We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not a four star resort staff shocking”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Artique Surfers Paradise
Certificate of Excellence
taranaki
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“not a four star resort staff shocking”
Reviewed June 29, 2010

we payed for a oceanview room on the 19th floor was facing towards buildings with a slight beach view on the left, bed was buggered could feel the springs in our backs, summer sheets and a thin blanket when the nights got cold when asked for more blankets the receptionist was rude and unhelpful saying their was no spare blankets and to turn the heater on, had to buy own toilet paper, dishwashing liquid, washing powder, and had to do own dishes and remove rubbish before leaving, this was not informed to us before booking, to use the theratre u had to pay $100 bond and supply your own movie, again none of this was stated before we booked. very disapointing, would not stay here again

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank racheal19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArtiqueSP, General Manager at Artique Surfers Paradise, responded to this review, July 9, 2015
Dearest Guest of Artique,

We have just noticed that the previous management team has somehow missed responding to your review. We apologise that you did not get a response. Please let us know if you would like to return to Artique and don't forget to let us know that you are a return guest :)

Kindest regards
Melissa & Josh

General Managers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,384 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    780
    440
    86
    45
    33
See reviews for
679
388
35
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (343)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2010

Stayed in this hotel for 3 nights. Very accessible to all major attractions. If you love the beach, this is the hotel for you, just a few stpes from the hotel door is the lovely beach. Staff were friendly and knowlegeable. Will definitely stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank miched28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArtiqueSP, General Manager at Artique Surfers Paradise, responded to this review, July 9, 2015
Dearest Guest of Artique,

We have just noticed that the previous management team has somehow missed responding to your review. We apologise that you did not get a response. Please let us know if you would like to return to Artique and don't forget to let us know that you are a return guest :)

Kindest regards
Melissa & Josh

General Managers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kinloch, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2010

Arrived early looking to drop off our suitcases. Staff made every effort to make our room ready for us on arrival. Room was great. Large and well equipped. Two bathrooms made our room perfect when travelling with teenagers. Short walk to the beach and resteraunts but not noisy. Good underground carpark. Pool and gym good but not resort like. Overall just what we needed.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank keithedson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArtiqueSP, General Manager at Artique Surfers Paradise, responded to this review, July 9, 2015
Dearest Guest of Artique,

We have just noticed that the previous management team has somehow missed responding to your review. We apologise that you did not get a response. Please let us know if you would like to return to Artique and don't forget to let us know that you are a return guest :)

Kindest regards
Melissa & Josh

General Managers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2010

Husband, myself and two teenage children had booked months ago for Chevron and Circle on Cavill but company we booked through went into liquidation day before we left to go on holiday. B Accommodated, a holiday group came to the rescue and offered us Artique at 60% off so AUD 85 per night which was fantastic and we are very grateful. We stayed on 23rd floor in apartment 3. Not run by the Hotel but managed by B Accommodated. 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, open plan lounge, dining and kitchen. Huge wardrobes. Flatscreen TV in lounge and main bedroom (no AUSTAR though). Everything you could want provided including free carpark. Full kitchen. Due to price and last minute booking apartment was not serviced in the two weeks we were there. I did clean it but had to buy cleaning products as none provided. Vacumn was terrible. Apartment is modern and reasonably clean but terrible smell comes up through main bathroom grate overnight which was a shame - we covered grill with a thick towel which solved problem. Main bedroom had king bed which really was two king singles pushed together, very hard ridge in the middle so had to stay on own side of the beds. Two single beds in the second bedroom. Both had ranchsliders off to the deck as did the dining room. Big decks with direct view over Surfers shopping. Ocean to the right and hinterland to the left. Lobby area beautiful. Pool area clean and well kept with a spa, gym, steam room and sauna. Pool a bit cold for June despite being heated! Would be nice in Spring/Summer. 5 minute walk to small grocery store, 5 minute drive into surfers and 10 minutes to Broadbeach and Pacific Fair. Pretty quick to all the theme parks to as we hired a car. Theme parks very quiet, no queues so good time to go. Road noise and ocean noise fairly minimal at 23rd floor. I would recommend as handy, modern, large but at the right price, which ours definitely was! We didn't deal with office staff as they made it clear when we arrived that they had nothing to do with the private apartments.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ryck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArtiqueSP, General Manager at Artique Surfers Paradise, responded to this review, July 9, 2015
Dearest Guest of Artique,

We have just noticed that the previous management team has somehow missed responding to your review. We apologise that you did not get a response. Please let us know if you would like to return to Artique and don't forget to let us know that you are a return guest :)

Kindest regards
Melissa & Josh

General Managers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
312 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2010

I cannot rate this resort highly enough, one of the best resorts i have stayed at in many years.
the apartment was Huge!!, it had 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms bonus!!!, a LCD tv with unlimited TV viewing capabiliteis (not locked down) with Austar bonus!!!, the swimming pool was sensational, the level we stay at was perfect floor 18 we had a mavelous view of surfers , Q1, the hinterland did i say awesome!!!, recepetion was modern, close to public transport, 10 minute walk from surfers, close to nearly everything. simply marvelous, the room was mirrored with made it look bigger than it was, floor to ceiling window that had unintrupted views of the GC, a hugh wave style balcony, modern comfortable beds, furniture was top notch, kitchen was excellent with oven, access to 2 sub public balconies (fire exits) at the rear of the apartment which allowed the guest to view the south side of the Gold coast, close to partrolled beaches i just wished i could of stayed there for 2, No 3 weeks or more senstational. Note: I do realise the resort is facing north so no full ocean views but as you can see from the pictures i included i think you are agree who cares if the resort is facing north

  • Stayed October 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SugBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArtiqueSP, General Manager at Artique Surfers Paradise, responded to this review, July 9, 2015
Dearest Guest of Artique,

We have just noticed that the previous management team has somehow missed responding to your review. We apologise that you did not get a response. Please let us know if you would like to return to Artique and don't forget to let us know that you are a return guest :)

Kindest regards
Melissa & Josh

General Managers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2010

The only thing 4.5 star about this place is the foyer pool bbq area.After paying all expenses up front the manager demands a fee on our credit card of another $300 before we could get access to our room-this really set the sean.On entering room there was a terrible smell which eventually dissipated with air condition on full and windows open.There were so many marks on walls and stains on carpet we took photos so they could not bill us for damage later.They even instructed us to Count plates cup and saucers to check if any were missing -we refused .The ladies at reception were unfriendly and unhelpful ,we were left felling that we had just interrupted there day with any inquires we had .

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tigersden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArtiqueSP, General Manager at Artique Surfers Paradise, responded to this review, July 9, 2015
Dearest Guest of Artique,

We have just noticed that the previous management team has somehow missed responding to your review. We apologise that you did not get a response. Please let us know if you would like to return to Artique and don't forget to let us know that you are a return guest :)

Kindest regards
Melissa & Josh

General Managers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nsw
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 20, 2010

The Artique is a very modern hotel. Close to the heart of Surfers and the beach. It has a great size pool and the staff are friendly. The only problem I found is that I could not visit my sisters family or my mother easily who were staying on other levels. We could only go to the level where we were staying.
If you are not travelling with a group I would highly recommend the Artique and I would recommend that you upgrade to the superior room. It is more spacious.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spyfoxNsw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArtiqueSP, General Manager at Artique Surfers Paradise, responded to this review, July 23, 2015
Dear Spyfoxnsw,

We have been reading through past reviews and have noticed that the previous management team at Artique had missed your review and not responded. We apologise for this.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again one day.

Kindest regards
Melissa

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.5 mi away
Peppers Soul
Peppers Soul
#1 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,122 reviews
0.2 mi away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#8 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
1,479 reviews
1.0 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#4 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#14 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
412 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mantra Circle on Cavill
Mantra Circle on Cavill
#6 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
3,133 reviews
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
#7 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
1,627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Artique Surfers Paradise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Artique Surfers Paradise

Property: Artique Surfers Paradise
Address: cnr Surfers Paradise Blvd & Enderley Ave, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia (Formerly Artique Resort)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 122 Specialty Lodging in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Artique Surfers Paradise 4.5*
Number of rooms: 176
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Artique Surfers Paradise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Artique Hotel Surfers Paradise
Artique Hotel Apartments Surfers Paradise
Artique Surfers Paradise Gold Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing