We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine Location & Pricing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Artique Surfers Paradise
Certificate of Excellence
Bangkok,
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Fine Location & Pricing”
Reviewed October 15, 2008

Huge rooms some of which look two blocks east towards the sea and some of which look west. Those over the sea merit more money; facing west less money.

The 1-bedroom apartment I had for one week was huge with king-sized bed, fine bathroom and equally fine kitchen with large refrigerator, stove, oven, dishwasher and garbage disposal. It also has a stackable washer and dryer which is VERY useful.

Most of the apartment had old and dirty wall--to-wall carpet which was dark brown in color.

If you need maid service, it is done every 8 days. You are responsible for cleaning everything and leaving the apartment relatively clean.

This is an apartment building and NOT a hotel. No restaurants are inside of the building. If you need help from the front desk, they are only open business hours daily --- never at night. On Saturdays and Sundays, they have greatly reduced hours.

I paid about A$120/night and consider that a fair price.

My only real objection was that there is NO INTERNET service available AT ALL anywhere in the building. As I was in the Gold Coast to attend business seminars, I needed reliable Internet service --- at a minimum for email -- and There Is None.

The somewhat helpful front desk staff and totally unhelpful manager has gotten this complaint so much that they stare at your blankly when you ask about alternatives. They told me the owners know of the problem and are not inclined to add Internet service in the near future.

"There are none".

  • Stayed October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank James R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArtiqueSP, General Manager at Artique Surfers Paradise, responded to this review, May 13, 2016
Dear Lane,

We have just realised that we somehow missed responding to your review. We are really happy you enjoyed your stay and sorry we didn't respond when you first wrote this back in 2008 :) It has just popped up as a review we haven't responded to!

We hope to see you again one day.. We do have internet access now and it is soon to be free.

Kind regards
Melissa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,387 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    781
    441
    86
    46
    33
See reviews for
679
389
37
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (344)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2008

Just returned from 7 nights at Artique, staying on the 22nd floor. On the whole I loved it, with only two small criticisms :-)

I loved the rooms - beautiful and clean, and the floor-to-celing windows make the view absolutely spectacular - and also the sauna, spa and steam room were really good. Better than I have been in at most hotels!

Another plus was the cooking facilities - the poolside BBQ works like a dream, and we also cooked a few nights in our room (plenty of cooking utensils which is great) - we even cooked up a 50cm Snapper after going deep-sea fishing one morning!

The only problems were that this place is sold as a "serviced" apartment - but the "service" is really only cleaning of the common facilities and vacuuming common halls. Be aware that you need to wash your own towels, bed linen and clean the room & bathroom yourself during your stay. There was no room service of any kind during the 7 days we were there! Also, there is no internet connection, so you'll need to go to an internet cafe if you want to do email.

On the whole, I give it 9 out of 10 for the rooms and facilities, but Artique gets a 7.5 overall because washing towels and cleaning the bathroom every few days was a real pain - to be honest, I expected at least fresh towels for the price!

  • Liked — Beautiful Rooms & View
  • Disliked — No fresh towels or cleaning
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Vegemite1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArtiqueSP, General Manager at Artique Surfers Paradise, responded to this review, May 13, 2016
Dear Vegemite,

We have just realised that we somehow missed responding to your review. We are really happy you enjoyed your stay and sorry we didn't respond when you first wrote this back in 2008 :) It has just popped up as a review we haven't responded to!

We hope to see you again one day..

Kind regards
Melissa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2008

Got a great deal on WOTIF.COM. Stayed on the 13th floor with sea and river views. Apartment was clean and modern with everything you need. Staff were friendly, reception only open 8.30am - 5pm but that did not matter to us.

Would stay again and would reccommend to all ... but check out the price on wotif.com before you book as it was way cheaper than any other website or deal offered.

  • Liked — The apartment was modern and clean
  • Disliked — The bath / shower .... very high side to get you leg over, not recommended for the elderly
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank sarahjaneAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArtiqueSP, General Manager at Artique Surfers Paradise, responded to this review, May 13, 2016
Dear SarahjaneAuckland,

We have just realised that we somehow missed responding to your review. We are really happy you enjoyed your stay and sorry we didn't respond when you first wrote this back in 2008 :) It has just popped up as a review we haven't responded to!

We hope to see you again one day..

Kind regards
Melissa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2008

Stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment for 5 nights - the three teenagers shared one room and were a little crowded but other than that the place was excellent. Very clean, nicely furnished, two bathrooms, all the mod cons and a short walk to the main shopping attractions. Also close to the beach, and the kids had great fun using the virtual golf and the heated pool. The two bedroom was absolutely perfect for up to four people and highly recommended.

Alan from Melbourne

  • Liked — Clean and Modern
  • Disliked — no internet
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Alan_Melbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArtiqueSP, General Manager at Artique Surfers Paradise, responded to this review, May 13, 2016
Dear Alan_Melbourne,

We have just realised that we somehow missed responding to your review. We are really happy you enjoyed your stay and sorry we didn't respond when you first wrote this back in 2008 :) It has just popped up as a review we haven't responded to!

We hope to see you again one day..

Kind regards
Melissa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oidrey
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2008

Artique was conveniently located, VERY clean, and still quite new. The two bedroom apt (one queen sized bed, one full sized bed) was very spacious and comfortable. Its perfect for a group of 4-5 friends, with two spacious bathrooms and plenty of closet room.

The beds, bathrooms, and kitchen were clean and well-maintained. There was a washing machine AND dryer which was convenient, but you need to bring or buy your own laundry detergent.

The kitchen was stocked with dishes, cups, and utensils. The kitchen has a dishwasher and dishwashing detergent. The rooms do not come with housekeeping services unless you stay for more than 7 days.

The balcony was big and open, great for enjoying breakfast or lunch.

Great value for the price, plenty of car parking spaces, very safe security (you must use your room key to enter the parking garage and elevators).

One possible problem was that the front desk closes at 5pm. Artique is basically a service apt, in which everything you need is provided and then you do everything else yourself.

Overall, it was clean, modern, and cozy...we didn't want to leave because it was so comfortable!

  • Liked — nice, new, clean, spacious rooms!
  • Disliked — the pool was TOOOO small
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank oidrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArtiqueSP, General Manager at Artique Surfers Paradise, responded to this review, May 13, 2016
Dear Oidrey,

We have just realised that we somehow missed responding to your review. We are really happy you enjoyed your stay and sorry we didn't respond when you first wrote this back in 2008 :) It has just popped up as a review we haven't responded to!

We hope to see you again one day..

Kind regards
Melissa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
country victoria
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2008

Our room was lovely, it was spacious, modern and the furniture was nice, practical and comfy. The spa, sauna steamroom and pool were fantastic. The gym was pretty good, all the basic equipment was provided so that you could have a good work out. The location was great, it was not too far to walk to Cavill Ave and there was not much noise from traffic or people. I think we might move in!!!

We give them 5 out of 5 for everything!!

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Marc K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArtiqueSP, General Manager at Artique Surfers Paradise, responded to this review, May 13, 2016
Dear Familyklomp,

We have just realised that we somehow missed responding to your review. We are really happy you enjoyed your stay and sorry we didn't respond when you first wrote this back in 2008 :) It has just popped up as a review we haven't responded to!

We hope to see you again one day..

Kind regards
Melissa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2008

Recently stayed a week at the Artique and am pleased to report that it was worth every cent.

We had a 1 bedroom apartment on the 18th floor which had fabulous views over the beach and canals. Apartment was as new and very modern. This apartment had the shower over the bath which may be difficult for older travellers.

Included was security undercover parking, heated pool and gym.

At checkin we were offered a discount card to a local restaurant which we used. Meals were excellent in quality and value. There is, however no cafe on the premises. Staff were pleasant and helpful.

Great place for a good value break.

  • Liked — Views
  • Disliked — no cafe
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maestr0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArtiqueSP, General Manager at Artique Surfers Paradise, responded to this review, May 15, 2016
Dear Maestr0,

Thank you very much for your lovely review back in 2008 For some reason, this review has just popped up as one we haven't responded to. We are glad you enjoyed Artique and we hope to see you again :)

Kindest regards
Melissa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.5 mi away
Peppers Soul
Peppers Soul
#1 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,139 reviews
0.2 mi away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#8 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
1,521 reviews
0.4 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#14 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#4 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,685 reviews
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
#7 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
1,640 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mantra Circle on Cavill
Mantra Circle on Cavill
#6 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
3,187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Artique Surfers Paradise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Artique Surfers Paradise

Property: Artique Surfers Paradise
Address: cnr Surfers Paradise Blvd & Enderley Ave, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia (Formerly Artique Resort)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 123 Specialty Lodging in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Artique Surfers Paradise 4.5*
Number of rooms: 176
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Artique Surfers Paradise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Artique Hotel Surfers Paradise
Artique Hotel Apartments Surfers Paradise
Artique Surfers Paradise Gold Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing