We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Artique Surfers Paradise
Certificate of Excellence
New Zealand
Level Contributor
45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed March 18, 2008

Very clean and modern apartments. When we first arrived the foyer was beautiful and the reception staff very welcoming. Our apartment had great views as we could see the beach and the hinterland. (the apartment was on the corner of Enderley and Surfers side). It was located within easy walking distance of the shops and buses.
As we were out most of the time we did not end up using the facilities such as the pool or gym. If I could fault this place it would be that the pool was often shaded but really I have no complaints.

I was a little worried about one of the reviewers who mentioned about the rubbish but the fuss was about nothing as they had signs up and made it clear to remove your rubbish. This was NOT a problem at all as they had garbage chutes on every floor so its only lazyness if you can't be bothered with throwing a bag away.
I definitely would stay there again and would ask for apartment on the same corner side as it got sun all day on the deck as well.

  • Liked — Clean, Modern, friendly and helpful staff
  • Disliked — no real internet access - only dial up
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank TrishdNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArtiqueSP, General Manager at Artique Surfers Paradise, responded to this review, May 13, 2016
Dear XR6girl,

We have just realised that we somehow missed responding to your review. We are really happy you enjoyed your stay and sorry we didn't respond when you first wrote this back in 2008 :) It has just popped up as a review we haven't responded to!

We hope to see you again one day..

Kind regards
Melissa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,328 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    740
    431
    82
    43
    32
See reviews for
649
373
32
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (331)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2008

What can I say but fantastic. After checking out of Sea World Resort in disgust, the Artique Resort Apartments were recommended to us. And weren't we pleasantly surprised.

Located a short distance from the hustle and bustle of Cavill Ave (approx a 6 min walk), it is far enough away to be quiet without being of an inconvienience to walking to the shops, restaurants etc.

We found the office manager to be fantastic. After a bad experience else where, he went out of his way to help us make the booking, offering a great deal and calling us to advise the room was ready for us to check into hours earlier than expected.

The apartment was simply stunnning !!! We stayed on a lower level (as we have children), although next time we would stay higher simply for the views - which after viewing a room on level 15 was breath taking. Although we were on a lower level we didn't have a problem with noise and the view was still very nice.

The cleanliness was faultless. Very well maintained not only throughout the room but throughout the resort - it was immaculate. The resort is only two years old. The apartment is very modern and appealing. The rooms are a great size which meant there was more than enough space for our family of 4. The main bedroom has a seperate ensuite and the kids also had their own bathroom. Both were very clean and spacious. The kitchen has all the mod cons including a dishwasher. The utensils, linen etc are in great condition. There was everything you could need for cooking up a storm or using the downstairs BBQ. Your basic supplies are provided - washing machine powder, extra toilet paper etc (although not a large quantity). The laundry was located behind bifold doors and also had a dryer. As the apartments are privately owned each room's decore, supplies can differ. The owner of our apartment had thought of absolutely everything.

The pool, spa and bbq area were immaculate. The pool is modern and large. Great for swimming or doing laps but more designed for adults not kids ie: no swim toys, slide, etc. - though the kids didn't complain at all. The bbq area is great - very modern and made with marble. There are plenty of bbq's, tables and chairs.

We used the theatre and golf simulator rooms. Again they were immaculatly kept. We had a total group of 9 and there were plenty of seating for us all in the theatre room. This room was complete with the big screen, leather reclining chairs, curtains, surround sound etc....just great!!! The golf simulator was great fun.

The resort has underground secured parking and easy lift access to the rooms. Security to the room is via a tag that is swiped in the lift. The reception area isn't open 24 hours, but there is after hours numbers for an emergency. Not that it was needed when we stayed but having security around the clock (on the premises) or a manned office would be safer for guests.

Originally we wanted to stay out of Surfers Paradise and in a hotel not an apartment, but I am so glad we stayed here. Having the convienience of being able to eat breakfast in the apartment, prepare other meals or taking a short stroll to the many restaurants was great. After 6 days together we were greatful for having an apartment with lots of space.

Would definately stay here again and again!!!

  • Liked — New modern, clean resort.
  • Disliked — Perhaps could have a manned reception or 24 hour on site security - not that we needed it.
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JuePerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArtiqueSP, General Manager at Artique Surfers Paradise, responded to this review, May 13, 2016
Dear JuePerth,

We have just realised that we somehow missed responding to your review. We are really happy you enjoyed your stay and sorry we didn't respond when you first wrote this back in 2008 :) It has just popped up as a review we haven't responded to!

We hope to see you again one day..

Kind regards
Melissa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sighip
Level Contributor
103 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2008

The complex is nicely furnished, excellent pool/spa/sauna/steam room/gym facilities, definitely one of the better places in that regard. The pool was impressive in size. The apartment room (single bedroom, 8th floor) was nicely decorated, it had a modern minimalistic look to it, except for the TV which looked dated (it felt second hand, it was a medium sized CRT, I would expect an LCD from a 4.5 star place).

The building is located about 10 minutes walk to the centre of Surfers, while about 2 minutes walk to the beach (With a patrolled area close by).

Our experience was tainted by a succession of small things - the bed and couch, while looking nice, were both hard and stiff, making for some uncomfortable sleeping & watching tv. Placing a blanket underneath the bed didn't fare much better.

The BBQ utensils supplied were small, so cooking on the provided BBQ required exposing your hand and arm over the hot plate as you cooked.

The microwave was confusing to use. Most microwaves let you set the time to cook on an outside panel, and more often than not give you a 1-touch '1 minute' cook option. The provided microwave had to be operated by opening the door, pressing cook, entering the time, then closing the door, then pressing start. It literally took us a few minutes to figure this out, when previously it's never taken me more than a few seconds.

The clothes hanger was broken in several joints, meaning it wouldn't stand up properly unless we leaned it against a wall, and also meant we couldn't use all the bars on it.

The bathroom air extractor did not seem to work well, and would only work during showers - there was no separate switch to turn it on e.g. after a particularly bad visit to the toilet. Especially annoying when the toilet is adjacent to the bedroom.

The car park entry door is a bit worriesome, the door swings upwards, which in the process brings the bottom of the door extremely close to the car as it rises upwards. I always felt nervous each time I swiped the access card, making sure I was as far away from the door as possible when swiping. The first time it happens though, you'll get a scare as you don't realise just how close it will come.

Only minimal supplies of toilet paper, washing detergent and dish washing liquid was supplied, which was a bit disappointing. Plus they ask that we remove our own rubbish and clean the dishes otherwise they'll charge an additional $50 - which comes across as being a tad cheap for a 4.5 star resort.

As you can see, from the outside the place looks nice, modern, clean, fully featured, and welcoming. And for the large part it is. However as you start to get past the 'packaging' you start to see the cracks.

Some people may not even noticed them, but for us it certainly hampered the experience. I would like to say that they meet their 4.5 star claim, but with the cracks it was more like 3 - 3.5 stars.

  • Liked — Pool Complex
  • Disliked — Rock Hard Bed
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank sighip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArtiqueSP, General Manager at Artique Surfers Paradise, responded to this review, July 23, 2015
Dear Sighip,

We have been reading through past reviews and have noticed that the previous management team at Artique had somehow missed your review and not responded. We apologise for this.

If you read our current reviews, you will see that we now have excellent customer service and the rooms are maintained and cleaned at a very high standard.

If you ever wish to return, please don't hesitate in contacting us directly so that we may ensure you are well looked after.

Kindest regards
Melissa & Josh

Resort Managers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2008

Nice, new, clean and modern 2 bedroom apartment. Terrible weather all week of our 7 day stay bar 1 day only able to use the pool on one occasion which is large and modern. Probably not the best for small children this resort would suit couples and older children. Has a fantastic theater room which you can use free of charge but you must book ahead and pay a $100 deposit which is refundable also has a simulated driving range which is also great. Not a great fan of surfers a bit tacky and dirty but a lot of atmosphere.

  • Liked — New and modern
  • Disliked — No internet facilities
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank ratbagx3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArtiqueSP, General Manager at Artique Surfers Paradise, responded to this review, May 15, 2016
Dear Joy,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review back in 2008! For some reason, this review has just popped up as one we haven't responded to. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the room and we are very sorry that you experienced such bad weather.

Once again we are sorry that Artique didn't live up to your expectations and we are sorry that your review wasn't responded to at the time.

Kindest regards
Melissa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2007

This apartment block is about 5 blocks from Cavill Mall, the main thoroughfare of Surfers. This means that you'll enjoy the peace and quiet from being away from the main strip as well as the convenience of the area's supermarkets and restaurants. We loved the apartment, which had two bedrooms and two bathrooms. The decor is really nice and
modern too. We loved the convenience of cooking our own breakfast. The
pool was useful when all the shops closed for Christmas.

A word of warning though - there's no one on duty after office hours on public holidays, so you do need to exercise a bit of common sense when there's no staff or security around. The access doors, car park and lifts are accessible only by a security key, which is helpful. However, we arrived back at the apartment after an altercation in the lobby on Christmas night (lobby was a bit of a mess). We later learnt that a man (a guest?) had "assaulted and threatened" another guest in the lobby on Christmas night. I didn't think that the manager handled the complaint well. I would have said that we would return to Artique again the next time we're in Gold Coast, but after witnessing the rather hostile exchange between manager and guest, I have to say I'd think twice.

Overall, a wonderful apartment and location. Service and security could be better.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Security
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank aspine67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArtiqueSP, General Manager at Artique Surfers Paradise, responded to this review, May 13, 2016
Dear Aspine67,

We have just realised that we somehow missed responding to your review. We are really happy you enjoyed your stay and sorry we didn't respond when you first wrote this back in 2008 :) It has just popped up as a review we haven't responded to!

We hope to see you again one day..

Kind regards
Melissa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2007

Have you ever stayed in a holiday apartment where you have to remove your own rubbish? Well, at Artique you have to...or they sting you an extra $50! Outrageous...having to take the rubbish out at the end of the stay!
ALSO....office hours are to suit the office...not you...so beware if you arrive late and leave early!
Other than that, very comfortable, well furnished and in a great spot.
But remember your apron!

Stayed November 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank Niclu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArtiqueSP, General Manager at Artique Surfers Paradise, responded to this review, May 15, 2016
Dear Niclu,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review back in 2007! For some reason, this review has just popped up as one we haven't responded to. We are very sorry that you had a bad experience and Artique did not live up to your expectations.

Just in relation to your comments, we do still have similar signage even though management has changed a couple of times. This signage is necessary to ensure party-goers who come to Surfers Paradise, do not leave large amounts of mess after partying all night. It is unfortunate that our other 'respectful' guests (such as yourself) need to see this signage and we do try to explain to everyone when they check in that the signs are for excessive mess.

If you ever decide to return to Artique, please ask for me when you enquire and I will ensure you are allocated a nice room.

Once again we are sorry for your bad experience and sorry that your review wasn't responded to at the time.

Kindest regards
Melissa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2007

We stayed in room number 2504 on the 25th floor and found the apartment absolutely stunning. The views during the day were amazing but the night view was breathtaking!! Check out the photos!! The apartment was beautifully furnished and very spacious. The bathrooms and kitchen are top quality. The complex has a really great pool. There is a cinema and simulated golf. The beach is less than 5 minutes walk away and the heart of Surfers Paradise is walking distance too. We will definately go back again next year!!!

  • Liked — Newness, cleanliness and location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank Moojie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArtiqueSP, General Manager at Artique Surfers Paradise, responded to this review, May 13, 2016
Dear Moojie,

We have just realised that we somehow missed responding to your review. We are really happy you enjoyed your stay and sorry we didn't respond when you first wrote this back in 2007 :) It has just popped up as a review we haven't responded to!

We hope to see you again one day..

Kind regards
Melissa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.5 mi away
Peppers Soul Surfers Paradise
Peppers Soul Surfers Paradise
#1 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,958 reviews
0.2 mi away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#8 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,428 reviews
0.4 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#14 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Mantra Circle on Cavill
Mantra Circle on Cavill
#7 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,945 reviews
1.0 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#4 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,607 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mantra on View Hotel
Mantra on View Hotel
#11 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Artique Surfers Paradise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Artique Surfers Paradise

Property: Artique Surfers Paradise
Address: cnr Surfers Paradise Blvd & Enderley Ave, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia (Formerly Artique Resort)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 122 Specialty Lodging in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Artique Surfers Paradise 4.5*
Number of rooms: 176
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Artique Surfers Paradise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Artique Hotel Surfers Paradise
Artique Hotel Apartments Surfers Paradise
Artique Surfers Paradise Gold Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing