next stay on the Gold Coast.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank BRC0909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nippers101, Front Office Manager at Q1 Resort and Spa, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Dear BRC0909,

Thankyou for taking the time to share your recent Q1 experience online. All feedback is appreciated and Q1 Management understands that this is part of assuring quality as well as identifying needs for any improvements.

I am pleased that you loved every aspect of your stay with us. So many guests comment upon the awesome views, ideal location and spacious, fully self contained apartments. I am pleased that you found the staff to be friendly and accommodating too.

I look forward to welcoming you and your family upon your next stay and trust that it will be just as memorable.

Kind regards,


Melissa Papp
Front Office Manager
Q1 Resort and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Q1 is in a great location. Far enough from Cavill Avenue to avoid the rabble but close enough for a leisurely stroll. We had a 2 bed 2 bath unit on the 49th floor. Rooms were nice with an amazing view of the Gold Coast. Beds were extremely uncomfortable and we had to put the top mattress on the floor to improve the ability to sleep. Staff were not friendly and did not make you feel like you were on holiday. They were not approachable or helpful. This is possibly due to the Q1 having a combination of holiday rentals as well as permanent residents? Would recommend for location and view only.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DooRat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nippers101, Front Office Manager at Q1 Resort and Spa, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear DooRat,

Thankyou for taking the time to share your recent Q1 experience online at Trip Advisor. All feedback is important to us and Management read these reviews to assist in continuously improving the Resort for our valued guests.

I am pleased that you enjoyed the apartment and the great views plus the location. I was concerned to read that you found the matress to be uncomfortable, I am sorry that you did not enjoy a good nights sleep which is naturally an essential component of a great stay. Our Owner services Manager has been informed of this and will investigate all the apartments that the Resort manages on the 49th floor to ensure this is rectified. I apologise that you felt the staff did not live up to your expectations in terms of friendliness and helpfulness. Please be assurred that this will also be adressed.

Kind regards,

Melissa Papp
Front Office Manager
Q1 Resort and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.8 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#4 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
2,635 reviews
0.3 mi away
Peppers Soul
Peppers Soul
#1 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
2,057 reviews
0.3 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#14 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel
#12 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
3,206 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mantra Circle on Cavill
Mantra Circle on Cavill
#6 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
3,068 reviews
0.0 mi away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#8 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
1,440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Q1 Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Q1 Resort and Spa

Property: Q1 Resort and Spa
Address: 9 Hamilton Avenue, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#3 Spa Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#4 Business Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#4 Romantic Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#5 Luxury Hotel in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Q1 Resort and Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 527
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
‘Australia’s Tallest Residential Tower’ ... Q1 Resort & Spa Surfers Paradise offers 1,2,3Bed & Sub Penthouse Luxury Apartments with unique glass enclosed Balconies & Spa Baths, 24 hour reception & security, unparalleled resort facilities on a beach front location & set amid one hectare of landscaped grounds. Q1 Resort & Spa features two lagoon swimming pools, heated indoor lap pool & spa, alfresco poolside Cafe & Bar & our famous "Seventy 7 Buffet Breakfast" located level 77 floor above ground with viewing platform. A world class gymnasium, saunas & steam rooms, private theatrette, conferencing & wedding facilities, children’s games room & our award winning Q1 Day Spa await you. The Q1 tower also hosts Australia’s only beach side External Tower Adventure Climb from level 77 to 80 ... Q1 Resort & Spa towers over the Gold Coast with views to match. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Q1 Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
q1 Hotel Surfers Paradise
q1 Resort Surfers Paradise
Q1 Resort And Spa Gold Coast/Surfers Paradise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing